We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for a week-end in July.The rooms were fantastic with beautiful views over the lakes of killarnye,spa was wonderful especially the outdoor jucuzzi,dinner in the main resturant 5 star standard,all staff were highly trained .It is expensive but worth every cent,didn"t want to leave .

Room Tip: get a room with balcony overlookint the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    250
    96
    48
    16
See reviews for
331
1,154
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels around Ireland but this hotel is the nicest i have ever stayed in, luxurious finish in every single aspect of detail, picture perfect setting on the lakes of killarney, friendly and welcoming staff, great food and pints and the swimming pool is the nicest i have ever had the pleasure of using. Scenery from restaurant is stunning with a sweeping vista of the lakes and the reeks, could not recommend this hotel enough.
The spa is a must as is the outdoor jacuzzi as they are two of the nicest i have ever used. I highly recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxurious getaway in picture perfect surroundings or just looking to give someone special a fantastic treat!!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony and was facing the lake where as the family rooms whilst larger do not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theroomnottaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

the place is beautiful, overlooking the lake, and perfect for a romantic weekend. We were there in winter and the atmosphere was magical. There are 2 restaurants: one very formal and the Brasserie. The food in the Brasserie is very good but the place can be very noisy. The Spa is very big and there is an outdoor heated pool. The grounds of the hotel are not looked after properly: weeds and messy paths...not good for a 5 star hotel!!
The room we got had view of the lake and it was big and clean. Breakfast is a buffet one and with a lot of different food: not only Irish breakfast but also pancakes and Nutella :).
The only big negative note is that we had to wait one hour to get the room and they did not offer us anything (we ordered nachos and tea and the charged us for everything ): not good again for the price you pay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrimar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch and what a disappointment ,We were expecting something special but got 2 Star affair for 5 Star priced .Location of restaurant is terrible , You are looking out on outdoor pool with people drinking and smoking in the pool and spoiling the view . The whole experience was forgettable .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ringo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

have to say have been around a lot of hotels and I believe this is the best in this country, struggle fo find much wrong with it, fab setting stunning views top class spa custormer service excellent im being really picking the breads they use both in rest and at breakfast are not great low quality processed packed but that's about it keep it up well done will defently spend a few days there next year

Room Tip: lake view room views are really good with the mist over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enya e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a birthday weekend away at The Europe. From the moment we arrived, I felt totally spoilt by the exceptional customer service and attention to detail.

The grounds were beautiful and we even went horse riding (included in the price) around the Hotel.

The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were phenomenal and had breath taking views across the lake.

Our room was luxurious and comfy and I couldn't get enough of the view of the lake from our room.

Food was delicious and service was the highest standard I have ever received. We ate in both restaurants during our stay and we were not dissappointed. The evening entertainment in the bar/ pub was great. Breakfast was also great as had a huge selection.

The trip to the Gap of Dunloe should not be missed. We were picked up by boat by the lake, travelled across 3 lakes to Lord Brandon's Cottage. We then travelled by horse and trap through The Gap to Kate Kearney's Cottage. The hotel had arranged that we do this journey in this direction to avoid the crowds and had organised collection for us from the cottage.

I didn't want to leave! Will definitely return,

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely hotel for a romantic break away or girls spa getaway (though they don't make it an easy process for groups to book). The hotel itself is huge and the spa and pool area covers 2 floors so is really the main focus. Had trouble getting the dinner reservation we wanted but it worked out OK in the end. Food was very good. The hotel seem to want to push people into the Fine Dining Panorama Restaurant but there is much more demand for the Brassiere Restaurant. Its a pity the Brassiere isnt larger to accommodate more.
The service was average to poor. Several times over the 2 days were were there we struggled to find a staff member to take our order for tea/coffee etc and some orders were lost/delayed (we were in the lobby/reception area - service in the restaurant was better). For a 5 star this really isn't acceptable. When you could get served, the staff were generally pleasant. There was a band playing in the bar the night we stayed and they were awful.
Having said all of that I would return for the spa. The Lakeside room we had was really nice, breakfast was lovely, and dinner was good. More attentive staff and better evening entertainment would really make a difference.

Room Tip: If you don't want fine dining you need to plan on eating early (think 6.30pm-7pm on a Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeO105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Property: The Europe Hotel & Resort
Address: Fossa, Co. Kerry, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing