We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Volubilis

Volubilis
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Small Group Full-Day Meknes and Volubilis Tour from Fez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roman ruins contain a victory arch, impressive basilica and spectacular mosaics.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A real gem in a lovely location. This was a much bigger site than I expected and I really enjoyed my visit partly down the excellent local guide. An extensive site with the remains of many buildings , 2 arches and the main street it gave a wonderful insight into an important Roman town on the fringes of empire. Perhaps the highlight were the beautiful mosaics in situ, as vibrant and beautiful as the day they were created. If you take a tour of Morocco you will rightly be taken here or else definitely visit this amazing site.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank adrian1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    300
    64
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Between 2 fascinating cities”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nearer to Meknes this site is really worth a visit.
The guide was very good, explained everything, how 20 000 people lived here 300 BC, was abandoned 300 AD. All the living sites, the shops, the bath, the Jupiter temple, etc
I was with a group so don't know how much was the entrance fee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make a detour from Meknes...”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

These spectacular Roman ruins are only an hour away from the imperial city of Meknes. Easy to get there with your own transport, but if not… find a few people to share a grand taxi for about Dh350 (35 Euros) for the return trip.

Volubulis is understated for a place so historically significant – and only about Dh40 for car park and entrance fee. As we followed the path up to the ruins, a local guide tried to convince us we would not find the incredible mosaics we had read about without him – but we wanted the chance for more random exploration. If you don’t want to miss anything, then say yes! (for about Dh150 or 15 Euros)

I'm so pleased we decided to catch the spectacle at sunset....ancient columns casting long, long shadows and stone gates touched with crimson.

A photographer's dream......and truly atmospheric.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_hungry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Day visit”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had never heard of this site and did not know what to expect.What an excellent site to visit.Vast in comparison to other sites visited throughout Europe and very well preserved.Guide very informative with a good sense of humour and English spoken very clearly.Not many tourist.Many well preserved mosaics on display.A lovely example of the main street running through the site to the Victory Arch at the far end.Worth visiting.
It is placed high on a hill so a hat and water needed for the tour.Toilet facilities on site,not fabulous but will meet your needs.Also a small refreshment cafe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank papabear1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
207 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“what a site”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Not more than 30 km from Meknes the Roman City of Volubilis has been unearthed by international scientists -- what a treat !
The mosaics still bear the colors they had 2000 years ago and along the the main road,gates and temple remains one feels the ancient times

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ovotherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volubilis also viewed

Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Volubilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing