We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of Fat Fish B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bushman's River Mouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fat Fish B&B
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We chose Fat Fish B&B based on its great TripAdvisor rating and we weren't disappointed. Although it has no sea or river view, it's located in a queit spot next to a green belt and adjacent to a game reserve. The first view we had in the morning was a monkey sitting in a thorn bush eating his
breakfast! The river and beach are a comfortable walk away.
The rooms are absolutely wonderful: Comfortable, clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are equally impressive, with a huge bath, plus shower...nicer than our bathroom at home! Every
room is equally lovely, but the two garden-facing ones get more sun. Each room has its own little outside terrace with seating - a lovely spot for reading, enjoying the sunshine and pretty garden and just contemplating life!
Hosts Linda and Nigel are most gracious and serve a lovely cooked English breakfast as well as a continental spread of great filter coffee, selection of teas, juices, fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, etc. The bright breakfast room and an honesty bar (complete with big screen TV) adjoins the bedrooms. There is also a braai area and outside shower and plenty of safe parking. Absolutely great value for money and truly highly recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Perfect place to stay!
very quiet cul-de-sac end of the road house.
Beautiful tiling, extra length mattresses, cool cotton quality bedding, really worth 5 stars.
Linda and Neville are great hosts!
Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Welcomed by Linda and Neville, our family was made to feel at home. We loved the spacious rooms, beautifully furnished, helpful and cheerful staff, and delicious breakfasts. Highly recommended. 5 minute walk to the beach and short drive to kenton.

Room Tip: Any one of the three rooms is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

For many years we used to go to Bushman's River mouth (Boesmansriviermond) to a family owned property, on a regular basis. Bushman's is an idyllic seaside location in the Eastern Cape, with a stunning 5 km sandy beach and rocky river-mouth.We went back this year in May and stayed at the Fat Fish B&B. We fell in love with the place the minute we arrived and were welcomed by the lovely hosts, Linda and Neville and their friendly little Jack Russel, Skwiza!
As we have arrived late, they assisted us in getting a late dinner booking at one of the local restaurants (already more than one would expect from your hosts!) The evening turned out to be a wonderful experience as was the rest of our time. The tasteful decor and care for detail were some of our favorite characteristics of this B&B! It is walking distance from the river and the beach. It met all our expectations and more.
Breakfast was a delight! We can sincerely recommend this as a short or long term holiday destination to everybody.
Tony & Linda L
Sheffield
UK

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Tucked away at the end of a cul-de-sac, is this absolutely wonderful B&B. Everything is so immaculately appointed, with such exceptional care to detail, that one feels as though you have entered an oasis, away from the maddening traffic and chaos of city life.
Neville (Linda was away when we visited) is an exceptional host, greeting us personally on arrival.
The breakfast was superb and our only regret was that we didn't have any extra days just to stay longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortably appointed. We occupied two of the three rooms on offer, and both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColleenM771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushman's River Mouth
14.6 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
0.7 mi away
Milkwood Manor B & B
Milkwood Manor B & B
#2 of 7 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#5 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge
7.2 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Fish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Fish B&B

Property: Fat Fish B&B
Address: 29 Umthathi Street, Bushman's River Mouth 6190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bushman's River Mouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bushman's River Mouth
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing