We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise indeed but remember to bring bug spray!”
Review of Hacienda Tijax

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Tijax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at Tijax for a couple of nights in April. It was indeed a paradise tucked away in a tropical jungle! The perfect place to get away from it all. In fact, you have to take a water taxi to get there! I loved the little huts, earthy tone decor in the room and the beautiful pool. However, I was devoured by mosquitos while having dinner by the water. The food was delicious. But the mosquitos must have thought my blood was delicious too! :=) I literally got a hundred bites in just an hour. It was totally my own fault. I was wearing shorts and forgot to bring bug spray. The restaurant was right on the water so there were armies of mosquitos. I enjoyed every minute of my stay but the bites are still itching 3 weeks after I came back home. I highly recommend this hotel but remember to bring bug spray! And it was also a little pricy. I found everything cost more than other places in Rio Dulce. If you want to save money, bring your own water, snacks, beers, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby/pool if you don't want to walk across the wooden bridge in the dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEnthusiastYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The two-hour jaunt through the jungle of Rio Dulce was a delight. Unfortunately, Guatemala has had no rain for a few months, so many of the plants were struggling, but the wonder of the jungle was still overwhelming. Lucy, my guide, was so friendly and light-hearted. I pointed out to her how she is contributing to the world by teaching a few at a time (in my case, one at a time) who then go out and teach others. The magnificent palms stretched from the canyon floor to above the canopy bridge and led me to expect some dinosaur to come tromping out (thanks JURASSIC PARK). We climbed to the top of what she called shaman tower to view the horizon and sunset. A mountain was in the way of the sun going down this time of year, but the glow around it was lovely. Yes, it was HOT; it's Guatemala and a jungle, so to be expected. And yes, I had on sun screen and bug spray. It was a great afternoon.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here! It is a great place to hang out over the water . Just beautiful! There are many of adventurous activities you can do in the daytime as well. It is a very special place.
Hacienda Tijax is exceptionally well situated on the water, close to everything and yet far away from the noise
We have been travel for 2 weeks in GUATEMALA and we had a wonderful time here : the house, the place, the pool, the jungle, the staff , the cowboy: Raul and THE LUCY, the wonder woman !!!
Three helpful hints: bring bug spray, a flashlight and do whatever Lucy will recomend you to do !
Room Tip: the rooms with a private bath are "10".
Warmly recommended !
Peter & Rodica

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hacienda Tijax is a working rubber plantation encompassing 500 acres. It is located right on the water. Accommodations are in small charming cabins with or without A/C. Some lack private bathrooms. The cabins are joined by elevated wooden walkways. The restaurant food was great, There is also a nice pool. Lucy, the guide, does a terrific jungle walk which included swimming in a natural pool, walking over several suspension bridges and climbing a tower for a fabulous view of the Rio Dulce area. She is very knowledgeable about Mayan folklore. Several other tours are available including jungle kayaking and horseback riding. If you want luxurious accommodation, this is not for you. However, if you carve a bit of adventure and something different, go for it!

Room Tip: A/C was essential due to the high humidity and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjharrisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hacienda Tijax is wonderful. We've stayed at the Tortugal many times in the past, and love it, so I wasn't sure what to expect at Tijax. But it surpassed my expectations. Great location on the Rio, maybe two minutes by lancha to the docks at Sundog or Rio Bravo. Tranquil waterfront bar/restaurant, with killer coffee starting at 6:00 a.m. Really good food if you don't feel like hitting town.

And they have Lucy! Lucy is a trip guide. She took us up to the tower and through the jungle one evening, and organized another trip to a waterfall the following day. she's friendly, funny, and super helpful. Look for her when you are there.

Almost forgot--the swimming pool is beautiful and a nice way to cool off in the evening. The fountains/waterfalls on the sides are a nice touch.

The only problem with Tijax is that it is so far away from where we live...I'm ready to go back now.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have a small bungalow, not big, but clean, an aico, no neighbours, so very quiet. We liked it very much. And a wonderfull walking trp with Lucy, their guide, to a vieuwpoint where you have an nice vieuw and a nice sunset vieuw. After the tour, we had a great pasta with garlic and a lot of srimps in it. Wonderfull. A place to go. Very friendly staff.
And a nice swimmingpool, clean and a relaxing place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leia-obi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I make this place my stop on my route to farther place away. I am always pleased with the accommodating nature of the staff. The food is good, and at a reasonable price. The waiter we had last night was one I had seen seven years before. He was very good, and made our stay special. The facility is a great place for couples and quite romantic.

Room Tip: They have three different types of bungalows that offer a different vibe. Some are on land in the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio Dulce hotels
15.9 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
355 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
275 reviews
19.9 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Livingston
129 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
15.3 mi away
El Hotelito Perdido
El Hotelito Perdido
#1 of 20 in Rio Dulce
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tijax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tijax

Address: Tijax, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rio Dulce
Price Range: $48 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tijax 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hacienda Tijax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tijax Guatemala/Rio Dulce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing