We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to explore the desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haven La Chance Desert Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hassilabied
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to explore the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Good staff, nice nature. We were celebrating ny 2012, and it's was wonderful - an bonfire, a fried lamp etc.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had stayed on night at tent in the desert. The meal was delicious and more than we could eat. The sunrise and the sunset in the desert were wonderful. Andrei from Romania.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We've visited Haven la Chance in 15-17 November, this year...We went into the desert ontop of the camels. Mine I named it Lawrence of Morroco :))) Very helpful staff good english. The traditional meal into the desert - a feast. Everything was more than fine: was berber style. If you're looking for some authentique experience in Morroco you should try the camel bivouac and sleeping into tents in the desert.
Mihai Romania

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caraba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Men, Owner at Haven La Chance Desert Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you . Glad you had a good experience in the desert and we welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We visited this hotel on October 2011 and it was great. The hotel staff did everything for us, including a candle light dinner. We spent a night in the desert and it was very well organised by the staff. The swimming pool was very nice and the rooms clean.

Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Men, Owner at Haven La Chance Desert Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
We appreciate your feed back. ThanksCome back again. Sorry I missed you Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I just came back from a wonderful trip to Morocco and cannot say enough good thigs about Blue Men of Morocco, Elena (the owner), Zaid, and all the other people we met during our stay in Morocco.
We visited Casablanca,Fes, Marrakech, Merzouga, Ouarzazate, and while in Merzouga, we slept one night in the Sahara.
Everything was perfect! I am happy we decided to book the trip with Blue Men. Elena took care of all our requests, suggesting the itinerary, and even meeting us is Fes. Our driver Zaid was so great! He is a wealth of knowledge, and a very pleasant companion to travel around. He taught us so much about his country!
Haven La Chance is a unique place. Although we did not stay there overnight, we met our camel man at that place to go on our adventure in the desert. L'Hassan is great and it was great to talk a lot with him, and walk around the Sahara under a full moon! When back in Morocco, I will plan a night or so at Haven La Chance, as I really liked it!

We will go back, and when that happens, we know who to contact!

Thanks Elena, Zaid, Ahmed, L'Hassan, and all the other people that made our trip so special!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aff2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The guides and hotel staff at this hotel were wonderfully attentive. Elena, the owner, took every effort to iron out the details of our trip. We only had a limited time to spend and thus needed a customized trip. While Elena wasn't there the staff fortunately spoke enough english and we spoke enough broken french/spanish to get along fine. Our guide was english speaking so that wasn't a problem. Anyway, both elena and the staff responded quickly to problems. my wife and i are newlywed and this is our first post-honeymoon trip and our first trip to africa. we had low expectations for africa but this was truly a gem that surprised us. the hotel has a leisurely pace to it and the programs there are structured in a communal way which was great because it felt more like a bed and breakfast than anything else.

we were surprised to realize that this hotel is where many of the US embassy staffers in rabat stay when they visit the desert. we ran into one family there from the embassy that had their children down there on vacation. the staff was also very child-friendly so that would be a plus i think for people with families.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ematthews84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

In temperate weather, with the right group of people, this might actually be a fun place to stay, but probably not. There is a string of hotels that, like Haven La Chance, sit at the base of the amazing Erg Chebbi dunes. One of them is certainly a better choice.

We arrived on a cold January day in late afternoon. We were the only guests other than a young couple staying in a Berber tent in the courtyard. There was no heat in the hotel, nor were there any lights on in the hallway to our room. It was so dark in the hallway that we could not even see the room number on the door. The heater in our bedroom was not turned on before we arrived, and it never adequately heated the room.

When the sun went down, it got colder, but no one turned on any heat. In fact, the outside doors were left open. My wife and I were in the lounge wearing our fleece and coats when one of the two young men who were managing the hotel came through. I was huddled over a candle seeking heat, and my wife said to him in French (no one there spoke much English), "It is very cold in here." With a casual wave of his hand, he replied, "That's normal." When he came back through, we asked/insisted that he turn on one of the several space heaters that were scattered around the lounge. He did and the heater made life much better through dinner.

When we went back to the room after dinner, we noticed that the room smelled bad because the toilet had not been cleaned properly. We also could not get any hot water to come to the sink. So, I went out into the dark hotel and explained the problem to one of the young men. Both of the young men grabbed flashlights and went away. They came back in a few minutes to report that yes, there was hot water. I replied, "not in our room." They went away again, and we let the water run and run. Still, no hot water. So I went searched for help again. The hotel was completely dark and no one was to be found, so I shouted, "turn on the lights." The young men appeared from their rooms, and eventually explained that in order to get hot water, the faucet had to be turned on full blast. When I complained about the foul smell, I was told that the chambermaid cleans the toilet every day. Even when I showed them the obviously dirty and foul smelling toilet, they did not offer us another room.

So we went to bed on a mattress on which springs on one side had worked their way to the top. And the pillows were hard. The next morning, we figured out on our own that the only way to get hot water to the shower head was to turn on the faucet full blast in the sink, which of course reduced water pressure in the shower to a drizzle. And the holder for the shower head was broken so we had to hold the shower hose with one hand and wash with the other.

We had prepaid for a camel ride and overnight camping trip into the desert that night, but we had lost so much confidence in the organization's interest in making our stay pleasant that we forfeited our money and drove to Fes a day earlier than planned.

In fairness, I should report that one of the directors of the hotel who lives in Spain planned to be there when we were there. Unfortunately, she broke her leg just before our arrival. I think her presence, or that of any other professional manager, would have made the service problems disappear. In fact, as we were heading toward Fes, our driver said he saw the director's partner driving toward the hotel. They had 13 guests coming in that day or the next.

Even if the service problems are corrected, however, I could not recommend staying at the hotel unless the facility is maintained better, including new mattresses and pillows, especially not in cold or hot weather.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hassilabied
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#12 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#7 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Portes du Desert
Les Portes du Desert
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kasbah Le Touareg
Kasbah Le Touareg
#13 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven La Chance Desert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven La Chance Desert Hotel

Property: Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Address: B.P. 17 | Merzouga Dunes, Hassilabied, Merzouga 22202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven La Chance Desert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DESERT Hotel near Merzouga -among olive and palm trees- NOW HAS A NEW SWIMMING POOL with views of the nearby sand dunes and palm trees. Our Hotel has 14 modern rooms with toilets and showers with hot water. A/C and heating in most of the rooms. Our local Berber traditional food is served by our friendly staff- either inside or by the swimming pool. Several Nomad tents right by the hotel provide the option of traditional sleeping. Public showers and toilets inside and outside. Besides the typical BERBER Restaurant, another one has Mosque style arches. Our overnight CAMEL BIVOUAC treks under the stars with campfire dinner and breakfast inside the dunes is a unique adventure. Special N'Gnawi Black music and MECHUI - roast lamb in Adobe oven-is a local event available on request. Quads, Trekking, 4 x 4 rides - are options we provide. Also have 2 large camping areas for Caravans and RV's in front of the hotel or close to the dunes- with a separate wash room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haven La Chance Desert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel Morocco/Hassilabied

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing