We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Slice of Heaven on the Indian Ocean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven on the Indian Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We flew from Ruaha after spending a week treking the wilds of the bush. Loved the jeep and little boat approach rather than driving up through the gate. Our banda, no. 8 was just perfect - a view of both lagoon and ocean, very shady as we had been walking out in the sun for days and craving some cool shade.....beautiful decor and lovely touches.

Main lounge area was delightful - comfy, great view and good conversations with staff; most of the other guests kept to themselves.

Beach was gorgeous; very clean and the color of the sea was incredible against the white sand
and nice shade was provided for those of us who don't want to stay in the sun all day. I'd always wanted to float in the Indian Ocean to add it to my list of beautiful seas I had visited and it was as nice as I had hoped. A few whales could be seen in the far distance!

The star of the show other than the view was the food....incredibly fresh seafood with spices true to the area. We were quite impressed. The staff was very friendly and when there were a few small issues, David, the manager took care of them rightaway.

The walk throught the jungle was a delightful way to walk off a few calories from the fabulous meals. There were kayaks, body boards, snorkeling; enough for a few days...or just chill.

A surprise dinner on the beach was very special, albeit a bit chilly with a breeze, so wraps were given me and with the lanterns scattered about, it was very memorable.

We would return before and after the next safari! Staff, food, location - Ras Katuni has it all.

Room Tip: Loved the lagoon/sea view as we like shade/breezes and the monkeys in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Gracieva

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ras Kutani and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - please do come back and see us again!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    22
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
175
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

In the middle of nowhere, you feel like Robinson Crusoe! The setting is exceptional, we arrived there by small plane then a Jeep is awaiting then after a short ride we took the boat to arrive in this little paradise. Staff is very kind and very helpful.
This being said, if you don't like the sound of the sea and strong waves this might not be your place...
And one question to the management, why is dinner starting at 8pm? For us it was too late especially as it is already dark at 6 and when there is nothing to do.

Room Tip: Rooms are stunning but some are very close to the sea so if you are ok with the sound all night it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear jeanadam

Thank you for your review and the lovely mention of our staff! Our coastline is the Indian Ocean and having the waves lapping on the beach is a wonderful soundscape throughout our guests' stays.

The sun sets at approximately 6.30pm and the majority of our guests enjoy the evening with our bar snacks, a few drinks and perhaps some games and therefore 8pm is our usual dinner time. However we can accommodate earlier times - we always suggest to all guests that if there is something during your stay you would like to change, please speak to the management at the time and we will do our utmost to accommodate any requests - our managers are there to help and are always on location so guests can talk to them and ensure their stays are the best possible

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Have to admit this is somehow wild and beautifull just an amazing place to be in. The rooms the beautifull the atmosphere is calm and sweet you can say a perfect place for honeymoon. This is a must see place. Atleast once you should come here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SajidK552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear SajidK552

Thank you so much for your sweet review - within our virgin coastal forest we offer pure tranquility and a blissfully quiet and calm stay

Please come back and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ras Kutani is a jewel in Dar es Salaam. It is absolutely a must visit for anyone living in dar or passing through. My partner and I loved every minute of it. from the moment we arrived at the reception, we were greeted like a king and queen who have been away from this royal palace. every minute spent there, we were made to feel special as if we were the only ones there. i have never received such good service anywhere in Tanzania. ever. it is calm, serene, beautiful, amazing! the food is delicious. yummy, yummy, yummy.. the only problem is the risk of just being overfed...it is a place we will visit. again, again, and again. THANK YOU TEAM RAS KUTANI for making our anniversary sooooo special.. made beautiful memories. and the hatching of turtles. breathtakingly beautiful.

Room Tip: the room on the beach front/garden view are closer to the path to the beach. the ones on the lagoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plwaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear plwaka

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us at Ras Kutani!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in August 2013 after 3 days on safari at Siwandu. Our time there far exceeded our expectations mainly due to the quality of the service, food and accomodation. We were made to feel very special and everyone was very attentive and provided us with whatever we needed. My only negative comments would be that it is marketed as an - idyllic beach getaway located on the tranquil Indian Ocean peace and tranquility is assured with long stretches of pristine beach and warm blue seas which offer romantic hide-aways and total relaxation - however we found due to the time of year that the ocean was nothing like tranquil, but very turbulent with crashing waves! Also even though we did have a very relaxing and tranquil time I do believe the day after we left a group of families arrived which totally transformed the atmosphere. In order to accomodate the families they added beds to the purpose built 2 people cottages. Had this happened whilst we were there my review would have been very different. Just to add these negatives are in no way a reflection on the manager David or the staff but on the company policy in place and the marketing department.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandVcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear JandVCheshire

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ras Kutani and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay especially the service and care of our wonderful new manager - David.

In response to your marketing and reservations questions - in our marketing materials we do suggest that as we are not surrounded by a coral reef and therefore are open to the real Indian Ocean and depending on the tides and the wind we can get some lovely big waves - some of our guests take advantage of these and boogie board and surf as well as residents bringing their own kite surfing equipment. Other days, the sea is calm and peaceful and simply laps on the shore. We are sorry that you feel that the picture we painted was different from this.

We do offer triples as some parents wish their children to sleep close to them, which is understandable - only children under 18 can sleep in the third bed. Also we have a limit of the number of triples we offer per night to ensure the ambiance remains the same throughout all our guests' stays. So I am sure if you did stay longer you would find your stay would have been just as good!

Come and see us again soon
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

30 min driving from the ferry, it is the place to stay for a day- a week- a month - a life.
This is the best service you will have in all tanzania, people are helpful, trained, and nice.

the rooms are amazing, go for the suite, on the top of the hill, with the nicest view on indian ocean and monkeys having fun around your room.

this is a pearl in tanzania, it is perfect, from the reservation to the end , food, beverage, accommodation, people, neighborhood, beach

If you are lucky go in June, and they are some baby turtles hashing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AurelienFR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear AurelienFR89

Thank you so much for your review of Ras Kutani - we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

The views from the suites are to die for - neverending horizon of Indian Ocean and only the noise of the chattering monkeys in the coastal forest to keep you company!

Come back and see the "pearl of Tanzania" again
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Truly a place that will ensure you relax from the first minute you until you leave! The location, views, food, service, suite, staff are all excellent. The service being attentive and available when needed, not overbearing but always warm. Highly recommended, spoil yourself! Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IgRetief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Igr2

Thank you so much for your review - we were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to hosting you again soon

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
23.9 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.7 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#19 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es ...
#36 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Property: Ras Kutani
Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing