We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
Nearby Hotels
$64
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$286
$264
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$148
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$133
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ras Kutani(Kutani)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Nyangumi(Dar es Salaam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Sunrise Beach Resort(Dar es Salaam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
160
48
10
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
48
10
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe cottagesrecommended placeexcellent weekenddar es salaamindian oceanhigh tidelovely pool areabath and showerperfect getawayperfect beachprivate beachbeach holidaythoroughly enjoyed our staybeautiful roomlonger staythe hotel manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 230 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We were in Amani 2 weeks ago and only a word can describe our emotions: FANTASTIC.
The wonderful rooms immersed in the green of forest, the amazing sea and its colours, the pool and the restaurant... so good!!!!
And the weather is marvellous!!!!
Absolutely well-advised for everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Amani beach hotel is that perfect combination of sun, sea, sand and serenity that you always dream of experiencing. All you have to do is relax, receive impeccable service, eat the most delicious food from the hotel's own farm, and enjoy the spectacular beach & warm turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean.

We had a truly magical time; ALL thanks to the new Managers: the lovely Daniella and Paulo, for their tireless efforts in maintaining a special ambiance that is, Amani Beach Hotel.
We originally booked for 3 nights but stayed 5 and so wished it could have been longer..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia_muia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I had the pleasure of spending a day at the Amani Beach Hotel with a friend of mine, who had recently just spent the weekend at the resort with his fiancee and recommended that we spend a day there relaxing. We were greeted by Paulo and Dia and although both were busy preparing for a large wedding group soon to be arriving, Paulo took the time to stop and visit with us and make us comfortable.

The resort is a piece of heaven tucked away and I only wish that I didn't live so far away (Canada) and could make the resort a favorite destination. The value of the resort per person is unbelievable at $135 US (room and all meals) or $40 for a day rate.

The long walk along the beach was beautiful, the pool was great and the food was amazing.

Paulo and Dia - Thank you for an amazing day and making my short stay in Tanzania memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaibai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We were also guests at the wedding - Amani is stunning, the website does not do it justice. The rooms are like houses and the beds were soooo comfortable. The views from the rooms exquisite and with only a few rooms available it is incredibly private. The staff were very helpful and friendly - Paulo and Dia were good hosts considering they had only just taken over - though they would benefit from enabling a cash bar for any day guests if there is a wedding or large function in future - I appreciate that they are trying to discourage normal day guests but it's something to look at. We would definitely recommend this to anyone planning a wedding in TZ as a perfect location, the sunset view from the cliff was breathtaking.
Overall the service is excellent - though bank transfers can be tricky - take cash to save any complications, food was outstanding and we would love to return again........

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I would like to second 'ancient mariner's' review of this hotel.I was a guest at his daughter's wedding there and stayed one of the fanastic rooms-which are more like houses.They are huge! In fact they are self contained cottages really.
Paulo and Dia's hospitality was second to none and the rest of the staff where there to ensure every need was fulfilled. They were friendly and charming at all times.
The location is unique, the food excellent and my partner especially enjoyed the private hammocks!
We have travelled quite a bit and have stayed in 5 star hotels that do not even come close to the quality of this place. I really do not have any complaints.
We will be recommending to all our friends in the UK and will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissiemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews