We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun western atmosphere”

Charlie Clark's Steak House
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Get a "taste" of history at Charlie Clarks Steakhouse in beautiful Pinetop-Lakeside, located in Northeast Arizona at an elevation of 7,200 feet. Nestled away in the largest stand of Ponderosa pine trees in the United States, the atmosphere at Charlie's is one of western elegance. Since 1938, Charlie Clarks has been specializing in the finest Mesquite-Broiled Steaks and Chicken, Prime Rib and Seafood in the White Mountains.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fun western atmosphere”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

It felt like a trip back in time with the fun and quirky bar decorations and lots of local clientele. I had the chicken fried steak and there was enough on my plate to feed an army. The prices are a little high, but the atmosphere was a blast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    152
    77
    31
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

A friend and I went here while visiting Pine-top. We found it while we were driving by.
We got there for the early bird. We split a 1/2 chicken which was plenty to eat. The prices
are reasonable. We liked it so much that we went back the next night. This time we had steak.
It was cooked perfect. The waitress was very friendly. Can't remember her name. If you can get there for the early bird special. Plenty to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food is only average, at best. The salads are among the worst; prime rib is not as good as Cattlemen's, and service is just okay. Why would a wait staff member seat a customer at a table where water is dripping from above the chair? When asked about the hole in the ceiling, she replied, "Oh, that only happens with it rains." Dah! With all of Charlie Clark's advertising making a big deal about what a great restaurant it is, why hasn't the hole in the ceiling been repaired? Placing a bucket on the chair just doesn't get it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ike6311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My partner, myself and two other gay couples went to Charlie Clark's for dinner on Thursday night. It was a nice place to relax, eat and have a great conversation. I guess all the locals were elderly and new we were visitors from not around here. We often got stared at for our uniqueness but, Nevertheless we had a great time. Our waitress was very friendly and the food was tasty. Great job Charlie Clark and staff for making us feel welcome!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelrich911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinedale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Prime rib and chicken fried steak...wonderful! Marie is a great server. Personable and attentive. We will request her every time we go. A little pricey, but average for the area, and worth it. The portions are huge.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Clark's Steak House also viewed

 
Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ
 

Been to Charlie Clark's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing