We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited this Hotel on 30th June and 7th July for Sunday lunch, which was extremely well presented and superbly cooked. The surroundings were clean and tidy, with a choice of eating in the restaurant or the conservatory. A main course only was £10.50, two courses were £14.50, the overall value was very good and such good helpings it was a struggle to manage a sweet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
As I have said in previous reviews, Sunday lunch is something I feel we do very well and thank you for mentioning it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    107
    31
    11
    3
See reviews for
81
177
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable and the staff welcoming. We stayed for one night en route home after our holiday. The food at dinner was delicious, but the experience was spoilt by the staff being over attentive. There were only three tables in use in the dining room and we did feel very rushed which was such a shame. We would have appreciated more time between courses and generally more time to enjoy the lovely food. Maybe it would have been better if we had eaten in the Brasserie which was much busier. Otherwise an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdragon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, which we will take note from. Over attentive is obviously better than being ignored, we have a checklist in the kitchen which tells us who and when a member of the waiting team has checked on a customer, so, in a perfect world, this should not happen. Thank you for your other, positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

we booked a standard double room 4 10 nig hts when checking in we were told we had been up graded free because we were staying longer than a couple of days t he room was huge the bed kingsize and v comfortable lovely views food was good 2choices of menu alacarte and bar menu
bar menu was better 2 choices to sit to eat restaurant or bar restaurant most people ate in there
breakfast was brilliant cooked fresh to order makes a change not a lot of places do this anymore
lovely gardens good decoration throughout when we left charlotte and amy we think the waitresses came out to say good bye and reception best holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Personally, I hate buffet breakfasts. Lots of warm, toughening food for everyone to breathe over, so, I am glad you appreciated our individually cooked breakfasts. It is harder work, but in our opinion, and yours, so much better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves,Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have had the pleasure of knowing the hotel over 20 years and the owners policy of continual progression has been something I have admired.On my most recent visit - the first in two years -there have been further and major improvements.My room was tastefully and appointed in a modern style - very classy!Chatting with other guests over a superb breakfast,it was clear that they had enjoyed similar experiences.The hotel has always,quite rightly,prided itself on the quality of it's food,but the addition of a recently completed brasserie has,in my view, taken the dining onto a different level.Keeping the character of the old bar and opening it into a bright,airy new space with an exciting and varied menu,makes it memorable.Well done!One thing never changes,the genuine,smiley,can do attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClivePortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks to the writer of this review - as stated - in the modern difficult times, there is no place to stand still. We have further plans for next year, hopefully we can persuade the bank to allow us to do it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel was well situated for exploring all parts of Pembrokeshire and is easily accessible. We had one of the better rooms, lots of space and massive bathroom with huge bath and separate shower. Very comfortable bed. Food was good, varied menu and well presented. Quite large portions too! The staff were helpful - all in all a great short break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a better view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - hopefully you will return! Look out for our reduced prices in the shoulder months and the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch . What a great experience ! Excellent food and service. I don't think there is anywhere better in Pembrokeshire.We can certainly recommend this establishment as a place of high quality and value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It may sound a little arrogant, but I think we do the best Sunday lunch in the county. Thank you for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were here for work for a couple of nights. What a treat. Beds were so comfy as was the the bathroom with lovely toiletries. Breakfast was delicious; I had the smoked haddock and poached egg which was perfect. Evening meal brought many wows, delicious local produce. All in all this was a wonderful place to stay for us to work in st David's.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Racheychappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
This is the sort of review we try to achieve with every guest. I am so glad you had such a great day - thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
4.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
12.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
19.8 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing