We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ultimate escape”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have just arrived back from a stay at the excellent Hotel Europe. We decided on a last minute treat in Killarney. the newly refurbished lake view rooms are great. The old rooms were always good but did feel a little dated. The (very friendly) staff informed me that another 100 rooms and the resaurant area are to be refurbished this winter. For us, there are so many positive aspects of this hotel. The fantastic staff are a credit to the hotel. It is great to see the same faces any time that we return, and the concierge has the most incredible local knowledge, which he imparts to the guests with friendliness and enthusiasm. The hotel is looking well since it's refurbishment. the view of lough Lein is spectacular and the crowning jewel is the spa. A great place to escape to, if only for a night away

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouglasFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,695
    270
    101
    50
    16
See reviews for
364
1,229
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Having travelled extensively and increasingly to top hotels, it is significant to say that this hotel has left a better impression upon me than any other I've stayed in. The whole setup is fantastic, but the food and spa deserve special mention. However, the true highlight was the view, not least from our room.

Room Tip: The Lake View option is highly recommended and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKOzEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights midweek in July. We had previously stayed in the Lakes hotel but decided to have dinner in the Europe to see how good it was. Based on the dinner we decided to splash out and spend 2 nights in the Lakeview room on the 4th floor.
There is no doubt that first impressions are so important. We drove up the driveway and parked the car. We wheeled our cases to the front door....3 steps up...no ramp. The revolvong door made wheeling the cases in rather awkward. No door man to assist.
The lady at check in was in the "doing a job mode". She did not make any special effort to say welcome etc.
We were given a 2nd floor room first and asked could we go higher. She said no and advised us that the room was being cleaned at 2pm.
We went outside and 20 minutes later we were given the room key. She had crossed out the original room number and over written the new one without telling us.
We got lost trying to find the room as the directions we got were for the room on the second floor.
The room was spacious with a lovely balcony. The bathroom was very small in comparison and got very stuffy after taking a shower.
The view from our balcony was super.
The Spa was stunning particularly the pool outside.
The sitting lounge with the candle sticks and firepalces is just awesome.
The restaurant is fine but when the sunshines the heat is too much to take as the windows were not opened.
The eveing meal was fine.
We often stay at the Four Seasons in Dublin as our quarterly treat. There is just no comparison in standard in particular the staff, the bedrooms and the athmosphere.
The Hotel Europe should engage someone who has trained 5star staff and I believe this will significantly uplift this hotel.
After our meal at the hotel in May I emailed the Europe and asked them to email me with any special offers. I know 2 people read the mail, but I got no reply.
Similarily when I booked the meal I asked them for a special table as it was our anniversary. No reply. I phoned and asked about the mail, to which I was told they were "going to respond". They promised a special table. When we arrived we were told that the seating would be on a first come served basis. No mention during the meal at all re our anniversary. This is just the opposite to the wonderful Four Seasons.
I really wish that the Europe could be better as it has so much going for it. However until that happens we will happily return to the Four Seasons for real pampering.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as a special birthday treat for my wife and I.
On arrival we were met by a friendly gentleman at the door and we proceeded to reception, this area was perhaps the most negative area whereby the lady at reception was poor to give us information etc and i do believe that this role should be more of a visitor host than just a receptionist whereby they would show you around the hotel to its various attractions. However this was the only negative and a one that is easily sorted by the management.
The hotel lobby is just magnificent as are all the rooms adjoining.
The bedrooms were acceptable but to be honest i probably felt they should have been more luxurious given the other areas of the hotel.
The spa and leisure is the jewel in the crown with 50,000 square foot of pure relaxation, it is by far the best i have witnessed. Indeed when we called down on the first night to see the spa and pool area we were greeted by a brilliantly welcoming receptionist who was delighted to show us around.
The bar areas are great, The restaurant was great and the Dinner on the saturday was superb.
All in all a very pleasant and very enjoyable stay and i will return

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B1Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Without doubt the best hotel in Ireland, and I've been to quite a few. Its absolutely fabulous from the moment you walk in the front door. The staff was just wonderful and extremely helpful. Nothing is a problem, and there is no hint of the stuffiness that you sometimes get in a 5 Star hotel. The scenery is to die for and get a lake view room if you can - its well worth it.

We stayed there for one night for a family occasion on the friday of the June bank holiday and we had a great time. It was one of the few hot days we got this year. We took loads of photos down by the lake shore and then came up and had a wonderful dinner in the Panormam Restaurant. The food was beautiful and the staff could not have been better.



Full marks to Hotel Europe, we will be back. Sooner rather than later I hope.

I'm hoping to get back there for a night in August......... can't wait !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avondale9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We went down to watch the Irish Open and stayed for two nights. Absolute luxury. The rooms, lobby, bars , restaurants and gardens . We had a golf view room which was lovely but the couple we went with had a lake view absolutely spectacular. Breakfast was one of the best i've had anywhere, will look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazuno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I decided to have a quick weekend escape and chose Kerry as it was only and hours flight from Luton.
We were looking forward to a weekend of relaxation and a bit of sight seeing. On arrival to the hotel, which was NOT full, we were sent up to our room. Within a minute of arriving to the room, I was on the phone complaining. I had researched the hotel well before arrival and the room did not match any of the photos seen online. The room smelt musty and had not been updated to the standard of the rest of the hotel. There was no problem in changing our room, since there were plenty of rooms to be had - but I ask why did they have to give us the awful room in the first place, it only caused annoyance and upset.
For the rest of the stay - it is a beauitful hotel , with gorgeous surrounds. Not much choice of restaurants for dinner, only 2 and both extortionatley expensive around £120.00 for 2 per night, in fact everything felt very expensive.
Staff in the restaurant especially were efficient and friendly. The hotel is lovely, but somehow, I think that for the same amount of money, I would have had the same, better or similar experience at the Grove Hotel in Watford without the hassle of air travel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,504 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,356 reviews
21.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Property: The Europe Hotel & Resort
Address: Fossa, Co. Kerry, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing