We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, very comfortable, beautiful surroundings.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, very comfortable, beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Wife and I stayed in a Master Spa Cabin for the night. The owner (I'm guessing that was him) was exteremely friendly and helpful. He even called movie phone for me to check what time a film was playing at the nearby theatre. Check-in was fast and easy.

The cabin was clean and very comfortable. The hot tub was large enough for 2 adults. Very impressed by the full kitchen; fridge, oven, microwave, plates, dinnerware, glasses, everything you need. Living room was very nice, you have the option of either a cabin with a natural gas or wood burning fireplace. We chose the latter, had a nice stack of firewood waiting for us on the patio. There's a cafe within walking distance, good food, but poor service and long wait in the morning. I would recommend the Denny's down the road instead.

A really nice romantic getway, love the surrounding nature. Would be great for families too. The kids I saw were having a blast. Also helps that Pinetop residents are among the nicest and friendliest people I've met in Arizona!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrick60139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at one of the newer cabins, one bedroom with kitchen and whirlpool. It was clean and everything was fairly new. We did not have any issues with the whirlpool. There was a fireplace but we did not use it. The furniture was La-z-boy brand and comfortable. The television was hooked to satellite so we got good reception. We ate in most of the time, which saved us money and got us good food. The rooms were quiet, you could not hear vehicles on the highway. It is not a resort in the traditional sense, there is no spa or restaurant, only a collection of cabins. Still, it met our needs and we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is quite a place! Our cabin was gorgeous. Everything worked well, and it was very comfortable night and day. It’s quite convenient to stores and restaurants but also close to Woodland Lake and area hiking trails. They do close fairly early during the week (8 p.m.) so if you’re going to arrive late you need to call ahead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerEd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

After reading the five-star reviews, we booked Whispering Pines and we were more than disappointed. The good points: The cabins are in a forest of pine trees which is quiet and very rustic - It was nice to sit on the porch & look out at the pine trees & other cabins. The cabin was clean but very shabby. The shaggy rug gave you an uncomfortable feel. The weather was warmer than expected and with no ac or even a fan in the bedroom, we could not sleep. No phone, no dishwasher, no chair in bedroom or living room - just one love seat, etc. You bring your used towels to the office to exchange for fresh ones - no housekeeping etc.

There are two movie theaters in town, a casino, a glorified executive golf course at Pinetop CC. We took a drive to Greer - nothing there! The best part of the trip was the scenic drive to and fro. Good Restaurants: Darby's -you can walk there from your cabin. Charlie Clarks who had the best prime rib, Red Devil Pizza. The only disappointing restaurant was Munic Hous - We looked forward to German fare but we could not eat it - we left most of our dinner - it was terrible!! Lovely setting on lake with lots of geese - just get a beer and sit and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jiggs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed from Dec 24-27 2008 in cabin #24 this will be the second year we came year around Christmas. This year we reserved a cabin with a jetted tub and a gas fireplace vs. the wood burning in cabin #18 we stayed at the previous year. This cabin was really nice... much nicer then #18. I loved the double sided firplace that can be enjoyed in both the living room and bedroom. I also loved the front deck/porch. This cabin was nice and private... nothing in front of us but woods and although there were cabins around us the one beside us on one side and behind us were a nice distance away. The one next door closest to us shared the driveway with us but no one was staying there so it was just us. Very peaceful cabin and very relaxing. The cabin had a full kitchen with everything you need (utensils, dishes, pots, pans, etc). There was also a TV/DVD combo in the room. Overall our stay was really nice and relaxing, my only complaint was the jetted tub. Before the 1st use I cleaned it and a bunch of bath oil, hair, skin, and black stuff came out of the jets ICKY! Then when we used it I figured it was clean... WRONG Tons more Hair, Bath Oil, Skin and black stuff came out and this time we were in the tub... NASTY! :( While staying there I must have cleaned that jetted tub 6 times or more and even the last time black still came out :( I took a pic and posted it on here of the black stuff on the last clean.... I should have taken a pic of the first load of nasty stuff that came out.... it was MUCH worse! If it weren't for that I would have rated my stay as excellent. I am not sure if this is the resorts fault or not.... maybe jets are hard to clean. Maybe jetted tubs just aren't the greatest thing to rent. I would still rent this cabin.... besides the tub it was a wonderful stay! :)

  • Liked — The woods around the cabin and the comfort in the cabin
  • Disliked — The Icky stuff in the jetted tub
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanTanArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Generally, our stay was fine, but the problem came after we left. We stayed in Cabin 34, and though it was a little bit shabby, we liked it and were just glad it was very clean. When we left we cleaned the kitchen and the dishes immaculately, took out the trash, and left the cabin generally in order. We took very good care of the cabin while we were there. However, upon returning home I noticed a $195 charge on my credit card. When I called, no one could tell me what it was for or help me, I was just told to call back the next day to speak to the manager. Finally, another member of our party got a hold of the manager the next day after calling four times, and found out that we'd been charged for a burn on the couch that had been covered up by sewing the cushion on! We did not do this. No member of our small party (mostly family) would have or could have done this - there were no smokers, no candles, no way to even burn a couch. It must have been done by a previous occupant. Finally, they agreed to refund the charge to my credit card, but continued to insist we were "lying." This was extremely hurtful, especially since if we had done the damage, we would have been upfront about it and more than happy to pay. While the mistake is excusable, the manner in which it was handled was both unprofessional and offensive. They both made an unauthorized and unwarranted charge on my credit card, and then were combative and rude when we brought it to their attention. We don't plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ShellsandMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at this place on the weekend after labor day weekend. There were total 8 people in our party (4 adults, 4 kids 5yr, 4yr, 4yr and 6 mo). We booked our stay via their own website. We reached there at 4 PM Saturday evening and the checkin was a breeze.

Location:
This place is right on the highway but the Victorian house that we rented is at the far end of the resort and it has a separate entrance. No traffic, no noise. It is right on the edge of forest. Only thing that stands between this house and woodland lake park (part of national forest) is a small private lot and the trails in the park were practically starting at our doorstep.

Interior:
Lower floor of the house has reasonably large dining and living area (with a powder room), a big kitchen with all necessary stuff (refrigerator, oven, microwave, dishwasher, pots and pans) and laundry area (large washer dryer). Upper floor has two master bedrooms (king beds) with bathrooms and a third bedroom with two double beds. It had a large garage with an extra refrigerator.
House was well stocked with towels, extra blankets and pillows, soaps, dishwashing and laundry detergents etc. It was very clean (clean carpet, clean linens, very clean bathrooms). Only thing that was not good was the couch in living room (very old and dirty). We gave this feedback to the owner, hope he will listen.

Exterior.
House looked good from front . Some landscaping in the open area in front will make it stand out even more. There was a deck in the back with 4-6 person jacuzzi and gas grill. Jacuzzi was hot and ready to use when we arrived. Grill was ok, worked fine for one time we used it (It needs cleaning, owner should think of upgrading it)

Grounds:
Did not explore the grounds of the resort much as we had pretty much all we needed in the house itself but whatever little we saw of the resort at checking-checkout, that looked good.

Overall very good stay. Will definitely stay there again..

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Dirty couch (only sore spot in otherwise immaculate house)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PHXDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinetop-Lakeside
1.0 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#11 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
62 reviews
2.2 mi away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#7 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn of Pinetop
Best Western Inn of Pinetop
#1 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
157 reviews
3.9 mi away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#6 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
62 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Show Low-Pinetop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Resort

Property: Whispering Pines Resort
Address: 237 E White Mountain Blvd. Beyond Milepost Marker 352, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#3 Family Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetop Arizona is the setting for Whispering Pines Resort featuring studio, 1, 2, or 3 bedroom cabins. All cabins are furnished, carpeted, and stocked with firewood - some units even have spa tubs! Whispering Pines Resort cabins are located on 13 acres, heavily treed with Pines and Oaks. The cabins are nestled amongst the Pines with the resort adjoining National Forest Service Land and the Woodland Lake Trail System. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Pinetop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing