We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mandatory stop on the Ring of Kerry”
Review of Dunloe View Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunloe View Hostel
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped two nights at the Dunloe View Hostel during our trip through Kerry. John welcomed us warmly and gave us many tips for visiting the area. The atmosphere of the hostel was cozy. The big table in the dining room encourages discussions between the guests which is appreciable. The kitchen was well equipped and the fresh eggs were tasty.
John is always doing his best to help (advices, bus schedules…) and we really appreciated that.
The only detail we could regret is that the bed was a bit short for tall people (over 2m).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecile_c_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thanks for your comments in regards the warm welcome which we like to give to all our guests.

The big table in the dining room is great to meet with others while eating or play some of our many board games.

The room you were in was a double bed with a normal size double mattress but due to there being a bed board at the bottom there is no room for taller people to hang out there legs.

We also have a twin room which beds don't have the bottom bed board.
Sorry that this was an issue for you.

Hope to welcome you back with us again in the future.

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well, let´s see, which adjectives are still left to describe this adorable hostel? Magnificent? Cozy? Warm-and-friendly-welcome? People come together and share great stories, breakfast in the morning (home-made bread) will give you the boost for your day, chicken and veggies outside will give you farm feelings. And if you need some peaceful time, you can still hang around in your room or in the backyard and will not be "disturbed" by others...actually I guess no one did: everyone is sitting together in the living room, the kitchen or the dining room. Very tidy and clean, comfy beds and very close to Killarney. John is offering bikes, laundry, so many good hiking tips and always a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This "hostel" was our favourite accomodation in Ireland. From the tremendously warm greeting and tour, to the backyard farm which delivers breakfast's eggs, the very comfortable beds, and the beautiful view of The Gap of Dunloe. It is very much everything it promised and more. I could not recommend this place any more highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

John will welcome you as a real friend. He will help you with everything you may need always with a smile on his jovial face.
The place is wonderful: the hostel is surrounded by a real little farm with goat, hens (you can it their eggs) a rabbit and a vegetable garden.
The kitchen is really well equipped and wide. You can cook all your meals.
We stayed in the double room with bathroom: really nice and cozy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Our double room that you stayed in is really popular so we are glad you also enjoyed it.

The large kitchen is really a great communal space to cook a good meal and talk to fellow travellers.

Hope to welcome you back with us again in the future.

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the second i set foot in the garden i knew i had made a good choice, this is a large house, not a hostel, very comfortable and cozy, it encourages people to sit eat and drink together at the large dining table in the evening, this is fantastic to meet other travelers who you normally never get to meet, discussing there adventures that day and getting ideas for the next, John (the owner) is a well traveled, well spoken bright bubbly young man, will happily sit for long periods of time conversing with his guests and happily tending to any needs, he really does go the extra mile and gives great advice, half an hour after arriving, John took my 5 year old son outside to feed the chickens, introducing the other animals to him too, amazing.
John arrange everything that i needed, from taxi's, booking tours, arranging booking for sailings to maps of the area, i can't thank him enough for making this holiday one of the best i have ever had, i have a four leafed clover that i am going to send to him for good luck on his new hostel, although from the reviews on here, it really isn't needed. i will be back to Eire soon, i wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. I have spent large amounts of money on holiday accommodation for my family and i, but even the most expensive doesn't come close to this beautiful place.
Rooms are all very cozy, clean and the home made bread and fresh organic eggs in the morning are superb, a fantastic location, not too far from any of the sights, the national park, a local shop about 600 mtrs away, and the town of Killarney is only a short distance too, John and his family and are an absolute credit to Ireland, don't think twice about going here, it really is value for money.
People have uploaded enough pics of the hostel, so i have uploaded pics of around and near the hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is so wonderful. Hands down. Don't even think twice on whether or not you should stay here. Just do it! You can tell that John and his family have been in the business for years and are well-traveled as well. Super cute and cozy home, very clean, wonderful hospitality and amazing suggestions on where to go in the area. This hostel, (which does not seem an appropriate term for this superb place), has everything. You feel right at home the second you walk in the door. This area of Ireland is so spectacular as it is, and the Dunloe View Hostel just adds to the trip. Our stay here was by far, one of our favorite highlights of our trip to Ireland. Thank you so much John!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What to say without repeating much of what have been said? The location is perfect, near enough to scenic Gap of Dunloe and Black Valley, but not too far away from Killarney to be out of reach for backpackers. The hostel is very cozy and neat, having all you need to spend enjoyable stay.

Above all John is always smiley and ready to make an extra step and that is what makes the hostel extraordinary. It is for sure he enjoys running it...as much as we enjoyed our stay there :)

Zuzana & Julie

Secret tip: Make John to tell you one of Irish tales, he is a great storyteller :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
4.6 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#3 of 46 in Killarney
102 reviews
4.8 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#8 of 46 in Killarney
354 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunloe View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunloe View Hostel

Address: Gortacollopa, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fossa
Price Range: $17 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunloe View Hostel is a newly refurbished hostel 7 km from Killarney town. We are situated in a farmland setting with stunning views of the McGillyCuddy Reeks. Onsite we have chickens, pigs, goats and a vegetable garden which provides the hostel with fresh produce, available for purchase to our guests. The hostel is owned and managed by the Moriarty family, who have many years of experience in catering for tourists. The family atmosphere and personal attention will ensure that your stay at Dunloe View Hostel is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dunloe View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing