We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience! Highly recommended !!”
Review of Merecumbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merecumbe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buritaca
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Unique experience! Highly recommended !!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days, we just loved this hotel. Starting with the lovely rooms, perfect bed, pillows, cleanness everywhere, and the particular design in different kinds of wood of every little element there. The family who own the hotel: Camila the chef, Andrea and Edgar the owners, and Samuel the funny waiter made our stay unique. They are very easy and open to chat at any time.. :)

We could say that the best food we have tried in Colombia (and I am Colombian!) was served in Merecumbe... the chef has definitively made our best impression of the hotel with every single dish served. You have to try every fruit juice, a fantastic mix of Colombian tropical fruits !
Parque Tayrona is just 15 minutes away by car, a day trip can be arranged in the hotel. You can also enjoy long walks by the empty beach and every afternoon you can enjoy the view of an expectacular sunset !!

If you want excellent food, a quiet and relax beach atmosphere, excellent accommodations and second to none service, Merecumbe Hotel is your choice. Is a bit expensive, but worth the price.

A minus would be the mosquito bites and the fact you cannot really swim in the ocean, there are very strong currents. But just being lazy in the hammocks with the perfect view in front of your eyes and the perfect food will compensate that. We highly recommend this hotel if you want to unplug from modern busy life!
Tip: bring the strongest anti-mosquito bites lotion. It´s a serious issue unfortunately.

Andrea & Willy
From Denmark

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    55
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
163
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Near Santa Marta Colombia there are many big hotels and Eco hotels but this one has a bit of both- we loved it.

The family have built around ten big round thatched-roofed cabins each with an outside bathroom - the father is some kind if industrial designer so literally everything from the locks to the lamps is lovingly designed in local materials- high ceilinged rooms are naturally cool, beds comfy but the real highlight is the amazing location- mountains on your left swamp on your right and huge empty white sandy beach to sit on - no pool but lots of seaside hammocks in hand-built sun shelters.

Finally- the FOOD - the daughter is an enthusiastic gourmet chef and she serves up a small but DELICIoUS menu of Colombian modern fusion food- and rich delicious smoothies and fresh juices.

I have never felt more chilled - id say it's a honeymoon destination which welcomes bird watchers and those just looking to chill! Caution: Beach has big breakers so not suitable for unsupervised toddlers.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NealBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

It's not so often one finds a family run hotel in which the owners and children interact with clients and demonstrate openly so much passion for their life project. The hotel has amazing landscaping in front of a wild, untamed beach. The beach is not for swimming due to strong waves and currents. That was the only let down. If it at least had a pool, my family coud have fully enjoyed the stay and I'd rate it 5 stars for sure. The cabinas were beautiful, comfortabe except I did not like not having warm showers, despite this being "eco". The owner mentioned that he may eventually install water boilers. The food was fantastic with a great chef. I do suggest that a lunch menu is introduced though, as nothing beats having classic sandwiches, burgers etc for lunch. Finally, the main attraction is Tayrona Park. I suggest that the owners make a small activities information board which explains the park in detail (maps) mentioning the best beaches, hikes etc. Any other local activities can be captured on that board. In closing We wish the owners all the best and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markypao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Amazing rooms, amazing setting!
A lovely experience overall!
The food is very good (but european-asian orientation, lacking of local cuisine) but everything is produced with local products.
The rooms are perfectly clean, and so beautiful you dont want to leave them!
The beach is beautiful and the hammocks so comfortable you can stay there all day!
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

FANTASTIC. That would have to be the word I would use to describe this jewel amongst the sand and palms along the Colombian coastline. I went searching for a nice quiet place for my gf and I to chill out (swing in a hammock, enjoy the sun and beach, get a massage, read a book etc.). Merecumbe hotel is just that and more. Where do I start? First, Edgar, Andrea and Camila (owners / chef) are definitely aware of the term “customer service”. There are not too many hotels where you can sit down and talk to the owners like they were your neighbors. The food. Excellent. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were truly a work of art, you can thank Camila for that. The rooms (Cabanas). Very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. Few amenities, so if you are looking for a t.v, internet and mini-bar, look elsewhere (I was not as I did not care about the news – at least for a few days). Do not be alarmed by there not having any air conditioning. Not really needed as the nights are cool and the ceiling fan provides sufficient cooling to sleep soundly. No hot water. Not needed as you get used to the chill in a matter of seconds and to be honest, it feels great after being in the sun all day. Yes, there are some creepy crawlers, but I never saw more than a water bug or tiny spider, which left me alone, so no issues. Slept great. The location. Awsome. It’s about a 45 minute drive from Santa Marta – No biggie as the hotel will have transportation waiting for you if you elect to use there service (90,000 COP – worth it). At night, all you hear are the sounds of the waves and jungle. During the day, the breeze and ocean. No loud music or folks. The grounds are kept immaculate. The beach is awesome, however, during our stay, the water was a little rough (not for me, but for others), so I would definitely ask the hotel management when would be the best time to come if you or your children are interested in doing a lot of swimming. The nightly bonfire was a real treat (truly romantic). Parting words. If you are looking to party the night away, this ain’t your place folks. If you are looking for a place to really chill out, this is it. Let the photos tell the story. Adios.

Room Tip: All cabanas are very nice (read my comments)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a beautiful setting where you can spend days doing nothing. The worst part is having to leave. The hotel was built by the family that owns it. Accommodation is in large, clean, well-equipped beautifully made cabins, all within a few tens of meters of the beach. The owners and staff (some of whom speak excellent English) are extremely friendly and helpful, informative, and are one of the best parts about this hotel. All meals are included. The food is delicious. There are many birds on the grounds and nearby areas. There are many pleasant shaded areas set up with deck chairs and hammocks for reading, sleeping or watching the sea. The beach is beautiful for walking. The only downside is that the sea is not particularly nice for swimming. If we go back to Colombia, we would make every effort to stay here again. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Expectaions were greatly exceeded as Camilla and her family made us feel as though we were not only guest but family memebers ourselves.. If you are looking to visit Tayrona this is a much better option then staying in Santa Marta or the Eco-hostel inside the Park as you are only ten minutes from the park.

The gourmet meals and fresh juices you are served will surely keep you well nourished. The remoteness and private jungle/beach setting was a great change of pace from the crowded beaches in Cartagena. The design,small details and material is well thought out and 100% eco-friendly. You really get the sense that the Merecumbe was designed by someone who passionately cared about trying to make a difference in this world...

The only thing that was a surprise for us is if you are looking to party you are about an hour from Santa Marta/Taganga which really is your only options.. Have no fear though as Esnyeder the cab driver will take great care of getting you back and forth to city if you are looking to experince some night life. If you need transportation he is definitely your guy..

Camilla, Sam and family thanks so much for putting up with us as I know we were a bit rowdy at times... Best of luck with your business, you guys are doing an amazing job!!! Look forward to seeing you again some day... Ciao Brad, Brandon and Eren

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sittingbull1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buritaca
7.0 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
530 reviews
15.6 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Koralia
Playa Koralia
#2 of 2 in Buritaca
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
110 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Mandala
Hotel Playa Mandala
#2 of 4 in Palomino
238 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
#1 of 1 in Los Naranjos
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merecumbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merecumbe Hotel

Property: Merecumbe Hotel
Address: | Km 48, via Santa Marta - Riohacha, Buritaca 470009, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Buritaca
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buritaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merecumbe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who want quiet vacations in the beach ::: Merecumbe is a magical and green place to "unplug" yourself from daily life.Located in the lonely beaches of the Sierra Nevada in Santa Marta, there's an amazing landscape and lots of places to visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Merecumbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merecumbe Hotel Colombia/Buritaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing