We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFY STAY WITH AUSTRALIANA FEEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have enjoyed 2 stays, one in winter and another last month. Accomodation is so roomy and deliciously warm. Very comfy beds. Rooms open onto natural surrounds and on both occasions we had kangeroos on the surrounding lawns. The staff are helpful with driving directions and a yummy breakfast was available in the dining room. This property was previously a 'Rydges'.

We wished that the fridge was a little bigger as we shopped at the fabulous Saturday Produce markets (southern end of Canberra's Exhibition park) and enjoyed a 'carpet picnic' with wonderful food.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of each block will have no neighbour noise, all rooms have level access and this ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karabahplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi.

Thank you for your positive comments. It is always great to hear when our guests enjoy our hotel.

The Farmers Markets are an absolute gem of an event every weekend. Next time you are here and buy up a load, ask the team to store it for you. I'm sure they will be happy to help.

See you again soon.

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 435 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rating would have been excellent except for the very high internet charges and pretty poor wifi reception in many parts of the hotel. Why don't australian hospitality venues realise how much blatant internet rip-offs piss-off travellers?
The rooms were quiet, roomy, clean and comfortable and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. Special mention for Emma.
I loved the wildlife ( Grey Kangaroos, king parrots and blue wrens everywhere) and the display from the Wattles in early September was breathtaking.
Overall...no complaints except for the internet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for the review. We are working on the internet charges with our external supplier and will hopefully have a new solution shortly.

I will pass on your thanks to Emma. She has been a great addition to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Very convenient to Canberra without being in the city centre. Was told at checkin that the room included complimentary continental breakfast, which was good enough we thought, but could upgrade for $15 the next day to full buffet if we wanted, or prepay for $10. We thought that was a bargain, only to realise after paying that it was $10 for both of us. $5 each for great buffet breakfast, couldn't beat that anywhere. Bed was the most plush I've ever slept in, had a great sleep both nights. Super friendly staff, would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Prepay for full buffet breakfast at checkin - worked out only $5 each per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junior-Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for acknowledging my staff. They are a great bunch of people all working to make your stay a great experience.

Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Thanks Again,

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a very short stay, so I haven't had the chance to explore the hotel and use all facilities; the staff who received us was very friendly the room as big and clean. You are only slightly outside Canberra if you are driving it is quite accessible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank GibaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for the review. I am glad you my team made you feel welcome and comfortable.

Kind Regards

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank graston
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 2 days in Canberra and stayed one night in this hotel which is approximately 15min. away from CBD Canberra. It is a sprawling property more like a motel-resort that is set in the middle of a tranquil bushland. The rooms are quite spacious, furnished with comfortable beds and all the amenities required for a hotel of this standard. There's a pool to help cool you down during the hot summer months with adjoining playground, garden and plenty of open space for little kids to run around. Breakfast is of good quality and cleanliness all over the property is well observed. There's also enough parking for their guests. All in all, we were satisfied!

Room Tip: As the rows of single story rooms (which are attached to each other) are spread out within this spra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDP-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. And thank you for all the photos!

Great to see when our guests take the time to enjoy all the hotel has to offer.

Hope to see you back soon.

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Even though we thought we work booking a Canberra Hotel (a mystery hotel) it was actually in NSW, but a great setting with bushland, kangaroos, birds etc.
Room was clean, air con worked and was quiet, continential breakfast was included and a great selection. We had a lovely few days there.
It is a fair way out from Canberra but at least you can relax and it is not noisy. We found our way into Dickson - like a mini Chinatown and great place to eat, only a few kms away.
It has a hotel within walking distance and a United petrol which was cheaper than in Canberra itself.
Would we go back there - Yes but would be good if internet was free or much cheaper.

Room Tip: If going in winter best ask for a room close to the reception area otherwise a long cold walk to bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 590Kate590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi Kate,

Thanks for the review! We are working on the internet issues with our external suppliers and should have something together very soon.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Thanks again,

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 58 in Canberra
437 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
5.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 58 in Canberra
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#25 of 58 in Canberra
1,798 reviews
4.7 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
8.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Address: 1222 Federal Highway Service Rd, Sutton, New South Wales 2620, Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range: $76 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk is set amongst 30 acres of natural landscaped native gardens. This truly unique property offers an inviting alternative to the Canberra CBD hotels. ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk now offers visitors to the ACT the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Eagle Hawk Hotel Sutton
Rydges Eagle Hawk Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing