We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Winnipeg West
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Arborg, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very clean comfortable hotel to stay at. prices are fare for this level of Hotel. convenient for west end of city or travelling Trans Canada hwy. Breakfast is good, pool area clean and modern. rooms are very nice large with many room options to suit your stay. Rooms are large and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Winnipeg West, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Murray L,

It's great to know you had a good stay, and enjoyed our property. We really appreciate the time you took to review us!

Thank you,
Erica Eden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    99
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
172
76
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I didn't check in here till later in the evening, and had to check out at 8am the next morning, but I wish I got to enjoy this hotel for a bit longer. The staff was very friendly and prompt upon check-in. They were also helpful in helping me get directions to the Olive Garden down the street. The room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. The in-room kuerig was also a nice touch! Breakfast in the morning was much more than I expected!, from selection to taste. My only issue with my stay here was the smell outside the hotel, around the parking lot. Possibly due to the truck stop that is in the same vicinity, there was a bad smell in the air which wasn't appealing when I first arrived. But walking into the hotel and seeing the modern décor and room made up for the outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Winnipeg West, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello TJW87,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear you had a good stay, and I'll let the front desk staff know how helpful they were! I do apologize for the smell outside the building. Unfortunately, the trucks next door sometimes have some not-so-appealing cargo, but thankfully they usually fuel up and leave pretty quickly!

Thank you,
Erica Eden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is still quite a new motel so everything was in excellent shape. The King bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. If the need would arise I would certainly stay here again. The Denny's across the yard was also good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Winnipeg West, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Brian R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response about our property. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We get many compliments on the king beds, they're very comfortable!

Thank you,
Erica Eden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel overall was clean and new but our hotel room was dirty. The housekeeping staff forgot to clean the carpet from the previous guests. :( Who knows what else they forgot to clean:( The pool area was clean and the children had fun using that area. The pool water was a little on the cool side. Pool times are from 7am-10pm. Would of been nicer to be able to stay in the pool till 11pm especially when you check in late. The breakfast area was clean and had a few choices. They had sausage, egg omelets with cheese, cold and hot cereals juice teas and coffees. They had different flavors of yogurts, apples and oranges, the had bread and English muffins with different jams and peanut butter. they also had muffins and juices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Winnipeg West, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Dwight L,

I am very sorry to hear that the carpet in your room had not been vacuumed before you went in. As a property, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of not only the public areas, but the rooms as well. It is very unfortunate that you had a room that did not meet our standard of cleanliness. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can try and make it up to you.

Thank you,
Erica Eden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We chose this hotel as our family Christmas getaway. Everything was wonderful! The pool was perfect for age 7+, our younger 2 hung out with me and still had a blast splashing and using the waterslide. Our hotel room was a double queen suite so lots of room for a family of 6. The rooms were welcoming and cozy, we had a great sleep. They do have limited order in choices for supper(if you choose that route) but not a huge problem. We definitely felt at home away from home. We will be staying again! Con: as many reviews have said the pool tiles are quite slippery once very wet. Even if you are walking you and the kids need to extra careful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jilene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Winnipeg West, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Jilene Y,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your "staycation" here. Hopefully the kids didn't get too tired playing in the pool all day!

Thank you,
Erica Eden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This a new hotel and everything was new, fresh and clean. The room had a King bed which was very comfortable. There was a fridge and a microwave as well. The breakfast in the morning had hot and cold cereal, eggs and sausage, waffles, fresh fruit and bread options. The pool and hot tub looked inviting but we did not use them. A pleasant stay. Located on western outskirts of Winnipeg - not close to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Baldeagle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Winnipeg West, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Peter M,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We get many compliments on the king size bed, including some guests who are looking to buy the same one for their house! It's good to know you also enjoyed it.

Thank you,
Erica Eden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

we took our kids to this hotel in Winnipeg for the to watch the Santa Claus parade. The hotel was very clean and spacious and we had a very nice suite and the kids loved the room. The pool was very nice and the kids ages almost three and five had fun there. My only complaint that other's have made is that the floor is very slippery when wet. I slipped while walking on the tile and twisted my arm. My arm is still sore weeks later. My daughter who is almost three also fell flat on her bottom and had a huge bruise there. There was a major snow storm this weekend and the management let us check out at 3.00 p.m which was very nice. The roads were still terrible so we ended up staying another night.. The breakfast was good. The whole stay was great except the fall. I think they need to change those tiles before someone really gets injured. I would give it a five star rating except for the tiles on the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleysmomoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Winnipeg West, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello hayleysmomoftwo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response about our property. I'm very sorry to hear about your fall in the pool area, we have had the tiles redone a few times since we've been open, and are consistently looking into why they won't retain their grip. I will, however, let the rest of the staff know your compliments about their service. It's always great to hear they're doing a good job representing our hotel.

Thank you,
Erica Eden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
159 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel 6 Winnipeg West
#2 of 2 in Headingley
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Winnipeg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Winnipeg West

Property: Best Western Plus Winnipeg West
Address: 4140 Portage Ave, Headingley, Manitoba R4H 1C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Headingley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Winnipeg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Winnipeg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Winnipeg West Headingley, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing