We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously deserves the rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington state
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Seriously deserves the rating”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I wish we would have found this place a day or two earlier in in our trip. First, it is a perfect base of operations for Ring of Kerry explorations, but yet completely low key, relaxed, and close enough to Killarney (a 3-5 minute drive) to do shopping and such. It is not an 'old and charming' location with hundreds of years of history, but it's a 'new and charming' place that feels instantly comfortable and the owners and their staff are the best we've encountered in many trips to Europe, UK, and Ireland. Though we came late and left early for a single night, Paul sought out what we were doing and gave us some great advice. The breakfast was wonderful though we didn't have the opportunity to eat dinner there. Recommended, highly, and a great value as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTMILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    39
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
220
489
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Paul and Annette were wonderful, gracious hosts at their beautifully small lodge. The rooms were large and very comfortable with full bath and great showers. The location was very convenient to Killarney town and just far enough away to be quiet and comfortable. The food was excellent with full breakfast in the morning and gourmet dinners at night. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway, as well as a great resting place before hiking in the Killarney National Park, touring Dingle or the Ring of Kerry, or golf. Ask Paul or Annette for anything.

Room Tip: 212 had a beautiful view of the grounds, the lake and the mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 4 days at Loch Lein Country House. Paul and Annette strive to make all aspects of your stay a pleasant experience. They succeed in every way. The location is beautiful, food wonderful, the rooms large and clean and the service impeccable. They went out of their way to accommodate our every request and made our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Lake view is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 glorious days and nights at Loch Lein in the good care of Paul and Annette Corrigan, the owners. Every aspect of our stay received their personal oversight, and were we pampered! This is a truly elegant country house with 23 magnificent rooms. The vistas from the rooms and the dining area are incomparable. This is a definite don't miss if your plans take you to the quaint area of Killarney. And added bonus is the gourmet restaurant at the country house. They serve the wonderful Irish breakfast there each morning and also serve extraordinary dinners most nights. We ate there 2 of our 3 nights, and would have eaten there the last night if it was open! This is a real respite for the weary traveler and one that I can recommend on all counts.

Room Tip: Main floor deluxe room looking out to the lake! A wow! Ours was #104 and is the best in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

was Loch Lein Country House. You feel so important driving into this country house, location with view and grounds are truly superb. It is a lovely property, well kept, beautifully maintained and totally relaxing. Very impressive exterior, really well designed with parking to the side so this is not a disturbance to the total picture. Interior sitting area very nice, lovely fabrics, comfortable furniture. Innkeepers were nice, we didn't find them uber friendly, but nice and helpful when that was needed. It is not that we were disappointed with our room, it was large, clean , well furnished, just had a heavy feel in reds, not warm and cozy like one would have expected, but we had a nice view from the window. Other lighter fabrics and wall color could have been chosen, carpet also dark, but these are minor comments. Bath was well appointed, shower not the best. The tv was old and reception was poor, but who watches tv when you are in such a lovely place anyway???! So room had an older feel than the other areas of the property.
Mattress was not particularly comfortable for us anyway. Breakfast served in the dining room was good, not as good as other places we stayed but certainly had no complaints. All in all, this is a great choice for staying near Killarney, we had a wonderful meal at Rozzers...the menu at the hotel was pricey and a prix fixe. I would recommend Loch Lein.

Room Tip: perhaps look at several rooms if you have that option, maybe other rooms are decorated differently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 Nights in September whilst on a trip around Ireland. The rooms are very large and clean and the views from the front across the lake amazing. Whilst it is impossible to fault the hospitality it did feel rather quiet in the evenings with no atmosphere, just a spooky mix of all types of music on a loop which did get to me in the end. The bar was in a little side room which felt a little awkward. We ate in on the first night and the food was excellent although the wine selection was limited and did not include Rose much to my wifes disappointment. We went out for dinner on the second night but did note the menu was the same as the previous night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great Hotel. The staff was very friendly. They went above and be joint making sure that we were happy. We asked about local attractions and they exceeded our expectations in supplying us with maps and information. The room was very clean with a wonderful view. Breakfast was fantastic and the service was personalized and quick. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for an impeccable hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matito777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing