We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well-loved”
Review of Manoir Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir Francis
Ranked #70 of 312 Pas-de-Calais B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming and well-loved”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A wonderful find some 3 or 4 miles outside Montreuil sur Mer. An old manor/farmhouse in a pretty village, opposite the tiniest town hall you are likely to find anywhere. Lovely garden with farmland and a river surrounding it. Quirky, beautiful with individually decorated rooms, comfortable beds and a bath - just one quibble: no light over the sofa, so not possible to read except in bed. Genuine welcome and a very generous breakfast - just a pity that we were not able to eat even more of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed two nights and to say this place is charming hardly comes close. It isn't all sharp luxury; it's beautiful, it's well-lived in and it's very much loved. We had the Chambre du Lord. It was a wonderful place, with a lovely hostess, a superb breakfast, and a welcome that yet never intruded on our time together. I had no idea Nord-Pas de Calais was this beautiful. Manoir Francis, very slightly battered, very warm and super charming, is somewhere so special.I would definitely, definitely recommend it, and if you don't love it then you're mad!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacebint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here whilst in France for the weekend. Situated a couple of miles outside Montreuil Sur Mer. it's quite hidden away but a lovely romantic place to stay. Our room was beautifully and uniquely decorated. Each room has been styled by Dominique who runs the B&B. Her style and taste is amazing. From the minute you enter the courtyard and walk in you feel a sense of calm and peace and quiet. It's a lovely, special place that we would definitely recommend to friends. The breakfast room is equally unique and stylish. The only very slight downside is a lack of places to eat in the village which means a drive to Montreuil is necessary when venturing out for dinner, however it's not really a problem as it's only a10 min drive into town. We had dinner in Le Patio in Montreuil which was excellent and we had lunch at Le Darnetal which was outstanding. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelknievel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Manoir Francis is a beautiful old property surrounded by nature and animals. Rooms are decorated in a period style and have lovely views to the garden. I could imagine it getting a little chilly outside of summer months, but perhaps the roaring log fire would take care of that. I thought it was excellent value and would definitely stay again. The host is lovely and will offer you a warm welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angouleme, france
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were searching for a good stop over (with secure parking) en route back to our property in the Charente from the Uk - normally stay near Neufchatel, but all our regular haunts were booked up for the Friday night, so we chose to stay here & delighted we did. The rooms are a delight, very spacious with one of the nicest bathrooms for a French chambres d'hotes - spacious, nicely decorated, large bath, nice toiletries, good plumbing. Generous tea & coffee facilities in the room & we were able to eat a light supper as the weather was so bad we did not feel like venturing out, though Montreuil with all its wonderful restaurants is not far. Breakfast was generous with home made preserves, cheese, cereals & lots of tea/coffee & juice. Mme was very welcoming - she has been open for many years & obviously loves her job. Will stay again, hopefully in nicer weather conditions so we can explore her garden & meet the animals. The car park is large & locked at night, so good for those with classic cars, a full boot (like us) or motorcycles. For the price it represents excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitsy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltdean, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I wanted somewhere for a romantic Spring break and found this B&B in Nick Rider's book 'Short Breaks in Northern France'. I wasn't disappointed.

The premises consist of a collection of buildings – a 17th century farmhouse, breakfast room, outbuildings and barn - that all face into a courtyard. This has a parking area, grass, and a pond which are home to a collection of rescued animals (ducks, peacocks, a cat, and dog) that all seemed perfectly comfortable with each other.

There are three guest double bedrooms. Ours was furnished in a comfortable retro-chic style and was large enough to include a small sofa and table. Our bathroom was adjacent and well equipped. Being an old building, the owner was generous with the heating. We struggled to control it but if we had stayed longer would no doubt have found out how to turn it down at night.

Breakfast was great. Because the weather was unseasonably chilly, it was served in a room with a roaring log fire. We had fresh fruit salad, bread, lovely jams, croissant, cereals and tea or coffee. All was of good quality.

Marles-sur-Canche is close to Montreuil and so we dined there.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and I would happily return. At 70 Euros (= £58 in May 2012) for a double room in a historic building with a tasty breakfast, one can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas-de-Calais hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
654 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,592 reviews
3.0 mi away
L'Art du Temps
L'Art du Temps
#4 of 20 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
93 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ferme des Chartroux
Ferme des Chartroux
#1 of 1 in Maresville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Francis

Property: Manoir Francis
Address: 1 rue de l'eglise | Marles-sur-Canche, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Pas-de-Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing