We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A makeover made good”
Review of The Poet

The Poet
Reserve with OpenTable
The Poet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Matfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $46
Cuisines: European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We believe that your dining experience with us starts the moment you walk through our door. A friendly greeting from our front of house team, lead by co-owner Andy Urbanek and Manager Katy Cruickshank. The Poet offers a vast selection of craft gins, handpicked wines and quirky cocktails. Chef Patron Petrus Madutlela and his team, endevours to tempt our customers with an imaginative array of contemporary British food cooked to order, sourced from the freshest, local produce. Our celebrity chef competed on Masterchef: The Professionals and was Judge of South African TV show "The Ultimate Braai Master."
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A makeover made good”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Formerly "Morellos". This started off well and we did enjoy a couple of good meals there but were disappointed the last couple of occasions - pity because we used it to entertain friends & family on the occasions we were let down.
"The Poet" renews our confidence. It's a small country pub of many years long standing but it has been "breathed on" and it combines a very good menu with a "pubby" sort of bar, but all very intimate.
We went for our wedding anniversary - don't ask - and enjoyed it very much. Good food; good selection of wines and an attentive, but not over-bearing staff, they were there when you wanted them.
Cost for 2?: £88 and that was for 3 courses, 3 different wines by the glass for each course and excluding tips.
Go there again? Most certainly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milominderbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    77
    26
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lacks atmosphere”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've now been to this restaurant three times to give it the benefit of the doubt because I want it to succeed. But each time it has been near empty and there's a good reason for this - the food is extremely expensive and the portions are tiny. It's a shame because the food is fairly good, and a neighbourhood restaurant which got it right would do a storm in this location.

I've been both for an evening meal when main courses were £19 to £24 (including pretty standard chicken dishes), and for Sunday roast (the roasts were priced between £14 and £16). It's not Michelin quality - it's well cooked but not fine dining - and the portions/ingredients used just don't justify the prices, so you end up feeling ripped off.

I'd urge the owners to visit Apicius, The Vineyard, and The Chaser, see what they do for the money, and how they are packed out at every sitting. They need to bring prices down, bump up the portion sizes, and inject more personality front of house - the waitresses are a bunch of disinterested teenage girls who, together with the empty seats, create a rather forlorn dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank obaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was my birthday meal... And it was absolutely fabulous! I wouldn't just stop here for a spot of dinner as the portions are small... But for a nice meal for a special occasion I would decently recommend we had a fabulous time! And 100% go back over and over! I hope it doesn't change!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turtle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

4 of us went to the Jazz Evening on 28th August and had the set 6 course menu. All courses were beautifully presented, innovative and absolutely delicious. Whilst the quality of food is the lifeblood of any restaurant, we were also delighted that the general ambience and service
matched the excellence of the food. The jazz trio were very good without intruding, and the
waitresses were attentive and cheery. The restaurant is cosy with the ability to seat small or large parties as well as having seating for those just wanting a pint. So nice to find such a good restaurant in such a lovely village. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Splendid Lunch!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We visited the previous incarnate, Morello a number of times and had meals ranging from terrific to very good.
Upon attempting to book again, finding the Morello phone number on another review site, we encountered a poor gentleman who had inherited the restaurant's phone number, but was polite enought to direct us to the Poet with its new number.
Ŵe have just returned from an excellent lunch. The portions were not, as another reviewer suggested too small at all, but quite perfect. The food wasn't quite Michelin star as we have experienced, but pretty close. Delicious! Very good value for what we had, in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
A nice touch was wine (from the by-the-glass list) suggestions by each course. Whilst we are quite comfortable choosing for ourselves, such listing gives a useful indication for those dishes that could pull in different directions, depending on the fashion of the actual cooking.
The ham hock croquette and pea velouté starter was outstanding.... Try it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poet also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Poet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing