We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Seafood”

Friendly Fisherman's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual outdoor dining serving the freshest local seafood available. We also cater to Landlubbers with chicken, burgers and hot dogs, and fresh Garden, Greek or Caesar salads. There's a small playground for the kids. BYOB Enjoy!
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I loved the Greek salad and the crab cakes. Play area for kids. Chowder is good too. Very clean. Ports potty on premise. Byob

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josefresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    65
    24
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Try one of the lunch specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I shared a lobster roll which is lots of claw meat (not lobster salad) - as good as everyone has said. We also ordered one of the $8 lunch specials (before 3pm) - a swordfish taco with fries and clam chowder. Very tasty and a good value.
Seating is outdoor picnic tables, some of which are covered.
The adjacent fish market has live lobster, and fresh fish delivered daily.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lobstah Rolls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for quick service, delicious lobster rolls and yummy fried sea food this is the place! Take out or sit in the covered patio, or outside on picnic tables, the food cant be beat!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ccquohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not awesome, not terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ordered a fisherman's platter (could easily satisfy 3 average sized appetites), crabcakes dinner, garden salad w/ crabmeat, side of mac & cheese, onion rings, and 1 apple juice. Our party of 5 couldn't finish all of it. Bill came to $80. For the type of food it is, that's fairly reasonable I guess. Good sized area of outside seating only, consisting of picnic tables - some under a roof, some out in the open. Small play area for children. Wait time for our order was very reasonable. They're a little stingy on the napkins, dressing, & sauces. They only gave us 4 napkins (granted the person putting everything on the tray may not have realized we had 5 people in our party, but really, only 4 napkins for all that food?). And they are not even on the counter outside the window where you order, you have to ask for them if you want more. The fishermans platter came w/ tartar sauce, cocktail sauce, and a third sauce (which was tasty altho not sure what it was) but the amount of each they give you were not nearly enough for the heaping mound of fried cod, shrimp, clams, & scallops. The salad was fairly large but only came w/ one little container of dressing. They did give us more of all those things when we asked for them, w/out an extra charge, but it's a pain to have to be continuously going up asking for stuff. As for the quality of the food: crabcakes & onion rings were very good; mac & cheese looked like they had prepared a box of Kraft; I was happy w/ the items on the fisherman's platter, my husband said it seemed to him that the oil had not been hot enough to cook things properly; salad was primarily iceberg lettuce w/ an ungenerous (is that a word?) portion of typical salad veggies & crab meat that looked like it had come out of a can rather than medium/large chunks you'd expect if you had fresh crab. Would we go again? Possibly, but since there's a plethera of restaurants in the area, we may try some of the others first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmsnectar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect outdoor seating with BYOB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The staff was very friendly. We got a ton of food to try a little of everything. The fried Fisherman's Platter is truly a feast, but is great to try scallops, fish, strips, whole bellies and shrimp all at once. They steamed me a lobster even though their market was closed. The lobster bisque was very yummy. The stuffed quahog wasn't anything special. The seating with outdoor picnic tables and the BYOB policy with a package store right next door to walk to was the perfect easy going dinner we were looking for. The prices were reasonable, but not any amazing deals.

We had left Arnold's due to the crazy long lines and cash only policy, so I am glad we found their reviews on TripAdvisor and Yelp.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambularmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly Fisherman's also viewed

 
Eastham, Cape Cod
Eastham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Friendly Fisherman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing