We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Decca B&B and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$151
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caladh Inn(Stornoway)
$127
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabarfeidh Hotel(Stornoway)
$151
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$368
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aultbea Hotel(Aultbea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Millcroft(Gairloch)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
117
12
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
12
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadbutt of lewisb bself cateringhome madefabulous hostslate bookinggenerous portionsevening mealfabulous foodfor salelight lunchliving roomnon residentsanyone wantingother guestsjacuzzi bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 135 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at the Decca for 3 nights on a mini holiday to Lewis with some friends. The hosts made us feel comfortable and relaxed as soon as we arrived. Our room was very clean, attractively furnished, with a view of the sea and very comfortable beds. We slept well and ate outstanding, breakfasts and dinners.The food was freshly cooked from local produce and absolutely delicious. Individual tastes and requirements were completely catered for and at breakfast there was an array of fruit juices, muesli, cereals, fruit yoghurts availble. Along with as much excellent coffee and tea as we wanted. The Decca has a warm, homely atmosphere, with lots of artwork on the walls, comfortable sofas, lots of books, DVDs, games available for a rainy day. There is a garden with swings and there is a great children's play park nearby and of course the beautiful beach, that can be reached by walking over the field from the gate at the bottom of the garden or along a road. Louise even offered us the use of their wetsuits if we should care to swim. The Butt lighthouse is just up the road and there is another sheltered cove with white sand and clear turquoise water near that. The sports centre with a swimming pool is only yards away too. Although the food was excellent, the room lovely and the location fantastic, the best thing about the Decca is the genuinely warm hearted people who run it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatrionaW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Although I only stayed here for three nights for a willow basket weaving course, I felt so relaxed that it seemed much longer. Louise and Pete go out of their way to help you get the best out of your holiday on Lewis. The accommodation was homely and relaxed whilst still managing to make you feel pampered. The food was wonderful. Breakfasts to die for and imaginative home cooked evening meals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at The Decca near the start of our two weeks on the Outer Hebrides and it certainly set the bar very high! From the moment we walked through the door we were treated to the best service and friendliest hosts I've encountered in a B&B. Louise's cooking was phenomenal, the beds were extremely comfy and the B&B was next to a stunning beach. Nothing was too much trouble for Louise and Pete either and they kindly even washed our swimwear after we took a dip in the sea! Incredibly good value for money - and lovely company to boot! Many thanks! Amanda

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunfyChezzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Great to have you here and look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Decca after completing the ride from Barra to the Butt. Even after arriving late in the afternoon we enjoyed a fantastic meal cooked at short notice. The breakfast was outstanding with a huge choice of cereals and a great cooked breakfast. The hosts could not have been more welcoming and helped to make it one of my all time favourite holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hebrides2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed unfortunately only 3 days in the Decca at the end of the world or also called Butt of Lewis. It is a cosy house, with an open library and a dining room adjoining the kitchen;the rooms are well equipped with new bathrooms. A great breakfast (and Dinner if ordered, some drunken landlord for Dessert...) but first of all with Louise and Pete, the hosts, the cooks, the musicians, the writer...whatever else Lutz+Andre

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lutz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, Owner at The Decca B&B and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Great to have you staying. The Drunken Landlord dessert WAS certainly enjoyed but has been translated through a couple of languages and is actually Tipsy Laird Trifle !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews