We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay better than the first....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Indian Brook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I and our two sons stayed for a week last month. It was our second stay at the Sea Parrot and it was better than the first. We have already booked again for next year ;-)

Lonnie and Roy are great hosts. They make you feel like family.

Sitting in one of the hot tubs watching the seals play in Saint Anne's bay is something you won't forget.

Convenient location to tour the rest of the Cabot Trail.

Room Tip: We stayed in Serengetti. Since it is an end unit the cottage has more light than the other 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckiggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

We are really happy you had a great time and can't wait to see you again next July/2012
The Seregenetti Cottage is waiting for you.

Have a great remainder of your summer and stay safe.

Thanks again
Lonnie & Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 173 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night in the Garden Room, while touring through the Cape.
The hostess was super friendly - and super present. The room was adequately clean (I am a germaphobe and this is a major focus for me when I travel - I want to feel like I am the only person who has been in the room).

The pros: amazing view (albeit with a power facility in the horizon), TONS for kids to do and space to do it, exceptional made-to-order breakfast, thoughtful touches in room (citronella candle, stick lighters, rain poncho), incredible fire ring (we enjoyed a fire and roasted marshmallows, compliments of the hosts)

The cons: shabby linens, too many knicknacks and silk/fake flowers, the vacuum/mop/plunger in our room - sitting out in open view - was a SERIOUS turn off, stacks of old magazines (did nothing but remind me of the traffic through the door), the "continental" part of the breakfast did not appear fresh (again the made to order part was terrific)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Southern_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Last year when we found the Sea Parrot we soooo regretted not having stayed there the whole time we were on the Cape; 2 weeks. This year we planned on it, 2 glorious weeks, base home. Lonnie and Roy are like family along with the babies: 7 yorkies. They are fantastic hosts and very personable and helpful in every way. This resort has an ocean view from every room, suite, or cottage. Sunrise and red moon rise every day overlooking Bird Islands the soothing, calming crash of ocean waves lull us to sleep. What a great way to re-energize and forget the hustle and bustle of Toronto traffic and rushing everything.
The breakfasts that Lonnie prepares is picked by you: waffles, pancakes, french toast, everything omellette, eggs, toast, fruits, blueberries, strawberries, yoghurt, teas, coffee etc. It's the kind of spread I got at the Ritz in London England, and that one cost a lot more. The accommodations are top rate. Every room has its own theme and is decorated superbly with attention given to every minute detail, plush towels, of which there are plenty, rugs, sheets, curtains, pictures, artwork, soap dispenser and toothbrush holder etc would all have the motifs of the theme. This year we stayed in the Nautical room so as the name implies the room, very spacious, and bathroom, (all rooms, suites have the jacuzzi jet tubs), had nautical motifs, including the mirror which had ropes in various labelled knots, starfish, lighthouses, I am amazed that everything is so coordinated, right down to the plush robes you get to wear when you want to go to one of the 2 hottubs that are facing the ocean.
Lonnie and Roy gave us great tips every day on where to eat, we are seafood junkies on the Cape, that's one of the reasons we go out there. After a great dinner, we come "home" and go into the hottub then shower change and go to the bonfire to socialize or have quiet time, usually meet and exchange stories with other guests.
The fact that this B&B is clean, exceptionally well appointed and has everything you need to make your stay overboard comfortable makes this a 5 star hands down. Trust me, Paris, Athens, London, Prague, Luxembourg, a few islands in the Caribbean, the sea Parrot ranks with the best of them. But what makes it stand out is the personal touch that Lonnie and Roy give, I got that in Amsterdam and Prague, they will call to order a pizza for you, send you over to Donelda's Puffin Boat Tour with a discount, genuinely concerned that if you return after dark drive slowly so you don't hit a moose. If you need something or a repair of the dvd player, your request is catered to immediately.
Serenity lounging in a hammock, sitting in the gazebo, anywhere, looking at the ocean, and in the morning as you eat breakfast you will see seals close to their shore. As I sit here listening to Cape music, smelling the plug in airfreshener I bought to keep their scent alive in my house too, I have vowed to return yet again next summer.
Keep healthy and thank you for everything Lonnie and Roy see you next year again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mila232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Hi Guys,
Again it was a great pleasure having you both stay with us. We always think of you as family and can't wait until next year when you return on another great adventure at the Sea Parrot.


See you soon!
Lonnie & Roy and the babies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages at Sea Parrot and we couldn't have asked for better. It was clean, comfortable, and cozy-- we really felt at home-- and beautifully decorated with the theme of the unit. We were extremely excited to see that there were 2 hot tubs available for use, one of them being right on the edge of the ocean, and hammocks as well. The owners were both very kind and very helpful, eager to make our stay the best it could be. Lonnie came around every day to ask how our day was and whether we needed anything and Roy lit the campfire for guests every evening.
The location was prime, being right on the Cabot Train and on the ocean. One has to drive down a narrow road from the main road to reach the manor, so it is far enough away from traffic to feel quite remote.
We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLover515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Hope to see you again.
Have a great summer and we all (even the babies send our best.

Thanks again
Lonnie & Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Beautiful location, exceptionally hospitable hosts, delicious homemade breakfasts, and delightful accommodations. This place is hard to beat. It is a unique property with designer quality decor. Every unit has a different theme that is reflected in everything from the pillows on the sofa and shower curtain to the pictures and other art/craft works. Over the top amenities -- 2 large spas, porch breakfast dining, every unit has its own porch or patio, hammocks, and swings and a gazebo on the water. It's conveniently located to the park. The owners (hosts) offer suggestions on restaurants, activities (Scottish musical programs, whale watching captains, and "not to miss" shops) and even made reservations for us for our next stop. I don't think they could have done anything more to make this the highlight of our vacations stops. If you can afford it, book early: if you can't, float a loan, its worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MabRwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Hey girls hope the rest of your trip was as great as Cape Breton/Cabot Trail.
It was great meeting you both and again thanks for the great book it has kept me in stitches.

Hope to see you both again and thank you for choosing the Sea Parrot
We get the best guest's.

Lonnie & Roy
& the babies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Travelled with family (my beautiful wife and 3 young kids aged 8, 8, & 7) to beautiful Nova Scotia. The Sea Parrot Manor, situated on Cape Breton's eastern shore was easy to find and a comfortable place to stay. One has the option of choosing to stay in a well stocked (cleaning supplies, towels, etc), secluded cabin, in cabins near the heart of the Manor's property or rooms within the manor itself. There is even a boat that's been converted to a fun place to stay. Lots of activites for the kids (soccer ball and net, badminton, swings) with a campfire most nights. The owner's work their tails off ensuring your stay is comfortable. We stayed in the secluded cabin, and while there is free WiFi on the property, I could only get signals near the Manor with my Apple devices. Not really a negative given the walk to the manor is not that far but this dropped the Service rating from a 5 to a 4. The owners tried to help by resetting the WiFi. The owners Roy and Lonny suggested places to visit and said to ensure we told these places we were staying with the Sea Parrot to get a discount. Looking back at our entire stay on Cape Breton and we wish we could have stayed longer before heading back to Ontario. The Sea Parrot Manor would be definitely be our choice of accommodations when we go back to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcnRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

We always love to hear our guests feed back and we are thrilled that you had a gret stay and had some down time as well.
Come and see us again.
Have a great summer and thanks again
Lonnie & Roy and thebabies say hi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The Sea Parrot was awesome. When you drive down the driveway you do not know what to expect. I did not see the web site, but what a surprise it was. The first thing you see is a fishing boat then the Inn. The view was what I was hoping for, it was great. If only I could book the wheather it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MississaugaCossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Brook
20.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
23.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.6 mi away
English Country Garden B&B
English Country Garden B&B
#1 of 2 in Indian Brook
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort and Retreat
9.2 mi away
Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
#1 of 1 in North River Bridge
116 reviews
18.6 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor

Address: 45227 Cabot Trail, Indian Brook, Nova Scotia B0C 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Indian Brook
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Brook
Price Range: $146 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce our RATED EXCELLENCE AWARD from Trip Advisor & Flipkey Oceanfront Luxury Suites & Sea-side Cottages & 1-oceanfront private houses **5-STAR** Canada Select property. New - Modern 2-story Cape Cod style, 3,100 sq. Ft. Of luxury. Decorated with authentic southwestern furnishings that will keep your attention for hours. A large wrap around veranda that overlooks 14 acres of lush greenery and oceanfront views at the mouth of the beautiful St. Ann's Bay. We are more than just a B&B. We are a full service resort. All windows in this Manor, Apartment suites and cottages offer picturesque views of either ocean, mountain's or woods of plenty. Two oceanfront hot-tubs, sauna and two playgrounds. So much to do for all ages.Every unit on this spectacular property have a great oceanfront view. Nightly bonfires hosted every night for our guests to enjoy and meet other guests from around the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia - Indian Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing