We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and hospitality overlooking the Loch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Somewhere On The Road Between Sydney And Europe
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Comfort and hospitality overlooking the Loch”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The antithesis of hip, the Loch Lein House is a large modern suburban style house in a splendid position just outside Killarney. With sunlit meadows stretching down to the shimmering lake, framed by heather clad hill and a distant castle, the view from the guest rooms, dining room and small bar is its greatest attribute, that and the welcome hospitality of the hosts.

Rooms are very spacious, spotless and comfortably furnished, giving the hotel its homely atmosphere. Bathroom is large with separate shower and tub. This is a strictly ‘50 shades of grey with cerise and lime accents’-free zone. Food is excellent making good use of local produce, with large breakfast and sumptuous dinners, well prepared and presented but don’t expect anything too cutting edge and that suits just fine. The dining room is light and airy with great views and there is a small sitting room and adjoining bar area for house guests off the main entrance area with its Scarlett O’Hara stair.

The owners are very welcoming, professional, friendly and efficient, taking a genuine interest in their guests and keen to help them when appropriate with their sightseeing plans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
232
504
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Loch Lein Country Hotel toward the end of April and it was breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel itself is gorgeous with wonderful attention to detail in the architecture of the building and in its furnishings. Fresh flowers everywhere and the facilities were extremely clean and well maintained. Our hosts, Annette and Paul, were extremely gracious and helpful. Paul spent a lot of time with us one morning setting up a Sheep Ranch visit. He also provided great advice on the best sites to see in the area. All in all it was a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front facing the lake. Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meise, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent three nights in this beautiful Country House.
Our room was fantastic & so big and the welcome by Annette & Paul very warm and kind.
We ate very well in the restaurant and enjoyed the very well prepared and fresh food, along with the excellent wine and once again very good service.
Breakfast was a delight also and the views over the garden and the lake quite magical.
We also enjoyed the location, ideal for walking and discovering the many wonders in that area.
We would certainly go back when once again in that region.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AILSA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff was outstanding, greeting us even as we parked our car. Although we arrived at 11:00 am, Annette made sure our room was ready, even suggesting we take a short nap before touring the area. The room was not your typical hotel room as it was very spacious, comfortable and the view of the lake was an unexpected bonus. The breakfast with eggs made to order was perfect and again the lake view was very nice.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Easily the best hotel of the five we stayed at during our trip to Ireland. The owners, Annette and Paul, and their small staff make you feel right at home immediately. That included bringing tea to our room shortly after we checked in. The room itself was lovely. We sat in comfy chairs by a window overlooking the lake, sipping our tea, a welcome respite from a long day of driving and walking. Dinner at the inn is not to be missed. It was also our best meal of the 8-day trip. The duck confit was the best I've every had, anywhere. My only caution is that visitors should realize that the Loch Lein Country House is indeed in the country (or at least a suburb), and not in Killarney. If you want to be able to stroll down the street to a pub after dinner, as I often do, that's not easy to do. However, we very much enjoyed our post-dinner stroll around the grounds and nearby lanes. Overall, a delightful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonD2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We've just left Loch Lein Country House after a wonderful experience that was too brief. Our family of four stayed at Loch Lein just one night on our trip through Ireland. We arrived later than expected and were warmly greeted by Annette and quickly checked in to our rooms. We were tired from a long journey of driving through the beautiful Irish countryside and needed a quiet, restful night. The hospitality at Loch Lein could not have been better -- not only did they keep the restaurant open for us so that we could have a delicious dinner, Annette offered to get our laundry started and finished it before we turned in for the night. Amazing service with a smile. Beyond the warm hospitality the accommodations were immaculate and beautiful. Our entire family agreed that we would return to Ireland just to have another stay at Loch Lein. Thank you for making our vacation so lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were overwhelmed with the generosity and graciousness of our hosts Paul and Anette. They were at the door ever time we walked in asking if we needed anything or there to give us tips on where to go. The room had an amazing view and was very peaceful. The breakfast was also excellent. We were treated like the only people in the place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4felinefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,196 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing