We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Inishnee...”
Review of Connemara Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishnee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Connemara Cottages
Shrewsbury
2 reviews
“Loved Inishnee...”
Reviewed October 25, 2008

I randomly booked a weeks stay at Cill Cottage after it was advertised on ebay.. I took along my Mom, we arrived stunned by the place. Geraldine was so welcoming, and we had just the best time. There was everything you could possibly need at Cill Cottage. We had one of the best holidays ever, the weather was lovely considering the time of year. There are lots of things to do around the area, Roundstone is a nice little place, I will definately try to go back, but I bet it gets booked up pretty quickly! anyone will get on with Geraldine, and her horse is pretty cool too!! :)..

  • Liked — It was well equipped, and the views were beautiful...
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robyn1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We have stayed in both Cill Cottage and Island Cottage; both are bright, cosy and comfortable, and extremely well equipped and appointed. The view of sea and mountains from the cottages is second to none in Ireland (and we live in Killarney!) For those who enjoy a quiet, relaxing holiday, this is an ideal location. With the view of mountains and sea by day, and an open fire to sit by in the evening, there is no urge to be rushing off somewhere else - when you are at either of these cottages you are THERE! However, for the more energetic, there are lovely walks around the island, and beautiful beaches a short drive away, and all of Connemara to be explored. Roundstone, the local village, is a lovely friendly place with fine shops and restaurants. This is the west of Ireland at its beautiful, peaceful and friendly best. We plan to go back for our third visit next year - need I say more?

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank AtticusAndCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

If you are going to Connemara, stay in these cottages. We stayed for a week in Cill Cottage and had a tremendously hard time leaving. The location is spectacular. You will never have such a nice time looking out the window as you do in this spot. And what a spot it is - the perfectly laid out and appointed home away from home. A peat fireplace, everything you need in a kitchen, a comfy bed (we slept like babies), a nice bathroom with the most impressive view ever. And a delightful, funny, smart, helpful landlady to boot. Geraldine is a love and a joy. We wished we lived nearby for many reasons, but one was so that we could be friends with her. We miss Amy, the pony, already. Sigh...getting sad just thinking that it'll be awhile until we can return, but return, we will! This place was too special and too wonderful to only visit once.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mhyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Booked Island Cottage for a week's break for a family of four plus two grannies and had a wonderful time.

Inishnee is approached by bridge from the local village of Roundstone and then you have a drive of approx 3 miles on single track road to the properties. Easy enough in daylight but a little more challenging after dark although once you have done it once you are home and dry.

The owner, Geraldine, is a star even incluiding satellite broadband for visitors or the use of her own computer and makes your stay very homely without ever intruding on your privacy.

If your idea of heaven is lively, noisy bars in places that never sleep then these cottages are certainly not for you. On the other hand, if you are never happier than when walking in the middle of nowhere, or simply sitting and reading by an open fire feeling that time is standing still then this might just be the holiday for you.

So long as you expect rain (liquid sunshine) you probably won't be disappointed in the west of Ireland. This is a good base to explore Connemara and Galway with a lovely hostess to greet you on arrival.

  • Liked — Splendid isolation
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gremlin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We arrived at Cill Cottage on Inishnee Island in May of 2007, to find a wonderful refuge. It was a beautiful cottage which provided everything we needed, including an accommodating landlady, Geraldine. We loved the sunrise and sunset each day. It was quiet, peaceful and restful. We toured different areas each day and still had time to enjoy the cottage itself. The Village of Roundstone is unique as we got groceries there, used the internet, had lunch, dinner, shopped and found a phone booth. The coastline all around the area is stunning. We stayed a full week, we loved our visit and would love to go back.

Noreen and Don Anderson
Prince Edward Island
Canada

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtle326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We have stayed at Cill and Island Cottages for the last two years and we have booked a week this year as well.
The beauty of the area and the absolute peace and quiet of the cottages has to be experienced to be believed.On clear nights it's great to see billions of stars in the sky.You just can't help unwinding.

Geraldine the owner lives on the site and is available if needed for assistance or the chat,but otherwise does not intrude on your space in any way.Almost everything you need is provided at the cottages.

Roundstone is a great location for walking or as a base for driving trips.In June before the schools close and the families arrive its possible at times to have a mile of beach almost all to yourself.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crowdedhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 6, 2005

This is my fourth year visiting
Island and Cill Cottages. I keep
coming back because Its such a
great location. The properties
are well equipped and fitted.
And our host Geraldine goes out
of her way to make your stay an
enjoyable one. Already looking
forward to next years return.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishnee
8.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
128 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Rossroe Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Cashel
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Cottages

Property: Connemara Cottages
Address: | Roundstone, Inishnee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishnee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Inishnee
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-Catering Luxury Cottage Located close to Roundstone Village in the heart of Connemara. High Standards Provided. Sleeps 2-7. Free WIFI, Sky TV, Superb sea views. Available for short stay or weekly all year. Ideally located for touring the West of Ireland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing