We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming riad in the heart of the medina in Marrakesh”
Review of Riad des Artistes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad des Artistes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our oldest son and I recently spent five nights at Riad des Artistes. This small riad has been beautifully restored, and is conveniently located in the heart of the medina. The owners, Noemi and Eric, could not have been more friendly and helpful in making arrangements for a guide, dinner reservations, drivers and day trips to the Atlas Mountains and the Agafay Desert. And Abdel and Khadija, who work at the riad, served us an amazing dinner our first night in Marrakech, as well breakfast every morning on the roof terrace.
Marrakech is a magical city, and the hospitality we were shown by Noemi and Eric only enhanced our experience there. We look forward to returning some day soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved our stay at Riad des Artistes! Our family of 8 rented out the whole riad (including 2 children 2yrs and 3yrs) and we loved having the place to ourselves. Eric and Noemi were great hosts, arranging transport, excursions etc. and Abdel and Khadija, who looked after us in the riad, were fantastic. The dinners we had here were the best of our entire stay in Marrakech - so good that our friends staying at luxury hotels came for dinner and raved about Khadija's cooking. Breakfasts on the terrace were also delightful, with hot fresh local breads and fresh orange juice every morning. You won't find a better location - steps from Dar el Bacha which has some of the nicest shops we found in the medina, and the Hammam Del Rose is about a 5 minute walk. The Jemaa el Fna is also just minutes away. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasleemthawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely Riad tucked away in the heart of the medina in Marrakech. The owners, Eric and Noemi, are incredibly friendly, and very service oriented. They were able to make many recommendations on things to see and when to see them, as well as some great restaurant and hamamm recommendations. The orange blossoms inside were in bloom when we were there, and the entire place smelled of the intoxicating fragrance. What a great smell to wake up to!

The breakfast was fresh every morning, and while it was a typical sweet-laden Moroccan breakfast, it was absolutely delicious! I would come back here in a heartbeat, and highly recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lparks2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A lovely place to stay if you're looking for authentic Marrakech inside the medina as opposed to western style hotels outside the city walls. Other reviwers have done a great job already of describing the riad so I won't repeat what they have said. Suffice to say the english speaking french owners, Eric and Noemie, are delightful and together with their trusty team of Abdel and Radeesha cannot do enough for you whether you want your breakfast served on the roof terrace (a must on a warm sunny morning) or just general advice about what to do, where to eat or how much to pay. Eric even went to another riad to find us an english language guide book to the city; it may have been 10 years old but it was much more detailed and informative than the guide book we'd brought with us from London and let's face it, Marrakech is a city of history which doesn't change. Enjoy your stay at Riad des Artistes !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

In a small alleyway in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech, I found this wonderful property. The owner's Eric and Noemie contributed greatly to making my stay memorable. Noemie was very generous in personally driving me into the countryside to visit with a local farming family. The property is decorated with many costly pieces by local artists and craftsman. Just step outside the front door and you are surrounded by the sights and sounds that make Marrakech one of the world's great desinations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfg511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were looking for a beautiful place in the heart of Marrakech Medina and we found it at Le Riad des Artistes. It was perfectly located in the medina, a few steps from wonderful Jamaa El Fna square. Staff was warm and attentionate, always here when needed, never disturbing. The Riad itself is gorgeous with orange trees and chemineys, fresh courtyard and even a small pool to refresh after a hot day in the city. Tea time, in this calm and silencious place contrast perfectly with agitation of the streets of Marrakech. We'll go again !

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grégory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Riad des Artistes is exactly what you're looking for when arriving in Marrakech: it's clean, quite, elegant and a great workload has been put on details.
Long live Riad des artistes, the only downside is that they book out quickly as they have only 4 rooms. But yet again: small is beautiful!
Keep up the great work Eric and Noemie!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region hotels
0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
814 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
0 mi away
Le Cazar
Le Cazar
#1 of 2 in Tameslouht
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Artistes

Address: 51 derb Ouyhah | Quartier Riad Laarouss, 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #876 of 1,490 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Price Range: $65 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to escape on a fancy trip to Morocco? Visit and enjoy the magical city of Marrakesh! In the old medina, just minutes away from the Jemaa El Fna Square, unlike the hustle and bustle of a hotel, the RIAD DES ARTISTES offers the charm and quietude of a guest house restored in purest Moroccan tradition. You will discover, thanks to its dedicated staff, high quality of the Berber hospitality.Located near antique stores and the famous souks and palaces of Marrakesh. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing