We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful place, just needs to be a little updated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake of the Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake of the Woods Resort
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, just needs to be a little updated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Being a travel agent, I really look at everything about a resort. I am also understand better what to expect from a place that I stay at because I've researched it thoroughly. That being said, I knew this place was not a luxury type resort. I also knew that the cabins would be pretty basic in function and furnishings. We really enjoyed our stay. The cabin was quite clean, functional, and equipped with just about everything you need. Now I do want to point out a couple things though so you are clear on what to expect. The resort is nicely in the forest with the lake being beautiful, the staff very friendly and the cabins being real log cabins that are cozy and comfortable. There are small boats to reasonably rent, some great fishing and some grassy areas and a playground for small children and dogs. The cabin furnishings do however, need to be updated, as the last update was said to have been in 2000 which is 14yrs ago. That is quite a long time without changing out couches, mattresses, bedspreads, lamp shades and broken floor tiles plus cutting boards, dish racks, and have some sturdier chairs and table on the decks. The cabins would be so much nicer with these relatively inexpensive but much needed updates. With so many people using all these furnishings throughout each year, this is basic stuff that should be changed out at least every 5 yrs and things should be fixed as soon as possible. Quick changes could be just bedspread updating and covering the couches, lamp shades and buying nicer cutting boards that don't trap so much debri and germs plus sturdier deck chairs. Also chose one of the "newer" cabins in the middle and back areas as they are much brighter inside and a little nicer plus not as close to the road where the traffic noise can be very loud in the front cabins which are also a bit darker inside, and more rustic.
However, there is an advantage to the front cabins, as they are very affordable and around the large grassy area, playground, small pool table room, and the office where they sell ice cream bars and are also a bit further from the water if you are a family with small children. The middle area cabins are great for fishing and nearest the boat dock and lake. My favorite are the 3 back cabins, as they are the furthest from the traffic noise and the other cabins, plus have great views of the lake and can be a bit quieter if you want to just relax. Other than those these things, if you expect basic furnishings, functionality and a little traffic noise (for the back cabins.....but much more for the front cabins) and look at their map and photos when choosing a cabin; you will have a great time in this cute little Lake in the Woods resort!

Room Tip: Make sure to look at the cabin placement on the lake, the cabin photos and chose one of the "ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lpsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    8
    13
    6
See reviews for
64
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here recently and was quite disappointed. We've been coming here since the 90's when our kids were in their teens and now they are working adults. Unfortunately, the property have aged faster than they did. This is so sad because we have lots of wonderful memories from our visits in the past. However, we can't help but notice that the cabins have been allowed to deteriorate through the years with very little effort made to update or even upkeep the interiors. The furniture looks like they are discards; stovetop don't work; windows do not lock (a major security concern); window screens doesn't do what they supposed to do that is keep out bugs in the summer; sofas and chairs are badly stained; internet connection was extremely poor. For these reasons alone, I think they are over-priced. The fishing was miserable but for that I'll just blame myself for being a lousy fisherman.
Positives are very friendly staff, great location.
Overall, it was a disappointing visit. We always came back hoping to recapture some of those sweet memories we've had of the place. Maybe it's finally time to move on......

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 19860802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What a great place to visit! The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed! The fishing was great! So nice to have the lake there to fish anytime. And was awesome that we could bring our dogs too!! They had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gagirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just got back from three nights in Cabin #8, which slept 8 but there were only 2 of us.(It was the only one available) It was comfortable, very friendly and we really enjoyed the cool summer weather. It would be ideal for a family get together, with hoseshoes, shuffleboard, free fishing on the private lake, boats available for only $4 per hour and plenty of green, cool grass and tall pine trees: just what hot Arizonans seek in summer.

Room Tip: pay a little more to stay right on the lake, for a very relaxing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family and I have been staying here since 1994. If you want to escape the heat, you'll love this place too. It has something for every member of the family. Plus I love that all that I have to bring is food. The cabins are clean, and I have a fully funtional kitchen and bath. I highly recommend everyone to stay here when you can. The owners and employees have always been pleasant, and wonderful throughout our entire stay. Can't wait for our next vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TucsonLoyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Our first time here and we will be back often. It's a wonderful place to relax, fish, bbq, play games, and bring your pets! After reading some reviews....this is not the Ritz, they are cabins and older but extremely clean and provide everything one would need. Fishing, awesome! We caught over 20 fish each, in only a couple of hours! Used worms and bread. Staff were super friendly and accommodating! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misakotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have been coming to Lake of the Woods for over 10 years and have never been disappointed. It is the BEST place in all of Showlow and Pinetop to get all you need from a vacation. Pine trees, fishing, beautiful scenery, and cooler weather. We have stayed in just about every cabin on the lake and they are all clean, charming, and with awesome patios overlooking the lake. Great for family reunions and romantic escapes.... Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pinetop-Lakeside hotels
3.2 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#9 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
4.4 mi away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#6 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
6.0 mi away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#5 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hidden Rest Cabins
Hidden Rest Cabins
#1 of 12 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Oaks Resort
Lazy Oaks Resort
#3 of 12 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Property: Lake of the Woods Resort
Address: 2244 W White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929-6213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake of the Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Cabins on 25 acres and a 12 acre private lake which is stocked 4 times a year. A great resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lake of the Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing