We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the desert experience we were looking for”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hassilabied
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Camping Sahara
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hassilabied
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We arrived in Merzouga in the late afternoon and walked into several guest houses before choosing auberge Sahara.
Mohamed was by far the friendliest host and the auberge seemed to have everything we were looking for: sitting right on the edge of the dunes you litterally walked out of the hotel and were THERE! A beautiful pool that looked very enticing as the temperature was 47 degrees celsius, a room with a view of the desert. and a bathroom sink made of fossils.. WIFI was also a plus.
The downside was there was no AC or fan, apparently the electricty was overheating and it just wasnt available during our stay. We ended up sleeping outside by the pool to
at least have a bit of breeze.
The room comes with half board and dinner was excellent.
We did the camel trek with auberge Sahara the following night and also slept under the stars instead of the tent . Our mattress was however right on the sand and It made us a bit nervous about scorpions and snakes. I think I stared at the sky for shooting stars most of the night...
definitely would recommend this auberge to anyone going to merzouga

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerbreeze77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Camping Sahara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

We chose this hotel based on the recommendation by Lonely Planet and its location right by the dunes, as we wanted to be able to have walks there on our own without doing the whole camel tour, and we were very happy with our choice! It has the perfect location right by the dunes (you literally walk right out into them!) and it's quite easy to find by following the signs, and no problem to get to in a small rental car. We were glad we stayed in Hassi Labied and not Merzouga itself as the touts seemed much more aggressive there (we only went once, and before we had even stopped the car we had people trying to sell us camel treks). At the hotel absolutely no attempt was made to sell us anything, which was much appreciated, although some kids did start following us around outside to "guide" us, but in general we got to have lovely walks in the dunes at sunset all by ourselves. Hassi Labied is a tiny town but you do have a couple of shops if you get desperate for souvenirs, or if you want a nice frozen bottle of water and a snack to bring with you on a day trip.
The hotel is simple but charming, with friendly staff and spotless rooms. Hot water may take a while but it does work, and a lot better than other hotels we stayed at. The pool was quite cold and got filled with sand due to the strong wind while we were there, which I guess is inevitable when you've got a pool 10 meters from the dunes! Apart from breakfast, we had dinner included in the rate, and there was a set menu with a salad and a main dish, no choice, but it was not an issue as it was delicious, and when other guests had any requests for changes, this seemed to be solved without any problem. We stayed for 2 nights, and for us this was enough time in the area, but it was a great experience and a great choice of hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

During our trip around Morocco by car ,we stayed one night in Auberge Camping Sahara . We will recommend this friendly and nice Auberge to everyone who like to have a nice experience close to the desert. The first person to take care of us was Omar who was given the best service to his clients during our visit. Including in price, we got half pension and a camel ride up to top of the dunes to see the sunset. All for a reasonable price. It couldn’t be better

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rune K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The facility itself is excellent: beautiful, swimming pool, comfortable, unbelievable scenery, incredible location.

The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful.

The food was excellent, as was the ambience.

We were with GAP Tours, did the camel overnight trek: desert colors are amazing! Full moon at night... gorgeous, and the silence was awesome! A great experience that we will never forget!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Didn't sleep in the hotel but did the bivouac-camel trip organized by the hotel.
We spent several hours at the hotel while waiting for the trip, swam in the pool, reading in the garden, walking in the dunes, doing a small laundry at the camping-washing-facilities (dries within the hour in the desert, hooray) and the staff is nice, food is good and the hotel clean.
The bivouc was one of the best experiences we had in Morocco, although it takes almost two hours on the back of a camel to get to the camp in the desert it is well worth it. We were with 4 in total (2 Italians booked also). The dunes are marvellous, we watched a beautiful sunset, our guide Omar was good company and we had a good tajine dinner. The skies at night are beautiful and we had a good nights sleep in our berber tent. In the morning Omar waked us, we watched the sunrise and after a cup of mint tea we got back to the hotel where breakfast was served. You can use the showers of the camping to shower the camel and desert off. And all that for 300 dh pp!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuusWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We were actually looking for another place when we drove into Merzouga at sunset, but the road petered out into a soccer field, and the signage was cryptic. At last light we found ourselves in front of Auberge Camping Sahara, and thought... what the hell, here we are. What a pleasant, serendipitous find! Talk about atmosphere! First, one is right at the dunes - walk out the back door, and there they start. Second, lovely courtyard with palm trees and shade, and tiling. Third, Mohammed and his brother, Lahassan - courtly gentlemen with "Wind and the Lion" Sean Connery charm - I just loved the way they sat with each guest for a cup of mint tea for just the right hospitable interlude. The hotel is staffed with younger, leaner and hungrier guide types, who gave me a "I'd rather you left me alone" vibe, but my travelling companions did not find them objectionable, but actually invited one (Omar 1) to show us the flamingoes and Gnaoua musicians' house. I asked the hotel chambermaid if she would do my laundry, and she got it back in half a day, clean, dried, and folded - I loved that. The rooms are clean, cool and functional - although could be improved with reading lamps - and fans are provided. (Desert tip - if it's too hot to sleep, dampen sheets and point fan at them - then it's chilly!) Cool dip in pool might do it for some, but this is Muslim North Africa, and if pool is your thing, might I suggest Club Med? Hotel pool was nice for psychological relief from desert ambience, however... as were nomad tents out back under the palms. I'm worried that hotel will be swallowed up by drifting sand, however... it's that "on the edge."

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xpcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Stayed in a Bedouin tent for 2 nights and then one night on the camel trip into the desert. Staff were very relaxed, helpful and there was no hard selling. Facilities were excellent - hot showers, clean toilets (both continental and seated) and a (cold) swimming pool. The dunes start right at the back of the hotel so we could take long walks and see sunrise/sunset in the desert easily. There were only 2 other people on the camel trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Masterfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hassilabied
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#17 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
80 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#5 of 22 in Merzouga
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Camping Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Camping Sahara

Address: Errachidia, Hassilabied, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range: $46 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Auberge Camping Sahara Hotel Hassilabied
Auberge Camping Sahara Merzouga
Auberge Camping Sahara Morocco/Hassilabied

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing