We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau D'If

Chateau D'If
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Vesenaz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to the cheese ..... Must winter On beautiful shaded terraces in summer .....
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pretty ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was staying close by and found this spot on trip advisor, but was reasonably disappointed. Fondue, water, and a glass of poor pinot cost 35 francs, not as cheap as advertised here. Fondue is fine, but basically just potatoes to put in the cheese. The cheese was not particularly special. The waiter worked to up-sell me on the bigger fondue even though I was alone. The outdoor seating is nice, the lake is barely visible through some holes in the buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank laetulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    45
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place for fondue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A good friend of mine showed me this place, which is really not posh or fancy, but more in style of an auberge. The atmosphere reminded me somehow of Geneva during my childhood, when the city was far more humble than today.

Very friendly service, with a small but effective menu. We had a cheese fondue, which was just the right size and really delicious. Joined with a delicious Humagne Blanc, we very very happy.

The only downside may be its location in Vesenaz, which may not be ideal for everyone; however, it is definitely worth a visit. Good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abraxastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter fondue, Summer Filets de perche”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you like simple, unpretentious places, get to know the staff, they are friendly. Food is good, pricing for Geneva is not bad and just a cosy little place with many locals. Outdoor seating in summer.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Outstanding owner & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is a gem. A little bit outside the centre (you need to take a car or a bus) but what a pleasant surprise. A lovely terrace with lake view in the summer. Two rooms, a cafe type room on the road side and a restaurant room on the other side. Same menu different atmosphere.
Food is simply perfect: two specialities the best cheese fondue on this side of the lake and the best filets de perches (perch fish filet, a Geneva speciality) when they get some. Most of the time they really are from the Geneva lake which is not easy to find at this price. If they import them they are fresh not frozen.
The owner/manager is great he will be attentive speaks many languages and has great ideas about local wine. Their house wine btw is excellent.
And finally the price is right.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very tasty local cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I've been to Chateau D'if many times and I have never been disappointed. Their salads are very juicy indeed but they are noted for their fillet des perches which are excellent (as are the accompanying sauces and the french fries rock!) and also their fondues are so yummy! The beer one is very good! For the summer, they have a really pretty terrace and best of all, they are open all day every day!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau D'If also viewed

 
Corsier, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Chateau D'If? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing