We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donna D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Donna D”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at the hotel with a group of friends. Our stay was incredible. We were met by a warm friendly smile and hug from Annette and that set the mood for the entire stay. Paul and Annette were the most gracious hosts and chef and their nephew Gerard was a wonderful bartender. The hotel was well maintained - clean and beautiful. The views from the hotel of Loch Leane and Ross Castle were spectacular. The location of the hotel could not have been better close enough to Killarney Town and yet far enough to have a country feel. I would highly recommend the Loch Lein Country House to anyone traveling to Killarney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    39
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
226
493
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed a night here as part of the Gathering for our family.The rooms were clean, roomy and cosy...just perfect.
The food was the best we had on our trip...excellent quality and lots of it...no scrimping here
The bar was small but very adaquately stocked as i noticed the next morning!
You know what i really liked about this hotel...the service
The owners are on hand at all times, never in your face but discretely in the back ground. They clearly take service very seriously and it runs like a thread through all the staff very effortlessly.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dermot d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

stayed one night here to do the ring of Kerry the next day.Place has amazing view of the lake.The staff is attentive helpful and just excellent.I also drink copious amounts of coffee everywhere I go and the young man who kindly prepared me coffee w/ french press and delivered to my room made some of the best coffee I have ever had in my life!(and I have experienced portland,seattle,hawaii,italy and paris!). The bed wasnt exactly a tempur-pedic but it was ok. The rooms are clean and have all the necessities. The breakfast was really good-all in all a great choice, I would go back in a heartbeat and highly recommend

Note: my yardstick is with starwood hotels(usually westin level) from sheraton to the luxury collection- so compared to those this hotel stacks up nicely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mailboxblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first trip to Ireland and research on tripadvisor led us to this place and we weren't disappointed. Paul and Annette were the perfect host and overly helpful Killarney less than 5 minutes away and the perfect place for live pub music.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferg3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Our friendly welcome set the tone of a wonderful stay here. This beautiful country house looks across the loch to Muckross house, it's gardens are as pretty as the decor. Breakfast and dinner were both delicious and good value, the rooms large, beautifully presented and maintained. It's an easy drive or taxi ride to Killarney. It's close enough for a day trip around the ring of Kerry or Dingle. The little bar and its range of whiskeys is a lot of fun, try a 'Jimmy'. We hope to return one day

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1210 Sandspit Road Warkworth Matakana Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well we are back in New Zealand and Ireland is now a misty, rosy, nostalgic and wonderful memory for us both. We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay at Loch Lein Country House Hotel (in Fossa - Killarney) in fact, so much so that we returned a week later for another three nights. Paul & Annette are so hospitable and professional in every aspect and their exceptional hotel is situated only a field away from the largest lake in Killarney called Lock Lein. From this small and very comfortable hotel we could walk through their garden down to the lakeside path. What a magical experience this was for us. The hotel is peaceful and very gracious. All the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble. We could not fault it! Well done Paul & Annette for providing a truly superb experience – one of the best in all our travels around the world. Killarney has left a lasting impression on us both – we just loved it and I think our enjoyment had a huge amount to do with our very comfortable room which was large, had excellent beds and great bathroom, the delicious breakfasts and oh that ever ready offer of a pot of Irish tea when we arrived back from our walks or visiting the local sights – the Gap of Dunloe, the Beara Peninsula & Muckross Castle to name a few!!

One of the highlights was an evening at Molly Gallivan’s in Bonane on the N71 between Kenmare and Glengariff which was less than an hour ‘s drive from the hotel. We highly recommend going to one of these evenings which are normally held every Tuesday but make sure you book ahead. It is a fabulous experience and you will learn a little bit of Irish history while you are there. It is held in the 200 year old cottage where after a three course traditional Irish meal, you will be entertained by a very funny award winning story accompanied by live Irish music in front of a real peat fire! It is about the homecoming of an Irish man returning from America after thirty years away. He had left Ireland during the potato famine. Go and see it, you will laugh out loud at the great Irish humour and will not regret the long drive back!! Make sure you stay at Loch Lein Country House Hotel for a wonderful experience of warm, elegant, and very Irish hospitality! Thank you Paul, thank you Annette and all of your staff. We will come back to Killarney and it will be with you that we will stay!

Room Tip: Our room looked over the garden and lake - beautiful, peaceful, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltings_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My group was doing a "Best of Ireland" tour and we stayed here for two nights. The people knew who we were as we pulled up. The were SUPER nice and accommodating. The stay was top notch. THe room was great and WIFI strong. A small bar in the hotel has everything you need.

Great location. Great breakfast and the views are to DIE FOR!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,165 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing