We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our group stayed at Loch Lein Country House this past September. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and spacious. The grounds are beautiful and I wish we would have had time to walk around the area. There is much to explore. There are many sites to visit close to Loch Lein so you can visit the Irish countryside and easily return to the comfort of Loch Lein. We had two breakfasts and one dinner there and even though we were a fairly large group, we were given menu choices. In addition to all the things I mentioned above, for me, the best part was the gracious family that own and run this country house. They made all of us feel so welcome. They truly represent the kindness of the Irish people well. If you are going to be in the Killarney, Ireland area, I strongly encourage you to stay at the Loch Lein Country House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNTraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 999 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Perfect location if staying in Killarney area; convenient and easy to do many different day trips from or just to explore Killarney with all its attractions.Terrific hosts, great food and outstanding service; fabulous, spacious and very clean, modern rooms with stunning views (on one of the Killarney lakes). Loch Lien is first class in all respects and one of the very best guesthouses in Ireland (and my wife and I have we have stayed in quite a few as this was our fifth trip to Ireland). Paul and Annette were gracious, very helpful during the three days we were their guests and we will expect to always return to Loch Lien whenever we are in Killarney. It is definitely not your average guesthouse and very deserving of its excellent reputation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnick78232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Country House is actually located on a beautiful lake outside of Kilarney. Our room was extremely large, with a grand sitting area and view out onto the lake. The queen bed was comfortable and breakfast included eggs to order or a "full Irish breakfast." But what made the place extra special was the welcoming and friendly attitude of the hosts. When we inquired where we could get a windshield wiper for our rental car they offered to check it for us. They then cleaned the windshield of some resistant grime and said a wiper wasn't needed. When we offered to pay for the service they declined. The City of Kilarney is charming, but for a relaxing, welcoming stay, Loch Lein can't be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbearpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I were traveling with a group from the USA and stayed two nights in September, 2013 at Loch Lein. Our room was wonderful; very roomy, clean, & comfortable. The dinner and breakfasts were also wonderful with very personalized service. We wished we could have stayed longer there to enjoy the quiet and the beautiful scenic surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Loch Lein Country House two nights. It is a country setting, so the nights were quiet. The rooms were lovely and very up-to-date. We had breakfast both days and one dinner. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. We were treated as valued guests. This stay was a real treat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We came upon this wonderful county inn by chance, and how fortunate were we. Paul and Annette treated us like royalty and made us all feel very special. They run this establishment extremely proficiently, and everything is 'just right'. The rooms are great, the food fantastic, and the setting is breathtaking, looking onto the Louch Leane waterfront itself. Well done to you both. We hope to return one day.
Gavin M

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We drove into Killarney looking for the loch lein country inn not knowing what to expect. The location was picture perfect. The place is beautiful. The owners were very friendly and both Paul and Annette went of their way to make our stay not just comfortable but memorable. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts and dinner were excellent and the the fireplace by the living room was perfect for the after dinner drinks! Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank kumarsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,458 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,602 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: $162 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing