We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location with breathtaking views and luxurious accommodation.”
Review of The Old Dairy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Dairy B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Llandyfaelog B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location with breathtaking views and luxurious accommodation.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Sadly, we only spent one evening at The Old Dairy! The accomodation is first class we stayed in The Daisy. The welcome from Debbie was brilliant and we were very well looked after. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and the attention to detail was first class. The home-cooked and locally sourced food was of exceptional quality. I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreambeliever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments we do have to agree that we are lucky to live in such a beautiful location. We do think it is important to use local produce so are very pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
55
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having just spent 5 nights in Bluebell cottage at the Old Dairy B & B we have come home so relaxed and rested. The cottage is superbly appointed and the quality of the furnishings is absolutely 5*. Debbie and Ian have thought of everything even down to an umbrella in case you need it going across to breakfast. Fortunately we never needed it as we had glorious weather and were able to enjoy a part of the world we have only ever passed through on the way to somewhere else. Speaking of breakfasts they were delicious every day with Ian and Debbie tempting us with a wide choice and a special each day. Debbie was a font of local knowledge and we can thoroughly recommend The Old Dairy. Glen and Liz, Cheshire

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LizandGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
What a lovely review thank you both. You certainly had the best weather while you were here. Ian will be very happy you enjoyed his daily specials at breakfast as we are always trying to think of something new. We look forward to seeing you again.
Warm Regards
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I felt like members of the family, such was the warm hospitality of Debbie and Ian. Situated in the Welsh countryside, we were shown to a lovely room with first class facilities and amenities. Whilst the beds were so comfortable, the superb home cooked breakfasts provided a real incentive to get started each morning and to enjoy the day. The Red Lion hotel a few minutes away was a great spot for dinner to finish off the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you we are happy to hear you felt at home especially as you were so far from your own. What a pleasure to meet you we really enjoyed your company. Hope the rest of your trip went well. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Best Wishes to you both
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Bluebell last weekend. We had a fantastic time. The accomodation was superb, the breakfast delicious and Debbie and Ian couldn't have been more welcoming. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, spending time with your family and celebrating a special weekend. Even the weather was good for you all. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best Wishes
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husbands and I stayed in Buttercup (twin-bedded room) last weekend, after booking at short notice the evening before. This is the most excellent B&B: as previous reviewers have stated, the furnishings are 5*, the beds so comfortable (hotel beds are often far too hard for me) and the breakfast is superb - especially the home-made fruit compote, and the full-of-flavour bacon and sausage. Also much appreciated was the flask of fresh milk in our room, so preferable to those little pots of sterilised milk.
Debbie was able to direct us to all the local beauty spots and places of interest, but we were also ideally placed to go east or west, into the Gower peninsula and to Pembrokeshire. One reviewer mentions that the nearest pub is too far to walk, but not so! We left the car behind, and walked to The Red Lion - about a 25 minute walk along country lanes. Do have a torch on you (provided in the room) - we wore our high-visibility vests we keep in the car for extra safety on the way back, but met no traffic at all.
Thank you, Debbie and Ian, for a lovely relaxing stay. You are doing everything right! Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you we are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to this part of Wales and that we were a part of that. To hear we are doing everything right reaffirms the belief that our hard work is all worth while and we really appreciate that.
We do hope you come back to explore some more.
Kind Regards
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent 3 days at the Old Dairy. The experience was fantastic. The welcome from Ian and Debbie was brilliant and we were very well looked after. I was amazed at the standard of the accomodation for the price. It really is luxurious. The room facilities were spotlessly clean, very comfortable (the bed in particular was amazing) and packed with information giving things to do in the local area. We went to the fantastic local beach and visited a couple of the local castles as well. The home-cooked and locally sourced food was some of the best i've tasted. I didnt want to leave. Great for a weekend away from the city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The whole place is so quiet and comfortable you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time away for a few days. It was great you were even able to spend time on the beach with some lovely weather.
Thank you for a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here twice last September and October and thought I had already reviewed it, but when I realised I hadn't I could not let the opportunity pass. This really is a luxury B&B. The rooms are finished to the standard of a 5* luxury hotel. They are spacious and the beds are the most comfortable I have slept in in a hotel/B&B. But it is the hosts that make it. They could not be more helpful and welcoming. My daughter is lactose intolerant and on our arrival we found lactose free chocolates and also lactose free milk on out tea tray. The breakfast is ample with homemade fruit compote and everything you could possibly want.
The location is great, too but I have not had time to explore yet.
I will stay there every time I visit my daughter at university.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It's lovely to hear from you and we hope the Atlantic crossing was just amazing as it sounded. We look forward to seeing you again and hearing all about it.
Kind Regards
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandyfaelog
9.9 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
14.7 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
825 reviews
4.6 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
10.6 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy B&B

Property: The Old Dairy B&B
Address: Ystrad Fach Farm | Carmarthen, Llandyfaelog, Carmarthen SA17 5NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Llandyfaelog
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llandyfaelog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Dairy B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Dairy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing