We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round ”
Review of The Poet

The Poet
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 6/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Matfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We believe that your dining experience with us starts the moment you walk through our door. A friendly greeting from our front of house team, lead by co-owner Andy Urbanek and Manager Simon Moore. The Poet offers a vast selection of craft gins, handpicked wines and quirky cocktails. Chef Patron Petrus Madutlela and his team tempt customers with an imaginative array of contemporary British food.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

The food is amazing, service very good (despite it being busy) and really nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank emmalb229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 697 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2019

We cant believe we haven't written a review for this place before .Must have come about 12 times at least since the current management and chef have been here. We all came for Mothers Day lunch ,and as usual absolutely first class food and excellent service. The Sunday lunches here are probably the best we've had anywhere ever. Between the five us we had various combinations from the special menu. Crab and prawn ravioli with lobster bisque starter was rammed with flavour and perfectly cooked and presented, Jacqui and Elanor had a tomato and aubergine burrata tapenade starter which was superb and the duck liver pate was spot on. For mains we had the braised venison haunch(2) roast rump of beef(2) and chicken supreme. The beef was perfectly cooked to medium succulent and full of flavour with an excellent beef jus. The venison was melt in the mouth again with a superb sauce, and the chicken supreme was spot on.. The real surprise compared to many other places is the quantity and variety of vegetables which are served - cauliflower cheese, carrots with herbs, broccoli and peas, and some of the best roast potatoes you will ever have, crispy crunchy with a soft floury centre, totally delicious. Desserts were chocolate tart for Jacqui and Al, Elanor had the pannacotta and Rich adn I had the cheeseboard. All excellent, cheeses were local and in great quantity with fresh biscuits and a tart fruit chutney. The accompany wines were all excellent and well paired by the maitre d'. Overall a great experience, excellent Kentish gastropub surroundings and above all superb value. I defy anyone to find this quality of coooking cheaper anywhere. A really great place to eat - fully deserving its Michelin Plate!!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonandJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

We joined great friends at The Poet and had a marvellous evening. All the staff were charming and knowledgeable and the food was excellent. The only reason that I did not give he restaurant 5 stars was I felt the quality of the beef for the fillet steak made it slightly tough.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank LillyLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

It’s a comfortable and clean pub with a great restaurant and very friendly staff. The food was delicious and filling.
We’ll be going there again.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank kyliessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Third visit and standards as ever remain extremely. Guinea fowl starter excellent and duck main perhaps best i’ve Ever eaten.

Best food in t Wells area no doubting

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gruzzleTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poet also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Poet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing