We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burg Eltz castle tucked away in the Moselle river valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burg Eltz

Burg Eltz
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.83*
and up
Eltz Castle Tour from Frankfurt with Rhine River Dinner
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Wierschem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Burg Eltz castle tucked away in the Moselle river valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great castle to start a day long trip with my boys of visiting three castles along the Moselle river in the Moselle river valley. Very easy to get to also. Spectacular views as one of the mroe sceinic history castles in all of germany. Very well kept up and excellent treasure rooma nd display of wonderful history peices in the last 1000 years or so.

Excellent for kids. My two teenagers of 19 and 17 loved this castle. You cannot take pictures iside the castle as it is a guided tour. They have both English and German speaking tour guides which start every 10 to 15 minutes in the courtyard.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltyme2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    264
    43
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What you would expect a castle to look like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Its unbelievably well preserved and amazing that it survived all these years. Maybe it is because it lies in a valley rather than on top of a mountain like most castles? The walk to the castle is very steep but a shuttle bus is available for 2 Euros each way. I personally enjoyed walking up and down to experience what the "earlier occupants" had to deal with daily.

The view of the castle and surrounding area as you walk down is as if out of a fairly tale. The entrance with guided tour is 9 Euros per person. English tours are every 30 minutes or by request during non peak times.

The tour takes about 45 minutes and walks you through some of the main living parts of the castle with lots of artifacts on display. There is a treasury that you can visit on your own with very impressive displays of art, jewels, guns, weapons, armor, etc...

There are two restaurants on site. We went to the self service one and prices were reasonable and our good was pretty good. Certain glasses / cups are charged a deposit .Make sure you get it back when you return your dishes.

The only drawbacks are that you can't take photos during the tour and you can't go explore the castle on your own. My guess is that the tour covered a quarter of the castle only.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisnva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The tours in english were very informative, you could understand the tour guide very clearly and when you buy tickets, the person there speaks very good english. We loved the experience. Thankfully they offer a shuttle back up to the top. The walk down is completely down hill. Make sure you wear good shoes! Breath taking experience.. Would recommend to everyone visiting Germany!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkola001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Top 3 best castle in Europe, needs a few tweaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went to the castle because Rick Steves said it is his favorite in Germany. We were NOT disappointed. First off, a few things to keep in mind. We were there at a time they were doing a lot of work on the castle. So half of it was obscured by scaffolding. This was about a year ago so they might be done now. Also, if you have trouble walking down or up hills, there is a shuttle to the entrance. The walk is doable and is very pleasant but keep in mind it is a HUGE hill. There are 2 cafes on the grounds were you can grab a quick bite and the food is quite good. Dont forget to visit the treasury which is underground. With most castles, there are little nooks and corners that you have to look for in order to get good views. A few things to complain about. First off, the no camera rule is ridiculous. If you dont want me to use a flash, thats fine, I won't. I have a low light camera and Im sorry but my camera does no damage to the artifacts when I dont use a flash. Can we get over the no camera rule? I want to take pictures cause the stuff inside is so cool. Thats a compliment. Also, when we were in the parking lot, there was a wine stand. They were passing out wine and beer for people coming in. I asked the man a question, he looked at me like I was an alien. I asked him if he spoke English. He said NO very rudely and then said in Deutschland we speak Deutsch. But he said it in German of course. Then he walked away from me. I thought, well if you want my tourist dollars, you better learn. What a great way to make tourists uncomfortable. The guy is working at a tourist locating and then gets mad that they dont speak the language?? Seems odd. This is very out of the way as well. Expect a lot of travel time to get there. But the trip there is worth it for sure!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great castle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This castle is highly recommended by Rick Steves and it lived up to our expectations! We got beautiful weather as well. The whole castle when it emerges out of nowhere looks awesome! The tour is ok, but if you are there do take the tour. The 1 km walk from parking lot (and there is ample parking!) to the castle is not difficult at all as it is a downhill walk. The way back up takes little bit of effort but totally doable. There are 2 cafes in the complex so you can plan to take the tour in the morning when it is less crowded, have lunch and then leave. A perfect day trip in the Rhine/Mosel region!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gogo_travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burg Eltz also viewed

Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Braubach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Burg Eltz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing