We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing- 4 stars accomodation rating is a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing- 4 stars accomodation rating is a joke!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Not what we expected from 4 stars!
On arrival we noticed a shoddy looking Ibis Banner hung over the old Rydges sign an impression of stingyness, too much to outlay for a new sign??? Despite the park not being busy we couldn't get a room with a car park close by.
Our room had an overpowering unpleasant deodoriser, stains on carpet. There were dead bugs throughout the room & live ones as well (silverfish, beetles, flies & moths). The bathroom had a nasty lingering septic odour and it was clear the shower had not been cleaned- dead flies & black grime on the shower floor. The towels were poor quality (thin & old)
The sheets were wrinkly.
Only concession is that the bed was comfortable.
The outdated television with it's poor picture quality was a real let down. Wifi was a joke too access & price.
We stayed at the same hotel when it was run by Rydges, it was far superior to this! Very sad to see what was a great hotel, fall so low in basic hotel standards. Very disappointed !!! Does not deserve a 4 Star rating. We won't ever be back EVER.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EndlessHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    143
    123
    53
    38
See reviews for
181
107
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the family room.
For the price we paid we could not have expected anything better it was great value for money the free buffet breakfast was excellent.
Aircon unit in both rooms was great.
Even though it's in NSW it was so close and convenient to everything in canberra.
Kangaroos and rabbits around was really nice for the kids to see.
Pool was great we got a lot of use out of it (heated would be nice but that's just me being a sook)

A big downfall is the bugs at night every time you walk in your room they come in too (fly spray in each room would be great)
The gym and spa was a bit of a downfall.
The playground needs an upgrade my 2yr old could not use it.
The bar could open earlier especially on weekends.
Room service would be wonderful also.

We would definitely stay again for the price we paid :-)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leeann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Its dated, its about 15 minutes out of Canberra CBD, but for the price great value, room was clean, comfy beds, cant adjust room temperature which I didn't like, but was cool enough on really hot days, good pool, had dinner and breakfast there in the onsite café which was adequate and prices reasonable, I was a bit worried after reading reviews on here but didn't have any issues at all, staff were good. Great as a place to rest your head, don't expect a resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was a cheap offer for 3 nights . The first room was insect infested , and it took a few viewings to find one that didn't have dead insects on the floors or an overhang of vomit in the air . the beds were comfortable and the night staff were very nice and helpful schlepping my luggage from room to room . Definitely not 4 star or anything near it .The kangaroos and rabbits at night do add a charm to the place. No internet access out here though .

Room Tip: Check it out first . The cleaning isn't up to much , lots of dead insects on the carpets .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincentreardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

In Dec. I booked this hotel from Toronto, Canada, for 23 days but soon realized it was not near the beach and I was very disappointed. I spoke with Peter Morey, front office Manager, who was very understanding. He spoke to his boss the general manager Jason Buckton, who was most gracious to refund me, and let me pay only for the days I wanted to stay there. The hotel is lovely, located on expansive property in a rustic setting, where you can easily see, rabbits, kangaroos, etc, scurrying away at your approach. Breakfast was provided by a friendly helpful staff, and I found Amy, (who works at the front desk), Emma and others extremely helpful. Even Adrian, the head of repair, etc. offered to drive me into town to see the city, ( there's no public transport; you must take a taxi or have/rent a car), on his way home. One gentleman, (I forgot his name, but I gave him a Canadian key chain which I carry as gifts for people who impress me on my vacation), of the staff even voluntarily brought me a jug of water and a glass as I was relaxing one day in the shade, just outside the restaurant. I am really impressed with the politeness, cordiality and civility of these people. They are simply great!
if I needed just rest and relaxation, I would return to Ibis Styles in a heartbeat. A great place for your family, especially if you have your own transport. there's also a lovely swimming pool.
The only negative is that the room where I stayed, the carpet was soiled in a few places, so I always walked with my slippers. The air con worked fine.
My sincerest and warmest thanks to management and staff of Ibis Styles.
Peterson

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
9.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 57 in Canberra
425 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,596 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
342 reviews
8.9 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Property: Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Address: 1222 Federal Highway Service Rd, Sutton, New South Wales 2620, Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk is set amongst 30 acres of natural landscaped native gardens. This truly unique property offers an inviting alternative to the Canberra CBD hotels. ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk now offers visitors to the ACT the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Eagle Hawk Hotel Sutton
Rydges Eagle Hawk Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing