We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunchtime visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

we regularly call into the Wolfscactle Country Hotel for a lunchtime meal.Each time we visit the Wolfscastle Country Hotel, we always have a warm welcome with the staff in the reception area and also with the staff in the restaurant. Food is consistently excellent, is always extremely tasteful and would definately recommend the duck confi.If in the area ensure that you call in there for a memorable reception from the staff and for exceedingly excellent food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We try very hard to be consistantly good and choose dishes that are both interesting and suitable for most tastes. Thank you for commenting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Wolfscastle Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 440 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Wolfscastle hotel whilst I was away in business. The hotel looks quaint from outside but what you don't see from its images is the busy road adjacent from the hotel.

The room was old fashioned with creaking floors and the electricity tripped off in several rooms, this happened to me whilst i was taking a shower, could have been very dangerous as there was no natural light to guide me out.

I checked out approximately 7:15 as I needed to attended a meeting and there was no one on reception!!! I had to call back later to settle my bill.. Weird if you ask me!! I think it must have been the general manager who took the call, sounded a little defensive on the phone as aposed to organising his staffing resource properly. Beautiful location but I would certainly not stay here again!!

Stayed: October 2011
1  Thank WalesCityBreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

This gentleman stayed a year ago. Since then we have completely refurbished the rooms, screwed down any squeaky floorboards and recarpeted all the general areas and whilst we have never had a major problem with electricity, the whole hotel has been rewired. Obviously no one being on reception at 7:15 is most unusual as our staff start work at 6:45am, this must have been a one off, but we take card numbers upon booking for a guarantee, so phoning back was not necessary! Also, the road is quite close to the hotel, but it has never been mentioned before as, in this part of the world, traffic is rare. After a year, the manager and myself have no recollection of this occasion, but sincerely hope the writer returns and sees the improvements when he will be given teh service that most of our customers experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Andrew and Mandy from Wolfcastle Hotel provided outside catering service for our marquee wedding on the 1st of September 2012. They arranged all the staff, hiring of kitchen equipment and setting up the marquee for us which was a god send. The quality of the food and service was absolutely faultless, our guests commented on the generous portion sizes and fabulous food for both the breakfast and reception meals. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. We would highly recommend the outside catering services of Wolfcastle Hotel to any other couples planning a wedding or any other occasion as we could not have asked for anymore. Thank you to Andy, Mandy and all staff members who made our day so special. Rachel and Rob Saunders.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and your guests and wish you the very best for your future together. We enjoy outside catering when we feel it does not jeopardize functions we have on in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had our wedding reception in Wolfscastle in August 2012 and are so happy we chose this as our venue. The whole day went perfectly from the Welsh Tea Reception on arrival, the beef wellington Wedding Breakfast, through to the evening BBQ.
The food was incredible, everyone commented on the high quality. As well as generous portions, it was all cooked perfectly.
All of the rooms were large, clean, modern and stylish.
The staff were all very professional and attentive throughout. Any small problems were resolved straight away and the management ensured everything went as smoothly as possible.
We'd like to thank everyone at Wolfscastle for helping to make our wedding day perfect!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaBannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

It is so pleasing to receive such a positive review. We strive to ensure that everything goes perfectly as it is the greatest day of the bride & grooms life and you only get one chance to get it right.
We wish miranda & Marcus a long & happy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

As a hotel, an excellent choice ! Didn't venture out as were just passing through, but didn't need to, room and restaurant were excellent. When we booked they explained a wedding was on and we were put in a room far away from the festivities...a great touch. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, we do quite a few weddings in the summer and it is important that other guests are not disturbed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Wolfscastle country hotel for two nights. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the rooms were clean and very comfortable!
However the best thing about staying in the hotel was the Fantastic food!! We ate in the restaurant both nights....and choosing what to have to eat was very difficult as everything sounded and looked amazing!
We will definitely be returning, thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmalane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We now have 6 chefs, a slight overkill for a small hotel, but they are all so passionate that I don't want any of them to go, so, hopefully, our food will go from strength to strength.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Hotel aims at excellence and meets this expectation in amost every respect. The rooms are well appointed and very clean, our only critisism was that the ensuite ventialtion fan continued long after you turned off the light and the noise was a little intrusive when trying to get to sleep.

Six of us had a meal in the restaurant for a golden Wedding celebration. Flowers had been delivered during the day and these were placed by staff on the table as a suprise - very thoughtful. One of our party was ten years old and a children's menu had a wide range of suitable home made food - no frozen nuggets or sausages here! All of our meals were served fresh and hot and the food was of the highest quality - the price for six of us with drinks and coffee and one course weadch was approximately £100.

Whilst the staff were focused on good service we felt that some of them required a little more training as there was a distinct air of disorganisation at times - especially in the bar area. For instance, we believe that two of our meals were incorrect, having asked for Duck Confit but recieving a chinese duck dish with rice- which was still delicious. It may have been that one or two of them were new.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Staff training is constantly on-going, we tend to employ young prople who have temperate natures and an easy smile and then train them to do the job. Very possibly we did have a trainee as, during the summer, we employ more youngsters, but your comments have been noted and thank you for telling us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
9.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
505 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,203 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
12.4 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
212 reviews
12.9 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel

Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing