We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lionel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Decca B&B and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Lionel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned from 3 glorious nights at The Decca where Louise and Peter were superb hosts throughout and were most attentive. The Decca sits just a short walk away from one of the most glorious beaches I have ever seen (Europie Beach) and is ideally placed to explore the north of the Isle of Lewis. Louise's cooking is superb; we ate heartily and wanted for nothing. If you ask nicely, Peter will tinkle on the ivories in the background as you eat supper. They are genuinely dog-friendly and even provide a bone or two! Louise and Peter make a great couple and are ideally suited as B&B hosts. We chose their establishment on the strength of the recommendations on this site and were not disappointed - we will be returning.

Room Tip: They are all good but ask for the one with the jacuzzi in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UbiqueHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, Owner at The Decca B&B and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
It was a delight to have you stay. Thank you for your lovely comments. It is just simply that we feel honoured to stay in such a beautiful place and love sharing our home and helping people enjoy their holiday. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
48
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a lovely stay i had in the Decca B&B. I arrived late but they had asked if i wanted food when i booked, so was greeted with a fantastic meal followed by Apple Crumble and Custard-comfort food at its best!

Room lovely and warm, and family make you very welcome indeed-i didn't want to leave!

I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, Owner at The Decca B&B and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It was lovely to have you here to stay. Such an interesting visitor! Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place to stay and attend basket making workshops and even to pick up that handy smattering of Gaelic. I particularly appreciated the attention to cooking for our vegan and veggie group members, so often overlooked or sidelined. I had to join them to sample all of the superlative home baking.

Room Tip: I had a big sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allithwaite, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you are looking for a venue to run courses (or possibly other events) and/or hold a meeting, The Decca could be just the place you are seeking - we would certainly recommend it.

Other reviews already accurately portray the excellence of the accommodation as well as Louise and Peter's skills as hosts and cooks - all of which we heartily endorse. We were also impressed with their musical talents.

However, our stay was for a series of courses (basketry skills) and an AGM. It was a wonderful experience. The courses were good and the AGM lively - but the foundations for this were the unflagging support of our hosts over four hectic days combined with the flexibility of the accommodation. Louise and Peter cheerfully provided breakfast, coffee break cakes/bakes, hot lunches, afternoon tea cakes/bakes and evening meals for over 20 basketeers (omnivores, vegetarians, vegans etc) without a hitch. We took over their living room, their B&B rooms plus their self catering accommodation and made extensive use of their library and DVD facilities. We filled the buildings with willow, heather, baskets and noise - none of which phased our hosts.
The Decca would be well worth considering as a venue for a wide range of courses - music, photography, bird watching, art - chat with Louise and Peter and be infected by their enthusiasm. Or conversely, just go and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Butt of Lewis from one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-and-Susan_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, Owner at The Decca B&B and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
The basket-making course has been one of the highlights of our first year in business at The Decca. It was great fun to look after such an enthusiastic and talented bunch of people. Our pleasure and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We got diverted from a different BB to Louise and Pete's DECCA and liked it a lot. Staying for a week and in all kind of weather (as far as possible in August) we enjoyed the quiet, windy and remote location, the beautiful beach, just behind the dunes, visible from the bedroom window a lot. In one of the two self-catered houses you may feel like a crofter family on the island 50 years ago; but enjoy the luxury of our days, like a hot shower, a modern kitchen and WIFI. Louise and Pete are wonderful hosts, always helpful and kind, and have great knowledge about the island. A great library is additional available. Louise is a great cook; dont't forget to ask her for a dinner. We enjoyed especially the vegetarian option, which was wonderful. The kids loved the open space, their own bedroom and the peat oven. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay at The Decca was the most memorable of all our wonderful holiday. We feel so lucky to have chanced on this marvellous accommodation.We spent a week at The Decca, exploring the enchanting Isle of Lewis with all its history and dramatic walks and coastline, learning as we walked. Louise and Pete were our generous hosts who not only shared their home and family life with us but introduced us to locals and invited us to a ceilidh at the nearby sportsclub where we all joined in dancing and socialising. There was also so much room to have quiet reflection-many books,DVD's etc. This family is musical and arty and this is evident in their interesting and spacious home. The rooms are beautifully decorated with every type of convenience required. Our attic room had an ensuite spa bath as well as a dormer window view to the machair and beyond-we were able to view the cows and on one occasion the sheepdog trials from our room! The food provided at The Decca needs a paragraph all its own. Louise is a masterchef and breakfasts are a gourmet surprise every day. As there is little choice in terms of eateries in Lionel we had dinner at The Decca most nights-cooked by Louise and a foodies dream.Although dinner is obviously extra in terms of cost we were helplessly in love with Louise's cooking and the complete package that this brought to our stay on Lewis. Cant wait to return!!

Room Tip: Each room has its own character and charm-our room had a view and spa ensuite but only access was vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, Owner at The Decca B&B and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are looking froward to seeing you back here too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carouge, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Not only was it the best bed and breakfast we ever stayed in but the people running it, Louise and Peter, really looked after us and made our stay memorable. The room was modern and had character, the facilities were fantastic, wifi, books, dvds, music, the food was absolutely amazing, all fresh and homemade, the location is ideal, walking distance from beach and butt of Lewis. We feel charmed and part of the family, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, Owner at The Decca B&B and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
It will be lovely to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lionel
19.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
322 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
240 reviews
20.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
108 reviews
20.4 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
297 reviews
15.5 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 58 in Isle of Lewis
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Decca B&B and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Decca B&B and Restaurant

Property: The Decca B&B and Restaurant
Address: Lionel HS2 0XB, Scotland (Formerly The Decca B&B and Self-Catering)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Lionel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lionel
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our unique home by the beautiful Eoropie beach and near the Butt of Lewis. Couples, lone travellers, friends, hikers, bikers, surfers, artists, groups, families and good dogs are welcome. We offer superior home-cooked evening meals and have an artisan bakery producing a delicious homemade breads. We are musicians and host weekly local music suppers during the summer. Pete often plays mellow piano for guests during dinner. Award-winning children's play-park, swimming pool and sports centre (gym, sauna, sports hall, ten-pin bowling) all within five minutes' stroll. Butt of Lewis lighthouse just five minutes' drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing