We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay whether you are active or want to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Indian Brook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I have been wanting to go to Cape Breton for awhile now and we planned a last minute anniversary trip. We stayed in one of their apartment suites for seven nights. It was tastefully decorated, very clean, private and spacious. You have a full shower and whirlpool tub which is awesome as well as the use of an outdoor hot tub. You also have a private deck that overlooks the ocean. Lonnie and Roy are wonderful hosts. Lonnie makes an incredible cooked to order breakfast and both are very knowledgable about island information and activities. They are extremely friendly and immediately make you feel like family. On the same token, they also respect privacy..you can interact as little or as much as you would like. They also have adorable little dogs that will give you some pet therapy if needed. They only negative thing I could think of is our mattress was a tad firm for our liking but that is a matter of preference. I asked Lonnie for a mattress topper and that made all the difference. They were extremely accommodating and we will definitely stay there again. I have already spread the word to some friends who have been wanting to travel there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocybear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

Hosts Lonnie and Roy are two people who have found what they are meant to be doing in life. This was a return trip for me, and the first for my partner. The Sea Parrot is a piece of home on the other side of the country, that is restful for the soul.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeezyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

You will be blown away with the incredibly beautiful grounds, dedicated hosts, and delicious breakfasts at The Sea Parrot (Lonie makes the most delicious crab-omelets!). Even with the fantastic photographs on Lonie’s TA site, we were still shocked to experience paradise here within Cape Breton. So much so, we didn’t even want to leave to explore the Trail because we wanted to relax and enjoy the beauty and scenery right there at the Sea Parrott.

We stayed for 4 nights and were sad to say farewells to our amazing hosts and other guests we’ve grown close to at the evening campfires. We utilized this location as a base to explore the trail and couldn’t be happier.

Please feel free to shoot me an e-mail if you’d like any further information on this gorgeous accommodation and/or tips along the Cabot Trail (or Advocate Harbour or Peggy’s Cove- we stayed in all three locations during our trip)!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristenLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Sea Parrot is in a terrific setting, right on the water between Baddeck and Ingonish on Cape Breton Island. What a great piece of property. There's a variety of accommodations from single rooms with bath in the main house, to suites in another building, to units that are equipped with kitchens, etc. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house. This is a B&B into which the hostess, Lonnie, has put her heart and soul and personality. To say she has energy is an understatement. In addition to a beautiful view, there are lots of amenities such as hot tubs, hammocks, books, movies. Breakfast, always a key topic in Trip Advisor reviews, is really nice. Cereal, yogurt, fruit, baked goods, and cooked-to-order hot food -- guests sign up for hot food the night before so everything's ready in the morning. All in all, a unique place with its own vibe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed one night while traveling the Cabot trail. Turned out to be the perfect stopping point for the night. After a slight mix up in accomodations, we ended up getting exactly what we were suppose to for the agreed upon rate. We had 2 of the 2 bedroom cottages. Six people sharing, so three in each. I agree with a previous reviewer, I don't think 6 adults could share one cottage. I don't believe the futon in the living room would be comfy for 2 adults. 2 kids, not a problem, but not 2 adults. But that's my opinion. The view was great. This would be a great place to stay for an extended period. Children would love it. The breakfast was good. You place your order the night before and give the time you would like it. One of the few places I've been where they give you more towels than you need and also included beach towels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Very pleasant stay at Sea Parrot. We arrived late May 2010 while crowds were still at home and it was pretty cool - even cold at night. The full kitchen allowed us to cook and enjoy relaxing meals while viewing the full front view of ocean and tall islands in the distance. What fun to drive golf balls out to sea!
Our entire Nova Scotia trip was going to feature seafood. The Sea Parrot provided the best place to enjoy it because we were able to buy huge fresh lobsters caught hours ago off an Englishtown lobster boat (the Donalda). There is another fishing/lobster boat dock that is closer and just up the road from Sea Parrot. Lonnie and Roy provided a cooker and a powerful gas stove to steam the lobster in sea water (complete with sand and tiny fishes) and seaweed right outside our cottage. Most Excellent!!!
Lonnie and Roy were kind and hospitable and provided much info on what to do and where to go. Baddeck was only a $5 ferry and a 30 minute drive away, where you can buy groceries. Neils Harbour, up the Cabot Trail, was about an hour drive. As we drove back to Sea Parrot, we saw a moose crossing the road which made our entire trip.
Wi-Fi and satellite TV was essential, but, too few channels. We had the place to ourselves, and it was very peaceful, but it looks like a place for children also. Too cold for hot tub.
Sea Parrot was very comfy and fit our needs.
Dave & Betty Jo

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattledc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at the Sea Parrot for four nights in one of the themed cottages (Under the Sea). The room was immaculate, quite new, and well equipped. Lonnie and Roy were very friendly and helpful. They were very forthcoming with information when we had questions.
Our first day there we were able to watch whales from the porch swing. Awesome! There was lots for the kids to do and a big lawn to do it on. The outside hot tub was a treat and also was very clean. There was a swing set for the kids, tetherball, a soccer ball, lots of chairs, lounges, hammocks, and a large fire pit. Ron prepared a fire for us, and when they heard the kids mention to us that it's too bad we didn't have marshmallows, the next thing I know Lonnie comes over with a bag of them.
The cottage has two bedrooms as well as a futon couch. The kitchen was very well equipped. We also had our own barbeque. And they let us use a big outdoor propane cooker with a large pot to cook the lobsters we bought from from one of the boats (which Lonnie recommended). By the way, it was very cheap to buy the lobster directly from the friendly fishermen. Lonnie also provided us with a full set of the necessary "tools" to have our crab feast.
Nearby, just up the highway about half a minute drive, is a bakery/cafe that has delicious stuff. The scones are different each day - yummy. And the blueberry pie, mmmmm. Breakfast and lunch were great too.
Also worth noting are the several artisans' stores dotted along the highway within five minutes of the resort.
If you golf, it's about forty minutes to Bell Bay in Baddeck. Great course!
Sea Parrot is at a beautiful waterfront location and Lonnie and Roy were incredible hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Brook
20.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.6 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
0.6 mi away
English Country Garden B&B
English Country Garden B&B
#1 of 2 in Indian Brook
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
19.6 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
213 reviews
9.2 mi away
Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
#1 of 1 in North River Bridge
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor

Address: 45227 Cabot Trail, Indian Brook, Nova Scotia B0C 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Indian Brook
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Brook
Price Range: $150 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce our RATED EXCELLENCE AWARD from Trip Advisor & Flipkey Oceanfront Luxury Suites & Sea-side Cottages & 1-oceanfront private houses **5-STAR** Canada Select property. New - Modern 2-story Cape Cod style, 3,100 sq. Ft. Of luxury. Decorated with authentic southwestern furnishings that will keep your attention for hours. A large wrap around verandah that overlooks 14 acres of lush greenery and oceanfront views at the mouth of the beautiful St. Ann's Bay. We are more than just a B&B. We are a full service resort. All windows in this Manor, Apartment suites and cottages offer picturesque views of either ocean, mountain's or woods of plenty. Two oceanfront hot-tubs, sauna and two playgrounds. So much to do for all ages.Every unit on this spectacular property have a great oceanfront view. Nightly bonfires hosted every night for our guests to enjoy and meet other guests from around the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia - Indian Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing