We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Excellent”
Review of Tally Ho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tally Ho Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arncott
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Customer Service Excellent”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were running late, so phoned ahead and ordered room service. Very courteous and professional on phone.

Upstairs room, very spacious, clean and comfy. Bed good size and comfortable.
Only gripe was heating wouldn't adjust properly so roasting hot at 2 am and the extractor fan in en suite bathroom runs for an hour!!!

Breakfast excellent, served fresh to your table and service good.

Overall highly recommend as a over night stop :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
25
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our ground floor motel room at the Tally Ho Hotel was spacious and averagely clean. The room did not have air conditioning and was very warm despite the relatively cool outside air temperature. The big drawback was that the lack of security on the front windows (which open widely), making it very difficult (virtually impossible?) to have the windows open without posing a security risk. There was a smaller window to the rear, which we opened – after having moved our bags beyond the reach of an outstretched arm. (We're not paranoid – just averagely cautious I'd say!) We therefore had a relatively uncomfortable night, being rather hot in our room.

The restaurant was closed so we ate at a quirky, but delightful pub just a few hundred yards away.

We paid around £98 for b+b, which we thought was a little pricey, but in conclusion though that the Tally Ho Hotel was average, but worth considering – and if we ever find ourselves in Bicester again we may well go back there, although if it's in the summer we'll certainly request a room on the upper floor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic room with balcony overlooking garden and pond. Beautiful converted barn main building. Great breakfast although service a bit clipped and rushed but in fairness dining room was busy. Great location if you're visiting Bicester outlet village or Oxford city. Not a holiday destination as location is a bit strange between RAF and Army camp - felt very surrounded by military installations. However this hotel is a little oasis in the midst of it all and I would recommend it as perfect for a couple of nights' stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room in the courtyard buildings - they're massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeintheculdesac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really please as a lovely room with balcony.

Easy to find. Lovely huge comfy bed.

Very impressed for the money.

Well equipped and good sized bathroom.

Like the individual feel and court yard setting.

Very quiet area and bar and restaurant on site although we didn't get the opportunity to try them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokardphu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very clean, lovely rural location. Ideal for private functions, function room is lovely with high ceilings & beams. Garden area is nice too. Parking right outside your room possible.
Room 19:
Large, with plenty of room after they had added a fold up bed for our daughter. General decor could have done with being touched up, large marks across a few walls. Bath panel was cracked & damaged. I found the bedding had an odd chemical smell though!
Staff were happy to extend our check out by half an hr, though that may have been because we were coming back for a private function later in the day.

Room Tip: Rooms are separate from the main hotel, located in what looks like terraced houses with one on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here due to a wedding that was at this venue.
The beds were hard & as they are like little flats you could hear the guests above you.
I couldnt get the wi-fi to work i dont know if it was me or not , although the rooms are spacious & clean it was not a comfy feeling room .
I wouldnt of stayed for more than one night.
The hotel itself i personally wouldnt pick for a wedding venue to be held there as its not overly big & the tiled floor got slippy, it felt a bit clinical but the bride & groom were happy so thats all that matters

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel's got a central services building - perhaps there's a few rooms there too - to the front is a courtyard where the bulk of the rooms are to be found. It has the appearance of a new set of terraced houses but in fact they're spacious rooms, finished to a good specification. The car parking's right outside - so there's no long distances to drag luggage.
The site's very quiet at night & the beds are good.

Room Tip: I suspect the quietest rooms are going to be around 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTravelsLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arncott
4.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
611 reviews
2.9 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
429 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hotel
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hot...
#1 of 1 in Middleton Stoney
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Hotel

Property: Tally Ho Hotel
Address: Ploughley Road, Arncott OX25 1NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Arncott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arncott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tally Ho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tally Ho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing