We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Latin Zen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Koralia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Koralia
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“Latin Zen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

It is almost 3 months since I have been back from Koralia and the tranquility, openness and cool calm of the place is still with me. I was looking for a quiet place to spend a few days by myself after 3 months of a hectic work schedule and I could not have chosen a better destination. Koralia is an oasis of style, nature and relaxation. I started every morning with a delicious breakfast, long walks in the beach, reading from a great selection of books at the main house, a massage in a simple and yet very elegant spa - nature and comfort and style weaved together perfectly! The entire staff was very helpful and friendly but not overbearing, the food delicious, the rooms all different and very imaginatively decorated and amazing outdoor showers - when I now dream of a relaxing set up I dream of Koralia.

Room Tip: I stayed at a bungalow off the side to the restaurant, woke up with the sounds of birds, had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeppyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koralia, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Koralia, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We just loved seeing the city stresses melt off of you over the course of your days with us.

Playa Koralia is the place to let your daily worries slide off oceanside - while you refill yourself with the strong pure energy of the Caribbean!

we hope you keep a peace of us in your heart always!

hugs
-pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    59
    18
    15
    26
See reviews for
41
122
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Koralia really is a small piece of paradise to escape from the world outside. Not that my world needs much escaping from, but as a near constant traveller just having a few days of total relaxation was blissful! Arriving to a chilled scented face cloth and fresh tropical juice after the journey sets the pace for life at Koralia.
The beach location really is beautiful and totally unspolit. The individually styled cabañas blend in with the setting and encourage you to relax into the 'outdoors' life style that Koralia does so well.
Showers under the stars and meals in the open air tent make you realise that there is a big beautiful world out there that we too often shut out.
The food is wonderful! Fresh, beautifully presented and they do an amazing job in catering for special dietary requirements.
The excursion to El Pueblito and the Tayrona beaches should not be missed and after all the hiking the staff were wonderfully attentive to make sure we had enough to eat for dinner! When you get back have a relaxing massage in the spa on the beach ... there are few things better in life!

If you want somewhere beautiful, secluded and luxurious but not pretentious to relax then in my opinion, Koralia is the place.
And just a few practicalities - they do have wifi, accept credit cards and deal with all the logistical issues of onward journey's etc. And even better they do all this while smiling and making you feel like you are part of a family.

For sure, I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parachica_nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koralia, Public Relations Manager at Playa Koralia, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Gracias.

We are very pleased to help you find a piece of paradise with us. We send you warm wishes and amor wherever you are.

pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellfollit de la Roca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at Koralia for four nights as part of a loop of Colombia. We'd been paragliding and chose to have a week off, which included our stay at the coast. It was paradise. The staff were lovely and helpful, bending over backward to sort out our onward travel and making sure we had enough food after our seven hour hike in Tayrona. The food was excellent. Especially the seafood which was fresh.

I did all the excursions offered by Koralia and highly recommend both the El Pueblito/Tayrona beaches hike and the Don Diego river raft - especially if you get to do it in an inner tube like I did!

If you like to see birds and animals, photography,beach combing, hiking, swimming and/or just getting away from it all this is the place for you. I left completely chilled out and can't wait to return. Which I will. I promise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith_CDLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koralia, Public Relations Manager at Playa Koralia, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Gracias J_

Your paragliding trip sounded like a lovely way to see Colombia! We wish you joy on your further journeys!

pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent food (healthy whole food type), nice service, wonderful peaceful place with a longlasting empty beach. We stayed in a suite bungalow which was neat and tidy, having an outdoor toilet and shower under the blue sky. We went there to relax and relaxed fully.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koralia, Public Relations Manager at Playa Koralia, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you Johanna for taking the time to write such kind words.

We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you have a wonderful piece of Koralia to take with you.

-pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I would like to go to Koralia at least once a year to be reminded of how special, exquisite, and natural life can be. Once you get to Koralia you do not have to worry about anything. The hospitality and service is naturally attentive and luxurious. Koralia's beautiful cabana rooms interact in perfect harmony with the nature around them. Koralia is eco-luxury at its best without being prestigious yet very exclusive and secluded. Every room is a unique piece of art consisting of fabrics and pieces from all over the world. The food is very thoughtful, fresh and absolutely exquisite. They offer vegetarian options playing with asian flavors as well as regional and colombian ones. A wide array of fresh fruits that are not commonly known are offered as well as fresh coconut water right out of the coconut. They offer a selection of fresh fish and seafood that needless to say was caught the same day around the area. Koralia is full of magic and mistic coming from the junction of the jungle, the mountains nearby, the fresh water rivers that flow into the ocean, and the ocean itself. There is also an open deck bar closer to the beach filled with organic sounds, maybe brazilian music, Colombian folklore or the latest Parisian tunes, as well as surprising cocktails and ethnic decorations merging indian or other asian cultures with regional ones. Whether you come here for a romantic getaway, a personal renewal experience, a celebration with friends, or adventuring into the trials and rivers close-by, Koralia will fill a space in your heart. The best part is that it is hard to get to and far away from civilization. In the beach, you can look left and right and you'll only see organic structures, ocean, sand, trees, mountains. I miss Koralia. It is the best kept secret.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koralia, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Koralia, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hola V_

We look forward to your visits as we enjoy seeing the weight and dust of the city get scrubbed away by the ocean's rejuvenating power! Hydro-Therapy in its pure form!

See you next year!
-pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

A month has gone by since we left the tropical embrace of Playa Koralia and I still have a difficult time putting our experienced there into words. To be honest I find myself questioning if it was even real. The quaint remoteness of a finca about a mile from the road on a beach with nothing but more beach, mountain and jungle, in sight. The elegance, hospitality, and amenity you would expect from any four star resort in the world. All the healthy gourmet cuisine, all inclusive, delicious coffee, lively nights with gorgeous cocktails and entertainment at the little cabana style bar. Sway in a hammock, lay on the beach, hike in the mountains. Eat, nap, dance, float down a river; and fall in love.

We miss you Koralia!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koralia, General Manager at Playa Koralia, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi Nathan -

What a lovely family! So happy to see you guys traveling together and enjoying each other and your experiences! Hope to see you again!

keep the sunshine!
-pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed in Koralia for 8 days and it was a wonderfull stay. The beach, the quiet, the food, the service; everything was great. I really recomend the spa, and all the excursions the hotel has to offer, I particulary recomend the Don Diego River excursion, were you can see monkeys and take a bit of sun while your in a inner tube, down the river with low currents that drag you down to the ocean. The food is delicious, very creative and healthy. The staff is great, everyone is so kind. It is a magical place to relax and enjoy the view of the ocean and the Sierra Nevada.

Room Tip: One of the best rooms is called Shanghai. Great decoration, big space and no noice at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koralia, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Koralia, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hola C_

8 days is a wonderful time to stay. You can see people visibly relax and alter their aura on the 4th day. Days after that are truly spend in a tropical bliss!

So happy you enjoyed.

hope to see you again!
-pk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buritaca
0.2 mi away
Merecumbe Hotel
Merecumbe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buritaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
6.8 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gitana del Mar Boutique Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Playa Bonita
Playa Bonita
#5 of 10 in Buritaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Koralia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Koralia

Property: Playa Koralia
Address: Km. 47 Troncal del Caribe, Buritaca, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Buritaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Buritaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Koralia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy is found as the ocean breaks on the beach and you are the only one to witness its fall. Playa Koralia gives you that experience and more, one hour away from Santa Marta (Colombia). Time stops as nature defines each space; sand, paradise, sea, fresh water, palms, light & shade. The elements come together where the rivers flowing from the snow-capped peaks of the Sierra Nevada flow into the blue Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Playa Koralia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Koralia Hotel Buritaca
Playa Koralia Colombia/Buritaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing