We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived in Dar es Salaam in the afternoon and it took forever to get to the hotel via the ferry. Call the hotel in advance and let them arrange a taxi driver who knows the best way to get there (85 dollar) and to make sure they have your reservation.

The hotel is beautifully situated with a well kept garden with monkeys. We even met a turtle. The bungalows are large and there was plenty of space for two extra beds for the children. The bathroom was very nice and large and the rooms cleaned thoroughly every day. Both the pool and the sea were very nice for a swim and the food was good, even if not exceptional. We were lucky enough to see the turtles hatch at a beach close by. The service was mostly very good. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank habarizasafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach, thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays & for taking time to share your experience with the travel community. I am glad that you had a great time, we look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels-Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    44
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
79
73
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend stay at Amani beach. Stunning location, excellent facilities, charming views, attentive staff and management that go out of their way to make your stay unique. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niels K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Niels K

Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and the STAFF looked after you well. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Protea Amani is the best hotel in South Beach. Its not very far from Dar es Salaam and is just a ferry ride away and a 40 minute drive post that. The roads are being done and they would becoming even better in a while and thus reduce this transit time further. A lot of visitors to Dar think of visiting Zanzibar to experience the white sandy beaches and tropical luxury. However I would suggest that most people should also look at the Protea Amani as an option. Its way closer, less cumbersome to get to and moderately priced as compared to Zanzibar.
The hotel is situated amidst lush tropical landscaping. Very peaceful and tranquil. Aptly named "Amani" which translates to peace in Swahili. The bird chatter and the monkeys scurrying across tree tops are the only noises. Of-course the calming noise of the waves adds to the relaxed environment.
The rooms are good. They are not the newest but they are for sure the best in South Beach. I would guarantee that as I have experienced most other properties. Good mosquito nets and decent air conditioning adds to the comfort. The food is served at the restaurant and is a set menu. It does change from day to day and the variations can be selected from the menu in terms of preparations. The breakfast was very fresh and both the lunch and dinner was excellent.
Jimmy is a great host. Always around and ready for a quick chat and some interesting information. he even helped us select the catch of the day. A superb Red Snapper. Quite an interesting experience. His management of the team and training shows and its a well run operation.
All in all, a great place. Negotiate a good deal and enjoy the Amani. A great beach, good food and excellent management. What else does one need?

Thank you Jimmy and team. God willing, we shall be back.

regards,
Shanker and Tushna

Room Tip: All the villas are good. Do check with the hotel prior to booking especially briefing them on the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddharth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear ShankerN

Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a detailed review. I completely agree with your observations about ZNZ vs Protea Hotel Amani Beach. For those who are not particular about being in ZNZ, our hotel does fulfill their needs of being in a nice, sandy and peaceful beach. We look forward to host you again, i will pass your comments on to Jimmy and TEAM. Needless to say, they will be delighted to hear that their efforts are not going unnoticed or unappreciated.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a memorable and super lovely long weekend at Protea Amani Beach. It was a special birthday and 11th anniversary treat and my 50th will long be remembered as one of the best romantic weekends away, we’ve ever had! I can’t believe we had this boutique resort almost to ourselves. Staff respected our privacy and catered to our every need with sensitivity, a warm smile and professional care. Jimmy does an excellent job of keeping guests feeling pampered and well informed. He’s an excellent host and manager – there is a wonderful synergy within his team and staff are clearly happy in their work, which shows. Meals were a treat and the food was super fresh with only the best of ingredients. We were so chuffed with our special dinner on the first night of BBQ seafood and lobster plate, washed down with a lovely bottle of South African white wine and then followed by a lovely cheese platter, and even a birthday cake!

Our bungalow was very comfortable and we slept long, uninterrupted nights with big fluffy feather pillows and proper support mattresses, softly billowing mosquito nets and quiet air-conditioning. The bathroom was lovely, so much space to shower and dress, and no shortage of hot water – we really enjoyed soaking in a warm bubble bath after spending the afternoons lounging by the lush horizon pool, set in stunning gardens with a family of monkeys playing in the tress nearby. We had a gorgeous sea view from the terrace of our bungalow and watched the moon rise over the sea in the evenings, with the smell of jasmine and other exotic flowers filling the air. The friendly resort cat came to visit us and so did a huge turtle, softly munching on the grass at our door step. We enjoyed long walks along the beach in the mornings when the tide was out, exploring the sea life found in the many rock pools. The afternoons were the best for some serious body surfing as the incoming tide formed giant rollers, pounding rhythmically against the white, white beach. All in all, a perfect, magical, exotic getaway that will long be remembered! Warning: we need to be very selective about this little gem on the south coast of Tanzania – too many people knowing about it will destroy the wonderful sense of ‘secret hideaway’ that makes it so special.

Room Tip: There are only about 10 bungalows in this boutique resort, so all are private and nicely spaced away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Travel_Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Aussie_Travel_Bunny

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for choosing our little slice of heaven for celebrating two of the very important occasions in your life and a very special thanks for writing a detailed review of your experience. Jimmy and TEAM take extra care of their GUESTS and they have truly transformed the place ever since we took it over. I will definitely pass your comments to them, they will surely appreciate the fact that their efforts don't go unnoticed or unappreciated.

We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Amani Beach is on the gorgeous, yet undeveloped coast of the Indian Ocean south of Dar es Salaam. The beach is amazing and goes on and on - it's incredible to be on such an extensive, white beach with virtually no people. A great convenience is that you can pay with credit card upon your departure - many resorts in this area don't have this convenience. From our cottage (#1) the sounds of the surf crashing on the shore lulled us to sleep each night. The cottages are VERY large and lovely with a refrigerator, two comfortable beds used to make and "emperor" sized bed. Each cottage has AC and it's own, private patio. The pool is reasonably large, the beach lovely and the food quite nice...but...it is imminent need of some maintenance. The shower in our room had a "rainfall" shower head, but the water pressure did not suffice...therefore, the water kind of flowed slowly through several of the holes. When I tried to use the handheld shower in the separate tub facility, I discovered that the hose was worn out - water squirted through the hose where it joined the faucet, spraying water all over the place. Another mild annoyance was that the feather pillows smelled of mildew. This is a common inconvenience when one lives in this humid part of the world; however, at these prices I would like to go away for the weekend to something fresh. Another mild annoyance was the number of beach lounges that were broken. I sat on one to have one of the legs fall off (it was just propped on the broken leg), and when I tried to move another lounge to replace it, I discovered that one to be broken, too. The next day I discovered two more broken lounge chairs. Finally, the staff were very pleasant, but clearly lacked sufficient training. They didn't seem to know what to say to guests at the breakfast buffet or how to welcome people into the restaurant. They were kind and very shy, but lacking confidence that comes with good training. The food was quite good (except for the calamari on the snack menu - greasy), and Saturday night their was a nice ngoma (drum/dance) performance during dinner. The location is beautiful and the lodge nice...but it needs to upkeep if it wants to avoid becoming distinctly "tarnished".

Room Tip: Room #1 is furthest from others and pool and closest to the ocean. However, the shower wasn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desertfogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear desertfogz

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience. I am glad that you had a fun filled stay with us minus the few issues you rightly pointed out. A full on refurbishment of the bathrooms is scheduled to start on the second week of May where the all the fittings, fixtures and equipments in bathrooms will be replaced. I have duly noted your comment about the pillows. Micro fibre pillows have been ordered and we expect to have these on site by next week. We will also repair and replace all the lounge beds immediately. The recent rainy season caused quite a bit of damage to exposed wooden furnitures. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We have slated the next STAFF training for mid May and your feedback will be taken into account & will address the areas of concern. We expect to have a few new department heads joining us soon who will also help in improving the overall service. We hope to provide a 100% satisfactory stay on your next visit.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group general Manager
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice place to stay south of Dar. The rooms at Amani are individual cottages rather than rooms in a central building. Each cottage has a huge (really) main room, a large bathroom and a verandah. The rooms all face the sea and sit atop a low cliff so you look out at the sea when you wake up. There is a way down to the white, sandy beach, and a pool area - beachside - which is nice. The food is good - buffet style - in the main reception building. Everything I had was good. The staff are a bit of a mixed bag, although all of them friendly and well-intetioned. I asked for a coffee at 10:30am and was told "Not at this time" by a poolside waitress! Really liked Amani and the the manager, Jimmy, works hard to keep guests happy - very pro-active manager.

Room Tip: Sea front cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Willis68

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you or staying with us and taking time to share your experience with the travel community. I am extremely sorry to hear that the STAFF said no to your coffee request, not something we are known for. I will definitely look into this and convey to the STAFF. We opted for buffet on the days you stayed with us because we had a full house, otherwise ala carte is on offer.

Jimmy is a great guy & an efficient manager, I will pass your compliments to him. We look forward to welcome you back again.


Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This lovely and peaceful lodge is the perfect place to relax and recharge. The rooms are huge, the views unparalleled and the food delicious and plentiful. I especially liked the poolside restaurant so that you could stay near the ocean all day. And don't miss a walk on the beach at low tide. I saw amazing water creatures that I had never seen before!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank India H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear India H

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. I am really glad that you had a great, memorable time with us. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels -Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
18.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
19.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es S...
#15 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
26.4 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.1 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#20 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#17 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
Address: Kigamboni, Temeke, Kutani, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Amani Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani means “peace” in Kiswahili, and that’s exactly what you’ll find at Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Just 33km south of the bustling city of Dar es Salaam, down a sandy road to the ocean, hides our small African paradise and a total escape from the outside world. Set amongst 80 acres of beautiful tropical gardens, each of our 10 luxury beach bungalows overlooks the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. They combine the opulence of Zanzibar sultans with African craftsmanship and charm. Around the bungalows the grounds are alive with wildlife and, on the unspoiled white sands of our secluded beach turtles have chosen to make their home. We have two dining areas - one that serves breakfast and lunch, whilst our main restaurant provides a much more romantic and atmospheric setting for the evening meal. Our food draws its influences from the exotic flavours of East African cooking as well as from the simple fresh flavours of the Mediterranean. The open-sided makuti thatch beach bar provides the ideal outdoor seating area to enjoy the refreshing coastal breeze without the glare of the African sun. Whether you’re looking for total relaxation, a romantic holiday, adventure or simply to experience unspoilt nature, you’ll find it here and more. Welcome to an unforgettable experience, welcome to Amani Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amani Beach
Protea Hotel By Marriott Dar Es Salaam Amani Beach Kutani, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing