We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class - Absolutey Delicious”
Review of The Poet

The Poet
Reserve with OpenTable
The Poet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Matfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We believe that your dining experience with us starts the moment you walk through our door. A friendly greeting from our front of house team, lead by co-owner Andy Urbanek and Manager Katy Cruickshank. The Poet offers a vast selection of craft gins, handpicked wines and quirky cocktails. Chef Patron Petrus Madutlela and his team, endevours to tempt our customers with an imaginative array of contemporary British food cooked to order, sourced from the freshest, local produce. Our celebrity chef competed on Masterchef: The Professionals and was Judge of South African TV show "The Ultimate Braai Master."
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited on Saturday lunchtime. It was very quiet and we were one of only three couples....... the spring sunshine clearly inviting people outdoors to other pursuits!
The meal was, quite simply, delicious.
J and I shared the ''deli'' plate from the 'light options' blackboard menu. It was the perfect starter - a selection of really tasty bites. The spicy sausages were very good. For main, J took the lamb kofta from the blackboard and I chose the cod from the main lunch/dinner menu. Both dishes were beautifully presented and the quality and taste of the food was excellent.
The cod dish consisted of a small piece of loin served with a couple of prawns, straddling a bed of samphire, accompanied by a small round of potato and a delicate lobster bisque. Wonderful flavours, cod perfectly cooked. Not a huge helping so I was glad J let me have one of her lamb koftas - she was saving room for dessert, a rhubarb and custard cream dish with a raspberry sorbet and crunchy biscuit crumble. Not a cheap lunch but the meal was really good. By the way, the Red Top bitter they have on at the moment is very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sennockian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthespen, Owner at The Poet, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Poet again soon. Look out for more beers from the fantastic Old Dairy Brewery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for The Poet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 428 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wish I could give five, but was let down on dessert. After a long, long wait between courses was advised by staff that two of the four desserts we had ordered were not available. It was a further ten minute wait before the two remaining desserts arrived, so just over half an hour wait. The drinks ordered with the two unavailable desserts did not arrive. Ran out of time for babysitters so had to exit post haste, which was lucky really as the decaf coffee I ordered wasn't available either. Perfect bar the last few hiccups.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PoloGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthespen, Owner at The Poet, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

I'm sorry we let you down on your desserts on this occasion, our chefs produce all our desserts from scratch and try their best to predict demand so that all our customers have the full choice. Occasionally we do not get these quantities right and dishes can run out before the end of the night but we try our hardest to make this a very rare occurrence.

I apologise for the delay in getting the desserts out to you, we strive to get all dishes out in a reasonable amount of time without rushing our customers and we will review our staffing and procedures to ensure this delay is not repeated.

We have also now increased the par amount of decaf coffee that we hold in stock to ensure that it does not run out again.

We hope you will be returning to The Poet again soon and look forward to working hard to achieve a 5.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

had lovely food, bit over priced and some sounds a bit pretentious. Not sure about waitress wearing white gloves (that were a bit grubby really) to serve my food as i would rather she just have clean washed hands than greyish gloves. but this doesnt take away from the food. We went for the fixed menu on offer as we went on a wednesday eve, much better value, not sure i would want to pay the "full" prices as there other restraurants nearby that serve food just as good but cheaper. Did have to ask for more sauce but they were fine about this. We took drinks after dinner on the sofas and was a nice atmosphere, will go again, but not when cheaper fixed menu not available

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank enigma1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthespen, Owner at The Poet, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

We are really pleased you enjoyed the quality of our food.

Our waiting staff wear gloves would carrying food from the kitchen as the plates are often very hot and the gloves prevent the plates burning their fingers. Following on from your feedback we have invested in some new gloves with a renewed whiteness.

We have now adopted a 'Light menu' to replace our set menu. This menu includes salads, sandwiches, fish and chips amongst other dishes all priced between £5 and £12. These dishes are still produced from the same quality ingredients that we have always used and prepared from scratch by our chefs.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last visit showed a marked improvement on both food & quantity. Excellent.
Service was OK but to be honest a little amateur. Enthusiastic but slightly naive.
But dear oh dear, these prices just take the edge off what wasn't a bad night out.
The wine was excellent but way, way overpriced.
If you come here speak to your mortgage advisor first!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mykeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Poet was a very pleasant treat on the Saturday night before Mothers Day. Food, service and ambiance were all excellent and will certainly return. Was quite expensive for posh pub food but well worth it.

Thank KathrynC598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poet also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Poet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing