We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch not up to scratch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beautiful hotel accomodation and the location can't be faulted, but Sunday Brunch BIG disappointment. Attended with my wife and found ourselves waiting for plates at buffet for each of starter, salad and main courses. Standing in line like a work canteen... Cutlery being handwashed by staff as there was obviously also not enough of these either. Main course, out of 5 options presented on menu only 2 were available. No creamed or roast potatoes - only rice. Ran out of everything! Had to use same cutlery for all courses. Never offered more. Even though restaurant quite emptyat this stage, staff were pre occupied with 'tidying' rather than attending to guests. 5 star prices, 2 star service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xraymott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,150 - 2,156 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

I can't rave enough about the Europe Hotel. From the fantastic views to the amazing breakfasts to the spa and pool, every moment at the Europe Hotel was memorable. The hotel was beautiful...very modern and updated, but completely comfortable. It seemed like every room had a generous balcony that viewed Lough Leane. It was pretty quiet and serene. The Spa seemed great. I didn't partake in a spa service or the exercise equipment, but definitely bring your swim suit!! The spa includes a swimming pool and an indoor/outdoor hot tub. I spent many hours just sitting in the hot tub, looking out at the scenery of Ireland. The staff couldn't have been better. The Manager directed us to a fabulous tea shop in Killarney and was beyond friendly every time we saw him. The hardest part was the location. It was a €12-15 (each way) cab ride into town. I would have loved to go into Killarney more, but that was a hefty price to pay. The hotel had free WiFi and massive breakfast options. The stay at the Europe Hotel was the highlight of our trip and has set the bar very high for hotel stays in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvchicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

If heaven exists it's at the Europe Hotel in Killarney. Recently we spent 3 luxurious days there. Outstanding. The Spa is beyond belief. I encountered several women in the Spa locker room who were obviously high end world travellers who told me that this was without question the best spa ever. The outdoor hot tub overlooking the lake and mountains is breathtaking. It is not pretentious or stuffy. We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was gorgeous. The food is very good but very large portions - more like American portions.
There is something for everyone here. Do not hesitate....go!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 'new wing'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinluxury54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, we had heard reports that it was a lovely hotel but nothing could have prepared us for the luxury and slendor of this hotel. Our room was one of the newly refurbished one's it had it's own balcony with views of the lake and mountains. We ate in the brasserie the food was delicious. The overall ambiance in the hotel is really exceptional, it is a fantastic escape.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Myself and my mum stayed at the europe for a weekend in Sept 2012. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. The room was beautiful and very spacious. The spa was fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skof10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here in mid August. Apart from being initially offered some poor rooms in the older wing (to be avoided if possible), we were finally given some of the newer rooms in the main building. The pool is a must with views of the incredible landscape and the outdoor section making it feel like you are almost swimming in the nearby lake!

Room Tip: Try get lakeview if available and avoid old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoeB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is fab! We had a great stay the staff are very friendly & facilities are amazing. The only negative which is very minor is the room decor is a little dated. The hotel spa is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,448 reviews
21.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: | Fossa, Fossa, Killarney V93 KHN6, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: $279 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing