We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice ballad trough the ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Volubilis

Volubilis
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.83*
and up
Full-Day Volubilis and Meknes Private Tour from Fez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roman ruins contain a victory arch, impressive basilica and spectacular mosaics.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A nice ballad trough the ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Probably the best spot in the Meknes area. Ultra hot in summer but the ruins, especially the ceramic floor are worthed. At 10 dirham per person, it is a really good deal. If you want a guide, take an official one appointed by the state: a lot of non official guides will offer their services but are a fraud.

enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivierYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    298
    60
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

In Volubilis, nothing special to visit. It seems that ruins came up by themselves and nobody cares for it. It's a pitty that there is no a historical conscience, I had the sensation that Volubilis is merely thought as a place where draw money. No signs, no information plaque, nothing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Occhidebano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very unusual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Romans traditionally built their cities near the sea, but this one is an exception and it makes the site worth visiting. It's relatively well-preserved, especially mosaics. It can give you an impression what life was like back then in Roman Empire times. They used this place to have a rest. It's quite technologically advanced - they even had underground sewerage. I advise to go there early in the morning, there isn't any hiding place from the sun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roman culture in Volubilis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was my wish to come here, and our guide from Desert Dream4x4 took us there, to see some ancient roman culture.
It was impressive, I have seen many roman sites in Austria and Germany, but never I´ve been in Africa in a place like this. It was amazing to see what roman life was like in another continent.
We had a local guide, who explained everything to us. We especially loved the wonderful mosaics, and the atmosphere there. The spirit of Roman culture can still be feeled...
We strolled there for at least one or two hours, even it was a bit tiring in the hot sun.
But our guide could always tear us from our exhaustion, and showed us around with detailed informations.

To everybody recommandable, who is interested in cultural life and visits!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary,alberta
Level Contributor
212 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Must have been a fantastic roman city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is about an hours drive from Meknes but well worth the trip. Lovely mosaic floors and stately columns. It would take you about 3 hours to walk around all of it. The old oil press and the layout of the homes and rooms was quite something. This must have been a fantastic city at its peak. Would certainly recommend visiting this amazing ruin.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volubilis also viewed

Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Volubilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing