We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Douglasha House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douglasha House
Ranked #1 of 4 Fossa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had the most wonderful experience staying here. Joan was a wonderful and helpful hostess. She had all the information on the area and had some great suggestions. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfast was AMAZING!!! Thank you, Joan!! If and when I go back to Killarney, I will try to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had been with Joan in Douglasha last year, and on coming back to Killarney this year we definitely didn't want to go anywhere else. Joan is such a warm and friendly host, and just can't do enough for you. She is happy to provide you with any information you need about places to go, or places to eat, and seeks to ensure you just feel at home. Tea and coffee facilities are in the room which was great, along with milk in a mini-fridge, and Joan even provided a few biscuits too! Breakfast was delicious, and Joan's a great cook. Staying at Douglasha is definitely an experience you wouldn't want to miss out on!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

There's nothing bad to say about this place. The lady owner was extremely helpful with all information you might need! Rooms are clean/beds very comfortable and breakfast was nice and kept us going on the tour of Kerry.
So it's a definite YES to stay just off the man "ring of Kerry road"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARRINGTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed with Joan, Tony and their children for two weeks, what a lovely family. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there and received a genuine and warm welcome from everyone. Joan is a wealth of information and is always happy and willing to advise on places of interest, routes to take restaurants to try. Her full Irish breakfasts are enough to satisfy the hungriest holidaymaker and will keep you going for the rest of the day until dinner.
I took my dog who was very happy residing in one of the purpose built kennels close to the house and looked forward to her regular walks in the extensive grounds belonging to Joan and Tony behind the house.
Tony helped make my vehicle waterproof after I had a window shattered following an accident with a roadside strimmer at 22.30 following a long hard day on the farm.
The room was extremely comfortable and spacious and was kept spotlessly clean with regular linen changes and tea, coffee and fresh milk supplies topped up daily.
The house is ideally situated just four or five minutes from Killarney town with all the shops and pubs, ten minutes from Ross Castle, Muckross house and gardens the Gap of Dunloe the list is almost endless.
I recommend this accommodation to everyone if you are very lucky you may have the pleasure of meeting the children. If you do choose to stay here please have a little consideration, Joan is very accommodating but don't expect her to get up in the middle of the night to cook your breakfast as one guest did while I was there.

Room Tip: Room 2 first floor front, en-suite, spacious little traffic noise after 22.00, and you can see the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYNDAJWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

room spacious and well equipped very well serviced lots of storage in fact small room joan and her family excellent hosts very knowledgeable about the area if she did not know recruited someone who did her brother in law advised about local fishing very good advise Each guest given individual attention the breakfast was excellent and it was excellent value also free wi fi highly recommended stayed for 2 weeks with 2 dogs kennel facilities excellent with loads of land to exercise the dogs ideal for dog owners

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Douglasha.

The house is very nice and our room was clean and tidy. We were made to feel very welcome throughout. Breakfast was continental and also hot food on top.

There were a few things that were above and beyond service you would expect.... firstly was the free wifi, then there was the breakfast on demand (we were cycling and a 6am start was no problem) and then finally, Joan even gave us a lift down the road despite being possibly the busiest person on the planet.

It's a few km outside Killarney town centre but that worked well for us. The local pub is the Golden Nugget and they served some good pub grub so I would recommend a visit.

Hopefully will be down to stay again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanohealaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are travelling by car then I doubt you will find better value for money than Douglasha House, which is located less than 10 minutes from the town centre. Joan, the owner, will go out of her way to accommodate your every need. The rooms are spacious, modern and even offer a small fridge. The bed is comfortable and the breakfast will satisfy you. Douglasha House will not disappoint

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussietraveller5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
4.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
4.0 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglasha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglasha House

Property: Douglasha House
Address: Dromin | Fossa, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglasha House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doughlasha Hs is a family run Bed and Breakfast 10 min drive from killarney town center.We have 7 ensuite rooms and a 1 bed Appartment.There is a mini kitchen and dining room with all utensils and a barbacue and outdoor seating for guest use.Each room come equipted with Tea Making Facilities,Saterlite Tv,Mini Fridges and information on the surrounding areas.There is free wifi also.There is a large parking area free of charge.There is a free shuttle transport from kerry airport for bookings more than 2 nights.Collection is also available from bus/train station.Tours can be arranged to RING OF KERRY,DINGLE or GAP OF DUNLOE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Douglasha House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing