We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge Camping Sahara
Nearby Hotels
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel(Hassilabied)(Great Value!)
$63
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Nezha(Merzouga)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Les Roches(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ksar Bicha(Merzouga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Azawad(Merzouga)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
122
36
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
36
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamel ridingdesert experienceaubergesandedgedunestourcampsitecuisineborder
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 164 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We came to Merzouga to ride camels and camp in the desert. The owners of the auberge arranged a memorable camel safari to a full-moon bivouac in the Sahara. The guides cooked good food and were very friendly. We spent the following day and night in the auberge. We chatted with some of the locals who work in the auberge and live nearby, explored the village and some nearby dunes, and eavesdropped on what seemed like an impromptu Touareg jam session in the courtyard. The owners and staff were amazingly multilingual, friendly, and welcoming. I'd recommend this place to anyone who is coming to Merzouga.

A tip for independent travelers -- take the supratours bus all the way to Merzouga and don't bother with Rissani. We made the mistake of taking CTM to Rissani and ended up getting bullied by some hustler at the Rissani bus station. Avoid this experience if possible.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

For us it was important to find a hotel close to the dunes and we could not find better than Auberge Sahara. The golden sands starts behind the hotel: you just put your suitcase in the room and climb the dunes! Omar, the owner, has done everything to put us at ease: very kind, helpful and professional! great for anyone looking for relaxation and nature at your fingertips.
thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vredina1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

It is situated at the entrance into sahara. You walk out into the dunes at the back of this hotel. Rooms are nice, spacious and clean. Staff are very friendly and can speak good english. Food was good quality, Stay in desert and camel ride is worth a while. We had arranged chemical toilets at the camp for four of us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brimeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

hello,

We are a family with 2 children, 8 and 9 years old.
We stayed in Hassilabied in The Auberge Sahara! It was a very nice and pleasure place. We slept in the auberge, the room was good and the hospitality from the family made our stay to a beautiful time. The food was good, the atmosphere was fine, it was so back to the basic thing of a beautiful life. We went also one night in the dessert with dromedar tour, our children and we love it.
The sun rise and the full moon are for ever in our mind.
If you want to go to the Erg Chebbi/ Merzouka, take this place and enjoy your rest en the peacefullness.

Warmth greatings,
Marion van Veen, Netherlands.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danzodanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This little oasis truly feels like a home away from home, with genuinely friendly hosts that love to share their special place and knowledge of the incredible surrounds with you. Having stayed at Auberge Sahara 3 times now, twice as a couple & once for our wedding as family group of 24 in total.
I highly recommend a relaxing stay here. The Auberge is located 2km from the village centre of Merzouga leaving you peacefully secluded. The highest dunes sit opposite this Auberge, inviting you to spend some quiet time in the sand. All activities & excursions can also be organised from this Auberge. The location on the edge of the Sahara is an amazing must-experience for any trip to Morocco.
Traditional home style cooking with wonderful presentation, always delicious, nutritionally well balanced and inviting. The service is very relaxed and personal, the staff work well together with respect as a team. The rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable with a Sahara feel. The bathrooms are adequate & very clean. Having stayed in 3 different rooms on separate occasions, one had A/C and the other two did not so it was necessary to sleep with the door & window open to provide relief in the September heat. I believe some of the other rooms have fans though. I particularly enjoy lounging around the courtyard after a dip in the pool and walking out into the dunes at dusk to enjoy the changing colours of the sandscape, as well as the friendly & informative chatter around meal times or lazy afternoons with the staff.

Mohamed warmly hosted our wedding ceremony & took care of all the arrangements such as erecting a special caidel tent for the ceremony completely decked out with carpets, traditional lounges, sparkling berber blankets surrounding the bride & groom chairs, drums & other decoration, he invited a group of mesmerising gnaoua musicians which really set the mood & rhythm for the whole evening. He also presented us a wonderful opportunity to take part in a symbolic start to our marriage ceremony as per the traditions of the region... wow I truly felt privileged to be as up close & personal to the culture, National Geographic couldn't have got closer, I will never forget it. Despite us only occupying half of the auberge, Mohamed kept the place exclusively for us in order to offer us privacy and his full attention for our special event. Our breakfast served on the rooftop terrace by special arrangement was a wonderful way to start our wedding day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews