We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ras Kutani
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kutani
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Nyangumi(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Beach Resort(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Heritage Motel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
242
25
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
25
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolour honeymoonindian oceanminute flighthuge bedperfect place to relaxbeach bagthe cottagesbaolittle piece of paradisedeserted beachdar es salaamthe managerspost safarifresh water lagoonlocal fishermensun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 272 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights following a Safari and Gorilla trek in Uganda and what a perfect way to unwind.

Our room (No. 7) was beautiful – huge bed, hammocks, a view across the lagoon, beach and ocean.

Cocktails were great and the food was delicious – particularly enjoyed the BBQ prawns and also the lobster starters and we were even treated to a surprise birthday dinner on the beach!

All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and Kalimani taught us the game of Bao which you can purchase in the local curio shop. David the manager went out of his way on a daily basis to ensure all guests were happy!

Definitely recommend a visit to Alice in the massage room – Indian head and back, neck and shoulder massages were superb.

Really fantastic place to unwind – wholeheartedly recommend!

(Booked via XA! African Wildlife Safari’s – a fantastic and faultless African safari company).

Room Tip: Room 7 - stunning views over the lagoon, beach and ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear CandO83

Thank you for your marvellous review and thrilled you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us after your trekking!

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We started our honeymoon here in Ras Kutani and it was just wonderful!!
Very quiet place, very nice staff and really good food! We really enjoyed that the place was not crowded with people. Always room at the pool and on the beach, just great!
Our room was very nice and clean and if you wanted something, you just needed to ask. The manager David was very kind and helpful, as was the staff.
If we ever go back to Tanzania, this place will definitely be on our list again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesbeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Liesbeth D

Thank you for your lovely review - Ras Kutani makes a wonderful pre-safari destination as well as a place to relax after seeing Tanzain's wildlife. With its proximity to Dar es Salaam - its a slice of paradise when you get off the plane!

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time
Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights here at the end of a safari trip. It is a ten minute trip by small aircraft from Dar Es Salaam to their airstrip, or a much longer journey by road. It was idyllic: location superb, accommodation in thatched cottages in gardens overlooking the ocean, food and facilities exceptional. The staff are charming and nothing is too much trouble. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear SueBe68

Thank you for your review - for future guests the trip from Dar airport by road takes approx 90 mins, the tarmac along the road is still being laid but currrently we only have 9km of dirt road so the drive is getting easier and easier and the biggest benefit is to see a bit of real Tanzanian life - through a bustling market town full of colour and chaos, which is fascinating! The plane flight is 10 mins and we offer a daily scheduled charter at 11am and guests are also free to book their own charter.

Thank you Sue - and come back and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived after a few days of safari in Siwandy/Selous. If you´re looking for your "run of the mill" island resort with infinity pools, perfect gardens and the endlessly replicated "resort style", keep looking. This place offers the chance of staying in a place with 20-25 other guests, in houses where (at least from our house) you cannot see anything else than bush and beach. You´ll share the miles long beach with a few other guests, no competition for sunbeds, no getting up in the morning securing your place. The beach, set along the Swahili coast, competes with anything.
The small pool has 10 beds around it - always a few of them available. This place offers an authentic rustique style - rustique because its built that way, not because its worn down.
Charming staff, excellent food with the opportunity to experience the swahili kitchen.
For those in need of action, the kite surfing is excellent - waves included. You´ll have the beach to yourself, launch right outside the hotel.
The manager also arranged a visit to a local village and school nearby - a great experience, especially given we had kids with us. Make sure to bring basic school supplies such as school books, pencils etc - they need it.
Thanks David and Upendo and your staff for making this an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: If you´re a family - go for the Hill House. Amazing views - and you can not see any of the other houses from it. Feels like you´re on an island of your own...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gnargnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Gnargnar

Thank you so much for your utterly perfect review of Ras Kutani - its the perfect description of our blissful beach retreat - its an African safari camp at the beach with its intimate service and unique experiences!

Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Established 35km south of Dar es Salaam, Ras Kutani offers you a unique experience: long deserted beaches of white sand, turquoise sea and lagoon.
Beautiful rooms, private swimming pool with exceptional views of the ocean.

The best places in the world to relax, love, share and why not live there?

With a little luck, monkeys will invite around your room, and sometimes, you can witness the birth of baby turtles on the beach.

Nice and my favorite place in Tanzania !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargauxLecrenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear MargauxLecreney

Sounds like you had a magical time with us at Ras Kutani - its a blissful retreat away from Dar's urban life and really get back to nature, with a large side of luxury!!

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews