We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as any Shangri-La, Mandarin Oriental, Interconti etc.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is simply one of the best hotels you will find anywhere. I have been staying in this wonderful property since 1979 and it gets better and better every year.
The scenery, even on a 'soft' Irish day is incomparable.
The decor is classic contemporary.
The service is second to none.
Food is modern and professionally served.
The Spa, Fitness Center and swimming pool are 'state of the art.'
The Europe is the finest example of German ownership and Irish management that one will find anywhere.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RADINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,509 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

First class all the way - our welcome was warm and friendly, the staff was knowledgable and helpful. Our rooms (two deluxe - one with king, one with two doubles - with extra bed in each) for our family of 6 were beautifully appointed and spacious. We opted for open windows and no balcony to allow for more interior space and we were not disappointed. Restaurants were top notch with delicious food and unparalleled views of Loch Lein. The pool areas are gorgeous, the spa was great and we all (kids aged 15, 12, 10 & 5) LOVED relaxing in the infinity pools after full days of sightseeing. The little swim-through door from the indoor to outdoor infinity pool is a great idea, and the adult saltwater pool and serenity area with steam and sauna was a lovely surprise! I would recommend this hotel to anyone; the library area looking out on the spectacular lake offered quiet seating areas and chess and none of us wanted to leave this wonderful place - definitely felt like we were on vacation! Complimentary 20 minute guided tours around the grounds by horseback (two horses) offered as well. Buffet bfast included in our room was fantastic; eggs made to order and delicious pastries, fruits and cereals. Can't say enough positive - we would go back!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a lake view - it was gorgeous - windows open for fresh air - we did request a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 4kidEntourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed in hotel having completed the ring of Kerry cycle, early breakfast provided on morning of cycle,spa and pool ideal recovery after cycle. The omlets for breakfast was freshly cooked and tasted delicious .The staff in hotel friendly and professional .Great location.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for a romantic weekend., great value, lovely staff, Fab food Fab spa . Great get away place , book a lake view room , you will not be disappointed The weather was typical Ireland at it best , but even with the poor weather the View from our room was spectacular . Make the effort you will not be disappointed ' A real Gem - Cant wait to go back . .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeBlogs2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here midweek in July for 2 nights. We had a lovely relaxing stay, perfect spot for switching off and getting a nice touch of luxury. It is a large hotel with not a huge personal touch or much character but it does have all the 5* trimmings you'd expect. Our room was nice but have definitely stayed in more impressive 5* star rooms. It had a nice balcony overlooking a garden but was on the small side. One small thing was that it had a full length mirror inside a wardrobe which could not be opened as it was too close to the bed, small I know but annoying none the less. There are no tea/coffee making facilities which is unusual & you need to call down every time you want coffee etc. Breakfast was great, super selection of fresh fruits, breads etc with eggs made to order. The rest of the hot food was buffet style, should be made to order I think for 5*. We dined in the main restaurant on our 2nd night and had an excellent meal, faultless food & service.
The spa is excellent, we didn't get any treatments but loved the thermal suite.
We were celebrating a very special wedding anniversary and had mentioned this before arriving but at no point did the hotel do anything to acknowledge this. I know special treatment shouldn't be expected but the hotel was only half full, a room upgrade (when all those seaview/bigger rooms were vacant) would have been a nice touch!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank rcallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Beautiful location - worth paying extra for the Lakeview rooms. Didn't do any treatments but enjoyed the pool etc. best steam room I've been in for a while - it is HOT! Had dinner in the hotel on Sat night & unfortunately this was the only blemish on the weekend. The service provided by the waitress who served us fell well short of what I'd expect at a 5* given the cost etc. I highlighted an issue to Reception upon checkout & was assured I'd be contacted - a week later & no contact. The room was nice - spacious, clean & I loved the decor. Elegant & not fussy. No denying this is an expensive break but definitely has something special.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view if the lake & mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Contessa1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with family, ranging in age from 87 to 6 years old! We have stayed here a few times and it is definitely an amazing hotel. The decor is very modern - the colour scheme a little dark for my taste but appreciate that it is so as not to distract from the wonderful view. The location is fab and the gardens and walkways to the lake are beautiful. Spoke to a few guests who were travelling throughout Ireland and they all said this was by far their favourite hotel.

We used the swimming pools (both indoor and outdoor) and loved it. My girls (8 & 6) really loved the outdoor heated pool area. I have previously had spa treatments and they were devine (Espa spa treatments)

We did not dine in the fine dining restaurant but did in the casual restaurant and it was good if not a little overpriced. We also ordered pizza to our room and this was a family favourite.

The staff are very good and attentive. We (my daughter) left a few items after us in the restaurant and lobby area ( iPhone and teddy) but both were found and put carefully aside for our collection which is testament to the honesty of the staff. A particular word of thanks to a placement student there (Amy) who is showing potential to have the brilliant mix of friendliness and professionalism required in hospitality.

My only small issue is that the rooms are not very well soundproofed (especially for those amongst us who find it hard to nod off!). Talking in the room next door could be heard especially because the room balconies are connected and many leave the patio doors open. Also doors closing are very loud and water running and toilets flushing can be easily heard. However, I should say that the noise we heard was not of an offensive or threatening nature in any way and we were asleep every night around 12ish.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel. We will hopefully be returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neasa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,609 reviews
3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
3 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: | Fossa, Fossa, Killarney V93 KHN6, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: $279 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing