We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here from 07/03 - 11/03/14 and were very disappointed. Initially we were impressed with the surroundings (beautiful) and the checkin staff. However room still had milk from previous guest in it, bugs that hadn't been removed, maintenance issues with shower and toilet roll holder, curtains hanging off railings. The entire stay the beds weren't "made", just the covers pulled back up - bottom sheets not even straightened up. Buffet breakfast was lukewarm and tables left with dishes and not cleaned even though people were waiting to be seated. Had to continually ask for cutlery, plates, glasses, bowls, etc. The room had a horrible musty smell so we had to leave the windows and doors open as much as possible. Service in the restaurant for dinner was very slow. Despite only two other tables being occupied (they had already been served their meal) it took nearly half an hour for the girl to take our order.
The kangaroos were nice to watch though.

Room Tip: Hotel is spread out over a sometimes steep incline so if you having trouble walking on an angle ask...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pittypat2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 425 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Basic (but nice enough) accommodation...the highlight was seeing a couple of kangaroos nibbling on the grass very close to the rooms.
Check-in and check out was quick and friendly....and the room was clean and reasonably large.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mafman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Promised a 4 star experience but delivered a musty aging motel room with noisy highway traffic, old bathroom and amenities, noisy bar fridge and everything except the peace and quiet advertised.


The bed linen and blankets were old and thin, bed was super soft and uncomfortable. I would have been more comfortable in my swag!

The bathroom has mould, the oldest most inefficient shower heads and plumbing in Australia I guess.

A full refund was provided by management by it was supposed to be a relaxing night before a long drive to Adelaide next day.

New management is one thing but this property seems to detract for the Ibis Styles brand - it needs a thorough makeover, double glazed windows and new bathroom, desk etc.

There is a lot of space, quite a nice entry and meals area for the property but first things first - give me a decent night's sleep or don't sell the night!

Receptionist was nice (it was 11pm when I checked in), grounds look lovely and spacious.

Lots of tour groups there - perhaps that was why I ended up with such a crappy room.

It is an absolute contrast to Ibis Styles Narrabunda which has great service, is quiet, has nice amenities, reappointed rooms, new TVs, clean as clean and did I say great service.

The location has potential but being near a major hill on he highway

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Actualeyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I will start with the what I did not like, as we were tired we decided to eat in the restaurant and though it was a Saturday night the only option was a Buffet, Beef, Chicken & Fish, mixed vegetables, tossed salad and what was supposed to be Coleslaw. Everything was room temperature even though they were in warming dishes, the tossed salad had a jug with dressing to go with it and it was OK however the Coleslaw well it was like no other I have ever seen or made, the cabbage was sliced in huge pieces with virtually noting else added and definitely not a coleslaw Mayonnaise - there had been something put on it which had an oil base but could not detect a flavour and for what we paid it was a huge disappointment. Breakfast the next morning was a lot better.
Yes the rooms were a little tired but that is the worst you could say, they were very clean and very, very comfortable beds, the shower was good and all in all for the price I can't complain about the room. On the whole the grounds were quite nice with a well maintained swimming pool and tennis court.
Though other reviewers have said the staff were surly etc I did not find this so, they were pleasant and helpful.
You are only about 10 minutes from the centre of Canberra and all in all quite a nice stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the property so had no one walking past.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel under Rydges and now Ibis management and have been impressed always with the staff courtesy, satisfying breakfast and the natural beauty surrounding and within the grounds of the Eagle Hawk Resort.

Room Tip: Ensure you find out clearly where your room is located as numbers are difficult to see from your car...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is being advertised as 4 star property, but in real it's just a low budget motor inn with an old TV, poor furniture and weared out towels. Walls are very thin, so prepare to get up at 6am along with your neighbours. The only positive thing was kangaroos and rabbits feeding at the property grounds very close to public.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank double_yuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Room was clean and comfy, but had a funny smell due to wet carpet from bathroom.
Wall was a bit thin, I was able to hear neighbor in both rooms next door.
Plenty of Kangaroos about, even a rabbit.
As per other on this website suggested I brought Aeroguard and citronella candles, which we didn't end up needing. But the candle did help with the smell of the room.
Pool was nice but a little far to walk, also could use some shade.
Food was average, a little slow to serve. But staff made up for it with their friendliness.
Pizza bar was close and so was the bar, which was a bit disappointing.
In all, its not a bad place to stay for a budget overnight trip.

Room Tip: If go in summer ask for a room closer to the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
9.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#53 of 57 in Canberra
429 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
1,757 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,623 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Canberra Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Address: 1222 Federal Highway Service Rd, Sutton, New South Wales 2620, Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range: $80 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk is set amongst 30 acres of natural landscaped native gardens. This truly unique property offers an inviting alternative to the Canberra CBD hotels. ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk now offers visitors to the ACT the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Eagle Hawk Hotel Sutton
Rydges Eagle Hawk Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing