We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected from the outside” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Knight Motel

Jolly Knight Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Casula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jolly Knight Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Casula
Brisbane
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from the outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We'd had a big day and it was getting late, so we called in to the only motel with a light on after 10.30 at night. On the outside it looked old and past its use by date, but we reasoned we only needed a bed and we were too tired to worry.

The Asian lady behind the counter was very friendly, and happy to see us. We got the last room for the night. They took credit cards but she clearly preferred cash. It cost $1 extra to take the card. The basic room at $95 for a queen and single was good value. They also offered executive rooms at the back of the building.

The beds were firm but comfortable, the bathroom was small but recently renovated, and although smoking was permitted in the room, it didn't smell stale or dirty.

The air-conditioner was fixed to a temp and couldn't be changed, and the room had tea and coffee facilities as well as a flat screen TV.

It was very clean and situated a fair distance from the road, and we experienced very little road noise.

Their was an Italian restaurant at the front of the complex too, although it was closed when we arrived.

Would I stay there again? Probably not. I'd be happy to pay more for a non smoking room.

Room Tip: Paying cash is cheaper. Don't expect a five star stay. It is basic accommodation, nothing more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ozfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    5
    1
    17
See reviews for
5
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Booked five rooms for my party at the Restraunt nearby
The five couples that stayed all said never again
To old and run down and a craggy cranky owner that should have retired years ago
Bedding was clean.
Bathrooms to old cracked tiles
Could have been cleaned better

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Hooter700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Casula hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked in and paid and went to unload the car as soon as we walked into the room it stunk of cigarettes. I went back to the front desk and asked for a refund but didn't get one. Not very happy at all as we were travelling with a baby and our asthmatic daughter on NYE.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennyt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is the worst place we have ever had the misfortune to stay in! Filthy, unkempt rooms, rude & ignorant owner/manager who defies belief. We looked under the bed to try and find the source of a nasty smell in the room, only to find the floor littered with used condoms! When we reported this to the owner he suggested they were our own! The electric jug had a frayed cord and stunk of urine. Power points were antique and in poor condition. There is an air conditioner but the temperature is controlled by the owner, so we froze on one of the coldest May nights Sydney had experienced for years. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and sag in the middle, furniture is broken. You are better off heading further down the highway to Campbelltown where there are plenty of clean, comfortable hotels with friendly staff. Sure, you may pay $20 per night extra, but its well worth it.

Room Tip: Keep on driving and stay elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suewilson255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Poor from the onset. Reception staff not good, the motel is old and not very well kept. We had four rooms to accommodate our staff. One room the toilet had been used and not flushed or cleaned. Another room stank of tobacco smoke. Third room toilet door could not be closed. It is a 45.00 per night motel.
Very disappointed. Choose the motel because of its proximity to Casula Powerhouse where our seminar is being held.
murray@aquaponics.net.au

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurrayHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Stayed at Jolly Knight as our work xmas party was held at the restaurant near the motel , what a big mistake it was ! Rooms smelt of cigarettes , mold in bathroom , toilet filthy , shower unclean and smelly , missing light fixtures , taps and basin not clean enough , floor not vaccuum cleaned , tiles cracked in bathroom , air conditioner pre-set by owner and no remote to adjust temperature so it was too cold on and too warm off , cockroach's running over the walls , a $1 surcharge on room price just because we used eftpos to pay . Very bad nights sleep and overall very very poor place to stay , in my opinion it is not suitable for human habitation , owner didnt care about problems when confronted about them , rude owners , it should be demolished !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank joanneandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moss vale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

had a dinner at Vinnies restaurant which is separate from Jolley Knight Motel and is terrific, cant say the same for the motel, the owners were abrupt, the executive suite that we had was dirty, cobwebs, stains on walls and basically old and uncared for. Our adjoining room was occupied by two drunk?? obscene ladies (if you could call them that) who had loud music blaring until we left at 1am and were outside and swearing better than a shearer for hours. our car was parked outside their room and we feared for the car and ourselves so when they went into their room we bolted and drove home. the worst motel experience we have ever had and I would say drive a bit further on to a decent motel. By the way, we are not prudes and are easy to get along with.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dareeMossVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casula
2.1 mi away
Quest Liverpool
Quest Liverpool
#3 of 10 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Comfort Hunts Liverpool
6.4 mi away
Gardenia Motor Inn
Gardenia Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bass Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
#2 of 10 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
Ibis Budget Campbelltown
#3 of 3 in Campbelltown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
#1 of 1 in Warwick Farm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Knight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Knight Motel

Property: Jolly Knight Motel
Address: 568 Hume Hwy, Casula, Liverpool, New South Wales 2170, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Liverpool > Casula
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Casula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Jolly Knight Motel Liverpool/Casula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing