We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Jungle”
Review of Hotel Casa Perico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Perico
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantasy Jungle”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was blown away when we arrived late at night after a harrowing day of travel. It was raining and we were picked up at the pizza place in town, and suddenly we were out on the river, flying along in the dark, only slowing slightly to duck under branches, then arrived at the hotel. Amazing jungle noise, I felt like I was in a Disneyland set but it was real. Great little cabins, mosquito nets, comfy..only one big spider visited us. All the cabins are connected by wooden walkways over the swamp. But no bug problem. It was very cool. Owner and his friend were fun and helpful. Fun bar to hang out in, hammocks, peaceful tables to hang out with friends. Dorm would be noisier, it's above bar. It is the room with the open window, I think. Good food.

Room Tip: Cabins are good, we couldn't get a private bathroom but shared one was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    29
    19
    4
    18
See reviews for
9
46
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I have been to Casa Perico many times and they never fail to please! It is like a backpackers paradise. They have dorms, privates, privates with bathrooms and all out of the hustle and bustle of Rio Dulce. They will send a boat to pick you up and from then on your holiday begins! Bruno, Jonathan and Andre are three guys from Switzerland who know exactly what they are doing! The ambience, the food and spot where they are is AMAZING! Now make sure you are prepared for this, it is in the JUNGLE...but that is the speciality of the place, there is simply no other place like this in Rio Dulce, or anywhere that I know of in Guatemala! Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy! I love this spot!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

First off, just be aware that this place isn't in the middle of town like it appears it is in most guide books. It is actually out in the mangroves and you need a boat ride to get there, so you will be at the mercy of the owners once you are there. These guys are WEIRDOS. They are Swiss German and for whatever reason don't seem to like younger people very much. When we arrived, they tried to put us in a room where the beds were covered in dirt and bugs. They wanted us to stay in that room after cleaning it, telling us that it happened because it was windy the night before. So I guess they just assumed it wouldn't be windy again?

All this was eventually sorted and most of the experience was pleasant after that, until it was time to go. They were very rude as far as when we could take a boat back to the city to catch a bus out. They insisted that we manipulate our travel plans in order to go on a boat with some other people that were either leaving earlier or later than we wanted to leave. They were of course both older groups of people whom the owners obviously cater to over younger travelers. When we did finally get on the boat, I realized I had forgotten my phone at the hostel. I asked if they could take me back and the first thing they said was how much it would cost. They didn't seem to be concerned about much else and told me to wait right there on the dock and they would return in 30 minutes because they had some shopping to do. Instead of shopping, I saw them go a couple docks down where they went to a bar and just sat there drinking beer, while I was sitting there waiting to go back to get my phone in order to catch a bus. They even had the nerve to look over at me while they were sitting there. After 45 minutes of this, I sought out my own boat and eventually found someone to take me back over there to get my phone. The owners finally came back to the dock almost 2 hours later after I had just gotten back with my phone and asked if I wanted a ride. I couldn't believe it! It was as though they had a laugh out of my inconvenience. I strongly suggest finding somewhere else to stay, as these owners are not good people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MochileroMose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio Dulce hotels

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We spent 6 wonderful and relaxing days at the Casa Perico. The Hotel is located at a sidearm of the river Rio Dulce in the middle of the jungle. Here you can relax from the hard hours travelling trough Guatemala and find some peace. The boat ride from the town Rio Dulce takes about 5 minutes. The three owners and the staff are really friendly and can help you arrange day trips in the area. The cooking is great and especially the weekly dinner with a buffet is just a dream! They offer lodging in different price levels from a bed in a dormitory for some US-dollars until a your own cabin with private bathroom for about 25 US-dollars. We can highly recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank puravidasuiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Nice play, affordable, away from the tourist yachts and stuff. The food is good, the drinks are ok too. Nice hang out, nice bathroom facilities. If you are staying in Rio Dulce just for a night or two, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoundTheBendProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Well all is in the title, we stayed one night at Casa Perico. First of all you should know that the room at Q110 that you book from the mainland only have 3 walls. So in the middle of the jungle, with the cold air at night, bats pissing on you (Yes a few does reside above your head)... That's what we call eco-hostel theses days !
Anyhoo we had dinner there and woke up at 5 am very very sick.. ended up 6 hours after at the hospital for a bacterial infection.

Maybe I have just been unlucky, maybe it's their fault.. I don't recommend to not go, but simply what you sign up for before you get there ! (The shuttle boat is free but if you don't like it, you will have to pay Q25 per person to come back on the mainland.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotchaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Casa perico is beatifully located on an inlet close to rio dulce.
They let guests use the canoes for free which make for a nice leisurly afternoon.
The cabins are simple and the bathrooms are very cleanWe would of stayed longer if the food was better. Plain pastas and simple burgers on the menu here. there are hardly any vegetarian options.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daanvanderelsken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio Dulce hotels
14.7 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
347 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
19.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
14.1 mi away
El Hotelito Perdido
El Hotelito Perdido
#1 of 18 in Rio Dulce
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Perico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Perico

Property: Hotel Casa Perico
Address: Rio Dulce, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Rio Dulce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Perico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Perico Guatemala/Rio Dulce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing