We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch by the water”
Review of Hacienda Tijax

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Tijax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped here for lunch. They meet you by boat and transport you to the restaurant. The service was good as was the food. We wished that we had arranged to stay longer in one of the cosy cabins set round the pool or by the river. you do need your bug spray.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

A nice place! Eugenio, Luz and all the rest of the staff are the best! The cabanitas over the water are perfect. The food is good, location great. It's a great getaway place for all - families, couples, solos.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The only other place I've stayed in Rio dulce is the Hotel Mansion del Rio, which is a much less river-centric and natural experience. It seems that Tijax is the place to be if you want to be right on the river. The setting was beautiful and relaxing, and the common area is very comfortable, with free wireless internet access, and a book share. The restaurant is very good, with plentiful food and beverage choices. It looked like they had some really cool activities like kayak tours and yoga, but I was only there overnight, so didn't get to try them. the whole compound is connected by wooden boardwalks, which give excellent views of the mangroves and critters that live in and around the river- sitting in the common area at sunset is lovely, as you get to see lots of the birds in the area. The one downside of this place are the cabins- they are very basic, and you better be close with whomever you are sharing the room with, because they will hear and see EVERYTHING you do in the room (yes, EVERYTHING). The beds were equipped with mosquito nets, and there is hot water in the showers, but that's pretty much where the perks end. There is a plastic shower curtain and half wall that divides the toilet from the rest of the room, so no privacy in the bathroom. The small sink is in the room, with a small mirror above. The shower is sectioned off the same way as the bathroom, and there are no shelves or anywhere to put your shower items or a towel. That's pretty much it.
I think this place suffers for being on the backpacker route, as they are relatively expensive (food and lodging both) without offering many bells and whistles, and seem to get away with it. However, as someone who travels a lot, I wonder how much more business this place would get by making the rooms a little more comfortable for those of us who are beyond our backpacking years, but still want to have a lovely river view.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that sits right on the river's edge, as opposed to farther back in the mangrov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at Tijax for a couple of nights in April. It was indeed a paradise tucked away in a tropical jungle! The perfect place to get away from it all. In fact, you have to take a water taxi to get there! I loved the little huts, earthy tone decor in the room and the beautiful pool. However, I was devoured by mosquitos while having dinner by the water. The food was delicious. But the mosquitos must have thought my blood was delicious too! :=) I literally got a hundred bites in just an hour. It was totally my own fault. I was wearing shorts and forgot to bring bug spray. The restaurant was right on the water so there were armies of mosquitos. I enjoyed every minute of my stay but the bites are still itching 3 weeks after I came back home. I highly recommend this hotel but remember to bring bug spray! And it was also a little pricy. I found everything cost more than other places in Rio Dulce. If you want to save money, bring your own water, snacks, beers, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby/pool if you don't want to walk across the wooden bridge in the dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEnthusiastYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The two-hour jaunt through the jungle of Rio Dulce was a delight. Unfortunately, Guatemala has had no rain for a few months, so many of the plants were struggling, but the wonder of the jungle was still overwhelming. Lucy, my guide, was so friendly and light-hearted. I pointed out to her how she is contributing to the world by teaching a few at a time (in my case, one at a time) who then go out and teach others. The magnificent palms stretched from the canyon floor to above the canopy bridge and led me to expect some dinosaur to come tromping out (thanks JURASSIC PARK). We climbed to the top of what she called shaman tower to view the horizon and sunset. A mountain was in the way of the sun going down this time of year, but the glow around it was lovely. Yes, it was HOT; it's Guatemala and a jungle, so to be expected. And yes, I had on sun screen and bug spray. It was a great afternoon.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here! It is a great place to hang out over the water . Just beautiful! There are many of adventurous activities you can do in the daytime as well. It is a very special place.
Hacienda Tijax is exceptionally well situated on the water, close to everything and yet far away from the noise
We have been travel for 2 weeks in GUATEMALA and we had a wonderful time here : the house, the place, the pool, the jungle, the staff , the cowboy: Raul and THE LUCY, the wonder woman !!!
Three helpful hints: bring bug spray, a flashlight and do whatever Lucy will recomend you to do !
Room Tip: the rooms with a private bath are "10".
Warmly recommended !
Peter & Rodica

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hacienda Tijax is a working rubber plantation encompassing 500 acres. It is located right on the water. Accommodations are in small charming cabins with or without A/C. Some lack private bathrooms. The cabins are joined by elevated wooden walkways. The restaurant food was great, There is also a nice pool. Lucy, the guide, does a terrific jungle walk which included swimming in a natural pool, walking over several suspension bridges and climbing a tower for a fabulous view of the Rio Dulce area. She is very knowledgeable about Mayan folklore. Several other tours are available including jungle kayaking and horseback riding. If you want luxurious accommodation, this is not for you. However, if you carve a bit of adventure and something different, go for it!

Room Tip: A/C was essential due to the high humidity and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjharrisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio Dulce hotels
15.9 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Livingston
133 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#7 of 8 in Livingston
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
1 mi away
Dreamcatcher Eco Lodge
Dreamcatcher Eco Lodge
#4 of 22 in Rio Dulce
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tijax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tijax

Address: Tijax, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rio Dulce
Price Range: $67 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tijax 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hacienda Tijax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tijax Guatemala/Rio Dulce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing